One of my friends grew up in rural Portland and now he resides in a nice home just east of Toronto. He always says he refuses to go camping. He says he grew up in a house where there was no running water, no electricity and no indoor toilet, so why would he want to go back to that way of living?
Do You Camp?
Re: Do You Camp?
nope
i went camping in algonquin park once ..it rained and rained everything was wet and smelly.
racoons raided the camp at night and we thought it was a bear.
i don't like being smokey and grungyWhen its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">yes, once in a while.
at the holiday inn
and just recently
rooms on the beach in ocho rios </div></div>
Now that is some serious hard core camping!
no sah.
one time i went on the trails with my running group...is a good thing it was a bunch of us, cause i coulda swear i see Freddy or Jason lurking behind every other bush. (dat is probably why me trip ova the tree root cause me was too busy looking out fi dem and not looking where me going)
it's so quiet and desolate....no one can hear u scream
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">nope
i went camping in algonquin park once ..it rained and rained everything was wet and smelly.
racoons raided the camp at night and we thought it was a bear.
i don't like being smokey and grungy </div></div>
I agree! My experiences in Algonquin Park have been the same. Not much fun. I enjoyed going for a conoe ride at sunrise but other than that, not much fun.
Once a year I do it for the kids with my church but there is a shower house and proper toilets and facilities and I go Friday evening and leave Sunday mawning ... may do another one in late august when I go cow town since the pickney asking if we can. I am not really a fan of leaving my warm bed in the house I paying mortgage for to pay to sleep outside.
When we were in MD we went camping regularly with friends, as I own none ah that kinna stuff on my own. But it was mainly drag you RV with you and then pitch you tent. So mi not sure that is the same thing.Plus I was always intrigued with all the neat (comforts of home) things that was available. From stove to mattress to plate...everything.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: KF_Milo</div><div class="ubbcode-body">One of my friends grew up in rural Portland and now he resides in a nice home just east of Toronto. He always says he refuses to go camping. He says he grew up in a house where there was no running water, no electricity and no indoor toilet, so why would he want to go back to that way of living?
I AGREE TOTALLY WITH HIM FOR THE SAME REASONS.
I also spent a lot of time in rainy dank jungles and swamps struggling tostay dry while the beasties feasted on my bodily fluids while others tried to end me. I see nothing pleasurable in sleeping and let dew wet me.
I've done it few times... some enjoyable, others I was anxious to be home.
First camping, we put up a huge tent and had the dog with us... it was pitch black outside and a band of coyote were close by...the yipping and noise they made kept us and the dog awake all night. Poor Black spent the night barking barking barking barking
Next camping, we started to put up the tent, then had a war of words over tent pitching logistics, then a huge storm came and wiped out everything. We headed up to our warm house and bed.
Next camping it was with a co-worker friend. A bunch of ladies .... a lawyer, corporate execs, local politician were in the group. It was a ladies night and we spent the night with our camp chairs in the river talking about men, family, life, living, traveling, men, politics, men, food, men and more men. LOL! The liquor was flowing and it was a fun camping trip. The horse flies almost drove us crazy though.