coloured....no know wedda fi laff or sigh....between di German n di East Indian n di odda white ooman I was tested n passed....did not go ape [censored]....stared dem down n had dem stuttering ...all wid mi stare...the best was wen she said, or wat evah oonoo cawl oonoo self dese days....may I point out that hue wise, di Indian was 5 shades darker dan moi
It took coming to Canada to be called
Re: It took coming to Canada to be called
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: KF_Milo</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Im just curious to know how old of a somebody this was? </div></div>
all three r young enuff to be employed by a retail chain, but nearing dem pass due date.......di manager is di one who refer to me as coloured or wateva u call urself these days...my only comment to her was that i could see that the attitude trickled down n there was no point in discussing anything with her but i would take it up wid the corporate office....dismissed her impassioned pleas for us to discuss the slight n slur as also her newfound apologetic state...people tink seh all black people chupid, deh yah as refugee, dont understand body language n attitude....those three learnt diffrant in the space of 15 minutes from moi...di Kraut (use intentional)was beaming thru har teet not to mention being effusive in her sudden need to help...di Indian was still openmouthed wen i queried her caste standin or lack of said n the manager was requesting , shall we say ,no corporate involvement....i dont plan to call the corporate office unless my follow up visit is just as bad...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-style: italic">coloured....no know wedda fi laff or sigh....between di German n di East Indian n di odda white ooman I was tested n passed....did not go ape [censored]....stared dem down n had dem stuttering ...all wid mi stare...the best was wen she said, or wat evah oonoo cawl oonoo self dese days....may I point out that hue wise, di Indian was 5 shades darker dan moi</span> </div></div>Those dark-skinned Indians who look down on black people fill me with contempt.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Emperah_dahJahI</div><div class="ubbcode-body">yuh kno evanovitch an mi an yuh talk bout it ahreddy, yuh really need fi sidung an write one book.
Seriously Wat should it be about?
Years ago, when I was about 12, my mother's first cousin said something to me about being "so dark". Now understand, my mother's family were at least 1/2 white (g'grandfather from Wales). Most of them were blonde(sorry Tropi), with the usual very light complexion. Somehow this eediot decided since my dad was AA and not Jamaica-white (so mi did call dem--light, bright, and damn near).
I told him"Gene, what are you talking about? You are way darker than me!" And he was, you know. I am kinda yella (so my kids call it), he was 'red', brown with red undertones, but definitely darker than I. I wanna tell you, he yelped like I had goosed him and put his arm next to mine; sure enough, he was plenty darker than me. I guess because <span style="font-weight: bold">his family</span> (I never claimed my Jamaicaness just because of this type of mind-set in my family) was so light, he saw himself as light.
By the way, when I used to spend the summer in Negril, summers 2000-2006 for 9-10 weeks at a time, my color got that same tone, like cherry-wood furniture.