I'm watching Tropi. I'm siting in a motel room in Gananoque watching. They didn't show a whole lot except for Bolt. Also a glimpse of Asafa and Portia.
it is not complicated dear lady it is called being informed and putting iconagraphy into its context.....a modicum of research would devine that the original poem of Jerusalem as well as the poet was a complicated. Blake h an ever evolving poltical veiw... with complicated beliefs that does not fit into the simplistic attitude toward the song..
for instance The first verse refers to the myth of Christ surviving the crusificition and settling in the UK and or Joseph of Aramathia bring Christ to the UK as a boy to trade for tin ...in it where Christ was exposed to or trained as a Druid....So he was infact drawing into a system that question was christianity infact evolved from Britions pagans beleif..
Blake was also famous for his disdain of the convention of marriage ...He is best known in Britain as a the first proponent of free love
Billy Bragg a left wing communist did a revealing program on the song for Radio 4 on the BBC..... from the mispllace jingoism to the .. For instance are u aware that it is the hymn of the national front and the english defense league.....But it is also song as the labour conference and the UK communist party conferences, as an ode to labour ...and it is the anthem at the Commonwealth games for England at the medal ceremony...
<span style="color: #FF0000">Also it became popular after WWI with the music by Parry less than 100 years...
guess popularism thrumps truth..</span>.. jackmandoraminuhchosenun...
Listen I couldn't care less if it was written by swan feathers on a turtle's batty. It's a hymn and used as a hymn in many churches worldwide. Has been for 200 years. Seen? So don't tell me it isn't a hymn.
To come into a discussion focusing on the Olympics and intended to be positive and in your usual fashion try to throw cold water on things is just plain childish. Your comments are irrelevant to the topic at hand and unnecessary. I don't know who is continually peeing in your cornflakes but please, take it out on them, not me.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">never mind usain, who was the other tall drink of water the cameras were focussing on? mi a try find im picture </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">never mind usain, who was the other tall drink of water the cameras were focussing on? mi a try find im picture </div></div>
The flag bearer for Niger was foineeeeeeeeeeee
Have to admit dat after the Jon Stewart piece I wondered how they were going to do the opening but it was brilliant
After this children sang and signed 2 verses of God Save the Queen. (There were some deaf children).
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/wKZtureaAlI"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/wKZtureaAlI" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>
Tons of great photos and a couple of videos here:
FYI The Hymn I was talking about was Guide me Oh Thou Great Jehovah...it is replaying now....so mi noh now WEH you come in yah wid.
Before you come here and chat fawt bout dat is not a hymn, here are the words.
<span style="font-style: italic">Guide me, O Thou great Jehovah,
[or Guide me, O Thou great Redeemer…]
Pilgrim through this barren land.
I am weak, but Thou art mighty;
Hold me with Thy powerful hand.
Bread of Heaven, Bread of Heaven,
Feed me till I want no more;
Feed me till I want no more.
Open now the crystal fountain,
Whence the healing stream doth flow;
Let the fire and cloudy pillar
Lead me all my journey through.
Strong Deliverer, strong Deliverer,
Be Thou still my Strength and Shield;
Be Thou still my Strength and Shield.
Lord, I trust Thy mighty power,
Wondrous are Thy works of old;
Thou deliver’st Thine from thralldom,
Who for naught themselves had sold:
Thou didst conquer, Thou didst conquer,
Sin, and Satan and the grave,
Sin, and Satan and the grave.
When I tread the verge of Jordan,
Bid my anxious fears subside;
Death of deaths, and hell’s destruction,
Land me safe on Canaan’s side.
Songs of praises, songs of praises,
I will ever give to Thee;
I will ever give to Thee.
Musing on my habitation,
Musing on my heav’nly home,
Fills my soul with holy longings:
Come, my Jesus, quickly come;
Vanity is all I see;
Lord, I long to be with Thee!
Lord, I long to be with Thee!</span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">never mind usain, who was the other tall drink of water the cameras were focussing on? mi a try find im picture </div></div>
The flag bearer for Niger was foineeeeeeeeeeee
i do recall that too, vannie. i'm rewatching the whole thing, see if i can get names this time. mi younger dawta just reach, so i've got her on the jamaican team detail
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.