So I've had "Hill and Gully" in my head and can't stop singing it. What does "bessy dung" mean? As in "An yu low dung, bessy dung?" What kind of work was the song used for?
Origin of this phrase- "bessy dung"
Re: Origin of this phrase- "bessy dung"
which pawt a di song guh so? it seh "ben dung low dung"
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/J4O_m4EA38s"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/J4O_m4EA38s" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>
Honeychile - you need a trip to Jamaica - all dem whole heap a singting you a ask bout and half the time you just a mix mix up you self. You really need to tek a trip and one more trip a whey you do wid dem whole heap a information you a gather bout JAmMdown? You a write book? Aye sah - you no easy at all.
OK, found the meaning of the phrase from this book on Google Books:http://books.google.com.au/books?id=...wn&f=false
"One who juts or bobs the bottom in stooping". Apparently it comes from Britain.
And FrenchTickla, here are the lyrics from the songbook I have- Mango Time: Folk Songs of Jamaica p53:
Hill an' gully rideah,
Hill an' gully!
Hill and gully rideah,
Hill an' gully!
And yu ben dung low dung,
Hill an' gully,
And yu ben dung low dung,
Hill an' gully,
And yu low dung <span style="font-weight: bold">bessy dung</span>,
Hill an' gully,
And yu betta mine yu tumble dung,
Hill an' gully!
ETA: Forget about the second question in the first post. Remembered that it's a digging song (trying to concentrate on other things over here in Australia)