Fi Evan and MG....
Re: Fi Evan and MG....
Also Tuffy made a comment last week that made me think of this book..
He stated that the idea that Walter Rodney ideas had won.
And Tropi seemed unable to reconcile the idea of Shearer.... the authour presents the concept of Creole Nationalism which is liberal democratic in its aim. Which was the concept that Shearer and the leaders that led us out of colonialism... It was a commonallity throughout the region . While Rodney and PJ postulate a Black Nationalism.....
part 2 of the interveiw...
He has lost weight...lookin good...u know I read Eric Williams occasionally...well I should say reread his tome Fr Columbus to Castro: the History if the Caribbean, 1492-1969.....by the way I know of ur errr ahm, the author's interest in Williams
http://cau.academia.edu/FraganoLedgister..._Decolonisation
BTW, I was itching to slap that African chap as he made rustling noises in the background....thanks for the heads up...am going to look up the bks to add to my WI collection....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I like how he does contexturalises his history. He does focus on the best era of our history. the period between emancipation and independence. since then the common vision is gone. Change is inevitable. </div></div>
u eva read his book about his studies in England etc...Williams dat is..he one the ongle scholarship given island-wide in Trinidad n went to Oxford , i believe....
a so? not sure what you mean by urban, unless u talking about unfortunate stereotypes.
no - i heard from someone that he had a british accent so i wanted to hear how british. i found it only slightly so, and then got preoccupied with whether he would sound more british on the phone. then i wondered if it was the influence of america talk or his job or both, cause i found his accent kind of international - meaning it almost doesnt identify any source nationality. except for the shades of slightly persistent british inflection at the end of his sentences.
so, yea, didnt have time to take in the content with all those random thoughts running around in my head.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Also Tuffy made a comment last week that made me think of this book..
He stated that the idea that Walter Rodney ideas had won.
And Tropi seemed unable to reconcile the idea of Shearer.... the authour presents the concept of Creole Nationalism which is liberal democratic in its aim. Which was the concept that Shearer and the leaders that led us out of colonialism... It was a commonallity throughout the region . While Rodney and PJ postulate a Black Nationalism.....
part 2 of the interveiw...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?NR=1&fe...;v=OWfxOVX9VuU </div></div>Re: creole nationalism...it may be an idea but the majority who hold the wealth in the West Indies do not look like the majority in the region. Hence, egalitarianism has not been achieved.
Also it has been said that there is no one as "West Indian" as a West Indian abroad. I can't reacll who said it but it's true.
I also heard that Williams banned his own book when he became Prime Minister of Trinidad. I don't know if this is true.
I thought his comments about DK Duncan were interestesting. He was a black nationalism and a socialist but "class trumped race in his utterances". For sure I agree with this.
Frankly, I think Jamaica made 2 cruical mistakes:
- optoing for creole nationalism over Black Nationalism
- opting for independence over Federation
It is interesting how well Barbados is doing when it does not have the natural resources of Trinidad or Jamaica.
Tropi..tings not rosy in Bdos dahling
by BFP | May 14, 2012 · 5:25 am
Barbados Prime Minister: No offence to call labour dispute businessman “an Egyptian Jew”
Barbados Prime Minister Freundel Stuart isn’t usually known for kicking sleeping dogs or trying to put out fires with buckets of petrol – but that just changed.
PM Stuart, (a Christian and a black man with darker skin) was talking to The Nation about comments made by Barbados Workers’ Union (BWU)&#8200;general secretary Sir Roy Trotman. Stuart says he can no offence with Sir Roy for saying that Diamonds International employees were sacked by an “Egyptian Jew”, businessman Jacob Hassid. (BFP’s original story about Sir Roy’s comments here)
Roy Trotman is a black man with slightly lighter skin than Prime Minister Stuart. Sir Roy is thought to be a nominal Christian of unknown denomination and is under fire for bring race, religion and ethnic origins into a labour dispute.
Let’s try this experiment…
If as Prime Minister Stuart says, there is nothing wrong and no offence with Sir Roy Trotman’s remarks, we invite the PM, Mr. Trotman, The Nation and the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation to adopt Mr. Trotman’s standard for a week. If Trotman’s comments are not playing the race card to stir up the predominantly black-skinned and Christian union membership – if his comments that an employer is “an Egyptian Jew” are normal and acceptable speech on this island, then let’s embrace Mr. Trotman’s and PM Stuart’s standard.
I wonder what former CBC anchor Ian Bourne will have to say about this at his Bajan Reporter news website. Mr. Bourne is of mixed race with lighter skin, and is either a Christian or a B’hai. Or something.
Further Reading
Please read the full article at the Nation’s website here, but unfortunately BFP has to reprint their entire story because that newspaper has a history of removing and changing news stories to suit changing agendas…
Non-issue
May 14, 2012
A NON-DEBATE!
That is how Prime Minister Freundel Stuart last night described the raging public discussion surrounding union leader Sir Roy Trotman’s description of Diamonds International boss Jacob Hassid as an “Egyptian Jew”.
Asked to comment on a situation which has escalated to the point where some Barbadians have called on the head of the Barbados Worker’s Union (BWU) to resign and another trade union leader suggested he be stripped of his knighthood, the Prime Minister told the DAILY NATION he could find no offence which Sir Roy had committed.
“The comments complained of, I am still trying to find out where to locate the offence,” he said.
<span style="font-weight: bold">from racial strife to economics...BDOS having dem own share of problems
Re: Tropi..tings not rosy in Bdos dahling
Arthur: Economic recovery a myth
Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur
Fri, May 18, 2012 - 11:10 AM
DON’T BELIEVE THE HYPE!
Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur is against the notion that Barbados’ economy is stable and on the verge of recovering to a period of growth when the current recession eases up.
During a keynote speech after the annual general meeting of the Barbados Employers’ Confederation at the Hilton Barbados on Wednesday, Leader of the Opposition Arthur told a full house of BEC&#8200;members that any idea the economy was recovering was a “myth”.
According to Arthur, the DLP Government is yet to bring any major, new transformational initiatives to bear far-reaching adjustments to the economy.
“This failure is deeply rooted in the official mindset, so often expressed, that our economic problems are due to the effects of the international recession, and that once the recession lifts, economic buoyancy will return. That is not true,” Arthur contended.
“We can, and should start debunking the official myth that is being propagated that the economy is stable, whether the concept of stability is meant to describe its performance or to describe the vital relationships that govern its structure and functioning.”
He added that the country could also go further and challenge whether
a stable set of processes are being put in place by the current Democratic Labour Party (DLP) administration to equip the economy for making a transition at a time when great transformations are required.
“In respect of its performance, the Barbados economy is not stable.
It is underperforming and under developing,” Arthur said frankly.
The former Prime Minister said there is increasing evidence that Barbados’ economy is becoming less competitive, and there is also strong evidence to suggest that the adjustments which are required to support sound and orderly transition from a weak to a strong position, are not being successfully managed.
“The country’s economic problems are due in large measure to the fact that the recession has impacted at a time when many of the instruments and regimes which made the Barbados economic model successful in the past are no longer available to us, or are no longer relevant,” Arthur told BEC members.
He opined that this country’s problems exists because any of the regimes are instruments which can and must be used to bring about success in the future are either being deployed, or at best, are only slowly being called upon.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Arthur said it was “staggering” that despite a 30 per cent increase in prices in Barbados since 2008, the value of goods and services produced in Barbados at current prices last year ($8.806 billion), was less than in 2007 ($8.9 billion). </span>(BA)
WOW!! I guess they are living on their reputation. Barbados was performing really well when compared with Jamaica. Was it the recession that changed things?
I'll tell you one thing, you have to pay a LOT more in Barbados than you do in Jamaica to stay at a really nice resort. Apparently the all-inclusives that are moderately priced a sub-standard.
This was confusing to me:
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">That is how Prime Minister Freundel Stuart last night described the raging public discussion surrounding union leader Sir Roy Trotman’s description of Diamonds International boss Jacob Hassid as an “Egyptian Jew”.
Still have to wrap my brain around it. When something makes no sense my brain freezes and stops processing the information. Need to wait for it to unfreeze.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body">WOW!! I guess they are living on their reputation. Barbados was performing really well when compared with Jamaica. Was it the recession that changed things?
I'll tell you one thing, you have to pay a LOT more in Barbados than you do in Jamaica to stay at a really nice resort. Apparently the all-inclusives that are moderately priced a sub-standard.
This was confusing to me:
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">That is how Prime Minister Freundel Stuart last night described the raging public discussion surrounding union leader Sir Roy Trotman’s description of Diamonds International boss Jacob Hassid as an “Egyptian Jew”.
Still have to wrap my brain around it. When something makes no sense my brain freezes and stops processing the information. Need to wait for it to unfreeze.
BDos has the said problem yaad does....colourism...lass year r the year before a fairskin man did attack a darker skin man seh him not to be in him , di fairskin man area...two black man but one tink him hue was lighter n betta...sigh...so my man a trow wud pon who control di money ovah deh...like fi we supposed 21 ....a so di ting set in di WI
The drama continues all over the Caribbean. I do know some of them pride themselves on being very British in Barbados. I have heard those words come out of people's mouths.
On a more fun note today in the discussion in which I called for Jah_yout's help I discovered that I have been loving the work of an artist called Bongo Herman. Never knew his name but he plays on a lot of the music I have loved. I am really excited to find this out.
If you know anything about him, do come over and share it with us. I posted my favourite track of his from years ago when I finaly found it