Re: What became of these Jamaican TV personalities?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I see. So you were educated during the Manley era. That is yet another important contribution he made. Thanks for the clarification. </div></div>
not entirely during the manley era..but the free university education for Jamaicans was a legacy of the manley era.
I think they started to reintroduced fees for Jamaicans at UWI in the late 80's.
Re: What became of these Jamaican TV personalities?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I never had electricity or a TV in Jamaica....so cant comment.... </div></div>
Really. I'm not buying that. Your parents could afford to send you to Munro. </div></div>
Under manley education was free thru University.
My tuition at UWI was $0 the only fee i had to pay was the $50 guild fee
My database was wrong!
RichD...
But at UWI u had to find clothes, food, books, and accommodation. Given at the time there was one university plus cast and this was located in the corporate area... . Hence the need for student load Bueurea, which required a "provable" salary as a gurantor... Free tertiary education was a myth.....
And yes I never had electricity....walked 5 miles to catch a bus in the morning for a thityy minute bus ride.. 5 miles in evening from after teh 30 minute bus ride... a six hour daily commute...to this day there closest eectricity lines are a mile away... a bush mi come fram... mek mucko seem urban....
But at UWI u had to find clothes, food, books, and accommodation. Given at the time there was one university plus cast and this was located in the corporate area... . Hence the need for student load Bueurea, which required a "provable" salary as a gurantor... Free tertiary education was a myth.....
yes you had to find food clothes and accommodation..but even if your were not in school you had to find that ....anybody who applied was given a $700 grant which was enough to cover books.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.