Marley Family Interviews
Re: Marley Family Interviews
it low on mine too,
I was wondering about that other girl, and u never see smoke widdout fire,
<span style="font-weight: bold"> Bob Marley had a number of children: three with his wife Rita, two adopted from Rita's previous relationships, and several others with different women. The Bob Marley official website acknowledges eleven children.
Those listed on the official site are:
1.Sharon, born 23 November 1964, to Rita in previous relationship
2.Cedella born 23 August 1967, to Rita
3.David "Ziggy", born 17 October 1968, to Rita
4.Stephen, born 20 April 1972, to Rita
5.Robert "Robbie", born 16 May 1972, to Pat Williams
6.Rohan, born 19 May 1972, to Janet Hunt
7.Karen, born 1973 to Janet Bowen
8.Stephanie, born 17 August 1974; according to Cedella Booker she was the daughter of Rita and a man called Ital with whom Rita had an affair; nonetheless she was acknowledged as Bob's daughter
9.Julian, born 4 June 1975, to Lucy Pounder
10.Ky-Mani, born 26 February 1976, to Anita Belnavis
11.Damian, born 21 July 1978, to Cindy Breakspeare
Makeda was born on 30 May 1981, to Yvette Crichton, after Marley's death.[40] Meredith Dixon's book lists her as Marley's child, but she is not listed as such on the Bob Marley official website.
Various websites, for example,[41] also list Imani Carole, born 22 May 1963 to Cheryl Murray; but she does not appear on the official Bob Marley website.[40]
what a mix up, exp for poor Makeeda, wha dem a call poor Bob name fah, after him dead him caan breed no body, some of this is really sad
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body">We also said must have been a nurse who was the mother of Makeda as Bob Marley was doing poorly in his last 9 months.
Here are the photos:
http://xidneyxhin.wordpress.com/2012...d-13-children/ </div></div>
y dont u read Rita's book rather than use these fly by night sources...if dat picture is Sharon Prendergast (she marry Prendie di football referee of note a yaad), if dat is a picture of Sharon, i nyam a hat....cause mi no think she bleach out dat much n ha plastic surgery....
In her autobiography, No Woman No Cry, Rita Marley wrote “I was very upset at first to learn about all this, though it’s common in Jamaica. But since then, I’ve come to love both of these boys and to think of them as my sons.” She maintained this generous attitude toward the several other children Bob had with other women throughout the years.
After the Wailers signed with Island Records in 1972, things began to turn around for the band members, but not necessarily for the Marleys. The group had their first album with the label, Catch a Fire, released internationally the next year, and they became to attract critical attention. With their popularity on the rise, the Wailers toured the United States and Europe. But Rita’s marriage was under a lot of stress with Bob often away and involved with other women. Rita herself had an extramarital affair, which disturbed Bob. While she was involved with both men at the time,<span style="font-weight: bold"> she stated her autobiography that Bob was the father of her fourth child, a daughter named Stephanie</span>, born in 1974. Around that same time, Rita—as part of the female trio the I-Threes—joined the group after Peter Tosh and Bunny Wailer left
Cedella was always speaky spokey and twanging even back when when she was living in Jamaica. Ziggy and Stephen I recall from their Melody Makers days made a point to use raw patois in their interviews even with foreign journalists - let them figure it out was their attitude. When i was living in Jamaica, though I was a youngster, I recall seeing she, Ziggy and Stephen on a regular basis travelling in a red jeep driven by a dread who would make a stop at Alpha Academy on South Camp Road to drop Cedella off at school and then another one at STGC on North Street for Ziggy and Stephen.
I must say it is weird seeing Sharon and Cedella now. My last memory of them is from the Melody Makers days. Lets just say they look different.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">treyj den memba dat she was a mampie bak den...she loooose nuff weight wen she start feel har oats </div></div>
Cedella ? I don't think Cedella was ever fat by any definition. But she had a fuller look to her face - now she looks almost gaunt. Time stands still for no one but me did just think for some reason she would basically look the same as she did 15+ years ago. She still looks good though - different but good.
Cindy explaining in her own words how she broke the rules and bucked the system and chose of her own volition to get knocked up by Bob. She said she knew it was right for her. I respect her stance here because she claims to have dived in with eyes wide open and did not pretend like she did not know what was going on (beginning at 25s).:
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/2fKqib8hRbQ"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/2fKqib8hRbQ" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>
Originally Posted By: Tropicana:
We also said must have been a nurse who was the mother of Makeda as Bob Marley was doing poorly in his last 9 months.
Here are the photos:
http://xidneyxhin.wordpress.com/2012...d-13-children/Originally Posted By: evanovitch
y dont u read Rita's book rather than use these fly by night sources...if dat picture is Sharon Prendergast (she marry Prendie di football referee of note a yaad), if dat is a picture of Sharon, i nyam a hat....cause mi no think she bleach out dat much n ha plastic surgery....
Well, it's kinda tough to link to a book...also I don't know any of these people from Eve and no basis on which to judge which photos are and aren't accurate.
Ditto for anyone else I don't know personally . Man if that's the criteria for posting, the board would be empty. If you know of a better site, please share it. I realize you know many of these people. I have only ever met Judy and Marcia up front and close. Braddie even offered to have me go and pick some dinner up for Marcia when the wutless producer left her at the hotel and didn't give her the promised per diem..totally wutless. Saw Ziggy as a little boy a couple of times. I wondered who this kid was at reggae concerts. (I-threes performed in Toronto.)
.Originally Posted By: evanovitch
In her autobiography, No Woman No Cry, Rita Marley wrote “I was very upset at first to learn about all this, though it’s common in Jamaica. But since then, I’ve come to love both of these boys and to think of them as my sons.” She maintained this generous attitude toward the several other children Bob had with other women throughout the years
Well good for her. She is more generous than me. I would have helped the children but divorced him for such disgraceful behaviour.
After the Wailers signed with Island Records in 1972, things began to turn around for the band members, but not necessarily for the Marleys. The group had their first album with the label, Catch a Fire, released internationally the next year, and they became to attract critical attention. With their popularity on the rise, the Wailers toured the United States and Europe. But Rita’s marriage was under a lot of stress with Bob often away and involved with other women.Originally Posted by Tropicana:
Why did she stick with him? In interviews he even lied and said he was free, single and disengaged and Rita was his sister.Quote: Rita herself had an extramarital affair, which disturbed Bob.Originally posted by Tropicana:
He certainly had no right to be disturbed.Quote: While she was involved with both men at the time, she stated her autobiography that Bob was the father of her fourth child, a daughter named Stephanie, born in 1974. Around that same time, Rita—as part of the female trio the I-Threes—joined the group after Peter Tosh and Bunny Wailer left.Edited to Add: Hard to go back and re-construct who said what and what was quoted from the book. If I have made errors, please let me know and I will fix it.Originally Postred by Tropicana:
Loved the I-Threes the one time I saw them perform by themselves. Saw Bob perform twice if memory serves me correctly.
I'm glad the children are doing well financially and in terms of their careers. Heaven knows they haven't had it easy.
Come tell us more Vannie, this is interesting. I particularly want to know why Damion has such a ruff and cruff image when he was raised uptown. I'd also like to know more about Ky-mani who I think is absolutely adorable. I wish he would do more acting.Last edited by Tropicana; 06-12-2013, 01:21 PM.
Man I have to see this video interview with Cindi....is she finally coming clean.
Edited to add:
Thanks for sharing them. Definitely Damion is one of the most talented of the group. Look pon im locks though. Im bettah mind im don't trip ovah dem.
So TreyJ how do you account for the fact that they were raised under the same roof yet their speech patterns are so different. Is it a macho thing?
Even this one who was raised in England for part of his life speaks the same way.
Last edited by Tropicana; 06-12-2013, 01:31 PM.
Ky-mani Marley is my favourite...likely because he did that really wholesome movie One Love that I was able to buy and watch with my son when he was in his early teens. Hard to find wholesome movies for young people sometimes.
Again, note the speech pattern...and he was raised in Miami
I notice that whenever Ky-mani Marley is interviewed by female interviewers, they get REAL cozy with him.....
Last edited by Tropicana; 06-12-2013, 01:35 PM.