mi wake to the soond of a doorbell ringing...is about 5.30 so mi a wonda who dat could dare to be...mi hear mi sister talking n the dogs barking like crazy n den mi hear mi sister come bak down the hallway...since she had the flu i have been sleeping in one of the bedrooms on her floor...so mi draw awn a wrap n she come seh dis young lady was at di back door ringing dat doorbell,,,so fuss ting, di American eena me seh u leff a stranger by herself eena di living room...dis chick seh she a run from har man n come een tru di back gate ...she was soaked cause it been raining alllll nite...so mi mek tea fi har, find some clothes n gi har 20 dollars fi pay di taxi she call...so wile we waiting mi a chat to har n a mek sure she get di message seh dat if dis was a set up weh she come fi see wat deh yah fi come bak fi rob, no boda try it...yes mi is dat careful or paranoid...so mi mek har know mi live in the US whe we usually kill first n sort out di details after wen it come to home invasion...so now mi cannot go bak to bed...anyting like dis eva happen to anybody,,,,in all my years a farrin it neva happen before now...
listen to dis one
Re: listen to dis one
That was very kind of you. But not very smart.
If she is running from a man at 5:30 AM while it is raining heavily and she is desperate enough to knock on your back door, then she was, in all probability, being pursued.
This could have ended badly. I'm glad it didn't.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Ms Exced</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Please be careful people make it so hard for us to do the right thing. </div></div>
Amen to this!
I truly don't mind helping even if I have doubts about the person. I'll call you cab and even give you the money, but it's HARD HARD for me to let you in my house.
I have never had anything exactly like that happen to me before, but I have had something similar. I offered them a drink and let them use my cell phone as long as they wanted to sort out what they needed, but they had to do it on the porch. (It feels like a shame but...)
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: KF_Milo</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Is this person someone who lives very close to you? A neighbour? If not, then yes I would be suspicious, VERY suspicious! </div></div>
no sah..complete stranger ...but cudden leff har outside in the rain....as a woman u would hope if it was u , someone would help...but i was very straightforward with mekking har know i was no patsy...tried to get her to call the police an she said she had done so in the past, dem put restraining order but it no stop him..so i said she might have something to do wid dat if she still going out wid him despite their violent history...so me mek har know mi smell di liquor pon har n mi no chupid, mi just being decent n dropped many a hint dat i would be helpful once but not again...cudden left dis poor ooman just so....now i am wondering if a black woman did dat ,would mi neighbours open dem door to her...this lady was white...i would like to think they would...
Did you get the woman's name or other particulars? Even if you didn't, make an incident report with the police. It won't prevent anything from happening but could make it easier to find her and her cohorts if ever they were up to no good.
That reminds me of an incident that happened to me on Tuesday. I saw one man sneaking up behind a lady and putting his hand on her handbag. Seeing a pickpocket in action, I gave him a big tump on his back. It turns out he and the women are friends and he was just playing a trick on her. But hear me to myself after the fact, "What if he'd been a real criminal and he turned on me with a knife in his hand?" Anyway no harm was done, but you can't be too careful.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BlackStar</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Did you get the woman's name or other particulars? Even if you didn't, make an incident report with the police. It won't prevent anything from happening but could make it easier to find her and her cohorts if ever they were up to no good.
That reminds me of an incident that happened to me on Tuesday. I saw one man sneaking up behind a lady and putting his hand on her handbag. Seeing a pickpocket in action, I gave him a big tump on his back. It turns out he and the women are friends and he was just playing a trick on her. But hear me to myself after the fact, "What if he'd been a real criminal and he turned on me with a knife in his hand?" Anyway no harm was done, but you can't be too careful. </div></div>
i read a news report where two good Samaritans happened on a crime n thought the male was the criminal...turned out he had been jacked by the woman dem allow fi get weh...
boal enuh. this mek mi spit out mi juice
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BlackStar</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Seeing a pickpocket in action, <span style="font-weight: bold">I gave him a big tump</span> on his back. </div></div>
BlackStar, yuh nuh easy!</div></div>
just continue to be careful, at least yuh set her straight and she know yuh nah play
you should still report it to the police suh that at the very least they are aware of this woman. who knows, if she already had contact with the Police, they might have pictures of her and a file to boot.
She would have stood out in the rain while I called 911. I'm sorry, she was wet already how is 5 more minutes wet going to hurt? In this day and age this could have ended <span style="font-weight: bold">VERY BADLY!! </span> Be more cautious in the future, and warn your sister too.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i read a news report where two good Samaritans happened on a crime n thought the male was the criminal...turned out he had been jacked by the woman dem allow fi get weh...</div></div>LOL
That's another reason to not get involved. It can be really frustrating though when you genuinely need assistance and everyone just looks away.