Re: Unno ovaweight mayor seh immagrants a de problem
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jamaica_dreamin</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nunya</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Everytime I see that ahole on tv, my first response is 'ugh!'
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The mayor recently voted against every one of Toronto’s community development grants. He was the only member of council to do so. He also opposed accepting hundreds of thousands of dollars from Ottawa for an anti-gang initiative that cost Toronto nothing. He lost that vote 33-1.</div></div>
I missed that one
I'd like to hear the actual words he used to justify his vote... on the other hand....
I have never been to Toronto but I am under the impression that it is a very diverse city. I don't understand how some one like that was elected. </div></div>
Let me break it down for you. If you walk down the street or ride the subway, yes this looks like a very diverse city. Walk into many of the major corporations and trust me any positions from Manager to CEO are filled by mostly White males....believe you me I see it all the time.
How can a city be considered to be diverse when the bastions of power are still lily White.
Also...mi figet de next point...back when I remember.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Edited to Add:</span>
Okay I remember now. Hiring practices are still very racist. I once worked for a company that at the time was located in Etobicoke. To the North was Rexdale with a very diverse population, to the west was Mississauga and Malton with a very diverse population and to the North west was Brampton...you get it...very diverse population. Yet most of the employees were from what were at the time lilly White communities.....Georgetown, Oakville, Caledon....etc.
I haven't visited lately but the last time I did an assignment for them, the picture had not changed. There were very few people of colour.
Working there was TOTAL hell if you weren't white and you didn't kiss batty. White folks who were high school dropouts were promotes over visible minorities with experience and education. This city is in a mess. Visible minorities are locked out of the seats of power and I don't see anything changing soon
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jamaica_dreamin</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nunya</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Everytime I see that ahole on tv, my first response is 'ugh!'

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The mayor recently voted against every one of Toronto’s community development grants. He was the only member of council to do so. He also opposed accepting hundreds of thousands of dollars from Ottawa for an anti-gang initiative that cost Toronto nothing. He lost that vote 33-1.</div></div>
I missed that one
I'd like to hear the actual words he used to justify his vote... on the other hand....
</div></div>I have never been to Toronto but I am under the impression that it is a very diverse city. I don't understand how some one like that was elected. </div></div>
Let me break it down for you. If you walk down the street or ride the subway, yes this looks like a very diverse city. Walk into many of the major corporations and trust me any positions from Manager to CEO are filled by mostly White males....believe you me I see it all the time.
How can a city be considered to be diverse when the bastions of power are still lily White.Also...mi figet de next point...back when I remember.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Edited to Add:</span>
Okay I remember now. Hiring practices are still very racist. I once worked for a company that at the time was located in Etobicoke. To the North was Rexdale with a very diverse population, to the west was Mississauga and Malton with a very diverse population and to the North west was Brampton...you get it...very diverse population. Yet most of the employees were from what were at the time lilly White communities.....Georgetown, Oakville, Caledon....etc.
I haven't visited lately but the last time I did an assignment for them, the picture had not changed. There were very few people of colour.
Working there was TOTAL hell if you weren't white and you didn't kiss batty. White folks who were high school dropouts were promotes over visible minorities with experience and education. This city is in a mess. Visible minorities are locked out of the seats of power and I don't see anything changing soon