Stand Your ground only for certain ppl
Re: Stand Your ground only for certain ppl
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Emperah_dahJah2</div><div class="ubbcode-body">de woman is getting 20 years an shi nuh shoot nuh baddy?
smaddy tell me how amerikkka has changed? </div></div>
In other unrelated cases, a man can mercilessly beat his wife within an inch of her life and spend <span style="font-weight: bold">only one night in jail</span>. Yet there are cases like this poor lady who did nothing except try to save her own life and she is looking at <span style="font-weight: bold">20 years with no chance of parole</span>.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BlackStar</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Could you post the deets, DahJah? I can't see the video from the office. </div></div>
woman "husband" had been abusive int he past..had been charged had got probation.
one day him find some text on her phone and a go on bad. she run from him an pull gun..she fire tow shot into the wall to scare him.
she sey she feel she was in her right not to run out of the house but to stand up to him.
dem charge her.
originally him did sey day him was going to hit her.
when it go to court him recant and sey him was begging for his life and the only reason him did sey he was threatening to hit her was to try help her.
she get convicted and awaiting sentenceWhen its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
<span style="font-weight: bold">‘Stand your ground’ denied in domestic violence case</span>
Marissa Alexander, a 31-year-old mother of three, is facing a mandatory 20 years behind bars. She had pinned her hopes for freedom on a motion for a new trial; that motion was denied Thursday in a Florida courtroom.
In late April, Alexander spoke to CNN as an inmate in the Duval County Jail in Jacksonville, Florida. “This is my life I’m fighting for,” she said while wiping away tears. “If you do everything to get on the right side of the law, and it is a law that does not apply to you, where do you go from there?”
Alexander is referring to Florida’s “stand your ground” law, a law that has come under scrutiny since the killing of Trayvon Martin. Unlike the Martin case, which involved one stranger killing another, Alexander’s case involved her gun and her abusive husband.
On August 1, 2010, she said her husband, Rico Gray, read text messages on her phone that she had written to her ex-husband. She said Gray became enraged and accused her of being unfaithful. “That’s when he strangled me. He put his hands around my neck,” Alexander said.
She managed to escape his grip but instead of running out the front door, she ran into the garage, she said, to get into her truck and drive away. Alexander said that in the confusion of the fight, she forgot to get her keys and the garage door wouldn’t open, so she made a fateful decision. “I knew I had to protect myself,” she said. “I could not fight him. He was 100 pounds more than me. I grabbed my weapon at that point.”
She went back inside the house, and when Gray saw her pistol at her side, she said he threatened to kill her, so she raised the gun and fired one shot. “I believe when he threatened to kill me, that’s what he was absolutely going to do. That’s what he intended to do. Had I not discharged my weapon at that point, I would not be here.”
Alexander, however, said she did not aim the gun at her husband. She said she fired into the air intending to scare him away, and Gray quickly left the house with his two children. No one was hurt in the incident, but Alexander sits in jail facing a 20-year sentence on three charges of aggravated assault with a deadly weapon.
Gray admitted to a history of physical abuse. In a previous incident, Alexander said he beat her so severely she ended up in the hospital and he ended up in jail. “He pushed me, choked me, pushed me so hard into the closet that I hit my head against the wall and passed out for a second,” Alexander said.
In a deposition for the case against Alexander, Gray backed up much of his wife’s story. “I told her if she ever cheated on me, I would kill her,” he said during the proceeding led by a prosecutor for State Attorney Angela Corey’s office and his wife’s defense attorney.
“If my kids weren’t there, I knew I probably would have tried to take the gun from her,” Gray said. “If my kids wouldn’t have been there, I probably would have put my hand on her.” When Alexander’s defense attorney asked him what he meant by “put my hand on her,” Gray replied, “probably hit her. I got five baby mammas and I put my hands on every last one of them except for one.”
Alexander’s attorney filed a motion for dismissal under the stand your ground law, but at that proceeding her husband changed his story. Gray said he lied during his deposition after conspiring with his wife in an effort to protect her. At the hearing, he denied threatening to kill his wife, adding, “I begged and pleaded for my life when she had the gun.” The motion was denied by the judge.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Emperah_dahJah2</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Only thing he should be doing is setting her free and charging him for aggravated assault. </div></div>
wat wood yuh sey iff wan aff de bullet shii fired struck wan aff ar yuth ar a innacent sambadee?
realitee iss dat de best xxample aff tand yuh ground wass trayvon attackinn zimmerman cah imm fear fe imm life butt oyinbo media a try raise issue dat trayvon attacked imm arm starker dat wass chasinn imm?
da joke iss dat de group dat advocated fe tand yuh ground include manee majar corps dat blakk peeps supportinn