Well the Conservatives have a majority government so it will become law.
What I want to know is this. If they are going to ultimately be paying out less in claims then should they not be collecting less from us in the way of premiums?
I dont like the fact that one person has authority to make them kind of decision there and I would like to be assured that a frequent claimant who is a genuine claimant has the opportunity to get the help they need. But the abusers of the system makes a part of me say why should they collect EI from Mid November to April while I have to take my [censored] out into God-forbidden sometimes -47 weather to pay for it.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nunya</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I don't understand how they can give one person the power to change the law at whim!?!?! Isn't that against the basic tenets of a democracy?
I am so confused and upset right now!!!!
BTW Nunya ... democracy as it exists now is a farce ... they are just trying make people believe it exists.
If there are indeed people who are abusing the system (and I am having difficulty comprehending how) why are everyone across the board to be penalized for this?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Twiney</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I dont like the fact that one person has authority to make them kind of decision there and I would like to be assured that a frequent claimant who is a genuine claimant has the opportunity to get the help they need. But the abusers of the system makes a part of me say why should they collect EI from Mid November to April while I have to take my [censored] out into God-forbidden sometimes -47 weather to pay for it. </div></div>
how much fraud is there in the system?
i dont knwo where yuh can jus quit your job and qualify for Ei you know where that is allowed?
i am sure we all know smaddy who seemingly never wukk from the year a nawt and deh pan some kinda gov benefits.
i know one family 3 generation of women all living in calgary housing, never know dem to work (5 yrs now) each lives seperately so 3 housing units and get money pan tap a it.
i dont know how the hell dem get weh wid dat. i wish i knew
i always thought that even as a single mom ( the youngest is with a 3 yr old) u had to proof dat u was looking for work or enrolled in skool in order to get welfare pmts. i also though dem was suppose to cut u off after certain time if u no find wukk. i also thought dem was to subsidize day care so u cant use childcare as an excuse ..... i am all for staying home and raise u pickney but not at ur neighbours expense. dat no rite. go find yuh pickny daddy or get up off a wah go gi yuh and go wuk.
i also thought gov housing u had to pay some sort of rent....
neways as mi say i need to get the secret to wat this chick i doing.
also know another one who live in metro housing in TO and have jaguar park up in dem parking stall how the hell....dont u have to declare those tings wen apply for these benefits?
We're talking about E.I: Employment Insurance. Money that's taken off your pay-cheque <span style="font-style: italic">without fail</span>. This is supposed to be 'insurance' money; to assist you should you lose you job. This money is available to you for a limited time. You cannot be on e.i indefinitely.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nunya</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Vegas that's a different kettle of fish.
We're talking about E.I: Employment Insurance. Money that's taken off your pay-cheque <span style="font-style: italic">without fail</span>. This is supposed to be 'insurance' money; to assist you should you lose you job. This money is available to you for a limited time. You cannot be on e.i indefinitely.
I think it would be better for everyone to have all their ei premiums paid into their own individual account which you cannot touch unless you find yourself unemployed, at which time all of the money in that account is yours to use as you wish. If there is money in that account at retirement then you can cash it out at that point.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: KF_Milo</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nunya</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Vegas that's a different kettle of fish.
I think it would be better for everyone to have all their ei premiums paid into their own individual account which you cannot touch unless you find yourself unemployed, at which time all of the money in that account is yours to use as you wish. If there is money in that account at retirement then you can cash it out at that point. </div></div>
your home/car insurers should move to that model too
The People who seem to be crying most are the ones who work a few months a year as seasonal workers and then collect EI for the rest ... Complaining say is Ontario & Western Canada fault... Now unless them paying more off them cheque fi EI than me and my employer then I have a problem with that. I would love to not work November to April too
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.