had a friend who used to work there. last time i visited the institute was late 90s, it was looking a little run down. hope them spruce it up lickle - it has some serious history in the caribbean region.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SistaCtry</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Johns Lane
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SistaCtry</div><div class="ubbcode-body">HWT again, JIS (ja info services)
was blown away by this place when i saw it in 2008.
very nice thread, sistac
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SistaCtry</div><div class="ubbcode-body">what a gorgeous sight, HWT trans centre
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">was blown away by this place when i saw it in 2008.
very nice thread, sistac
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SistaCtry</div><div class="ubbcode-body">what a gorgeous sight, HWT trans centre
assuming this is where archives/catalogs are kept, I would love to work here, put on mi white gloves and dig around
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">had a friend who used to work there. last time i visited the institute was late 90s, it was looking a little run down. hope them spruce it up lickle - it has some serious history in the caribbean region.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SistaCtry</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Johns Lane
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SistaCtry</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SistaCtry</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Harbor Street - must be early sunday morning, because traffic always heavy on Harbor st
that nuh look like harbour street at all ..sumtin wrong wid the orientation </div></div>
no?
yeah man, a it.........its the last streeet down to Kgn waterfront </div></div>It's not Harbour street Harbour street is not by the harbour. Between it a the sea us Port Royal street and ocean boulevard. That and a few others is really Ocean Blvd and Nethersole place.
thanks for posting that, maka. enjoyed watching it. effective public transit facilities is always a good indicator for a city, and i am happy to see this in Kingston. i didn't know they had a second floor, and i wonder how an elderly person would get up there to board a bus.
i'm also curious about who designed the transit centre.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: makabush</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">was blown away by this place when i saw it in 2008.
very nice thread, sistac
u know gen, i would never have thought u were this nerdy ... love it. there was a group, friends of the ioj, that i joined, to help signal an interest in preserving the institute and its historical place. fledgist, who used to be on this board, was also a member, if i recall correctly. don't really know waagwaan with the group these days tho, and i'm hoping the institute has begun to do more active collecting rather than just keeping the dust off the stuff that was collected a long time ago.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">assuming this is where archives/catalogs are kept, I would love to work here, put on mi white gloves and dig around
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">had a friend who used to work there. last time i visited the institute was late 90s, it was looking a little run down. hope them spruce it up lickle - it has some serious history in the caribbean region.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Vegas</div><div class="ubbcode-body">enough enough! oonuh mekking me home sick and mi cyan tek it
if the economy was better would oonuh go back to live? </div></div>
Hmmm. Wondering if this a piece of Jamaican history better left forgotten.
It was sold to United Fruit Company who instituted American segregation within it's walls...
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.