ovah di will n no even bury di poor man...wat a shame
George Jefferson hasn't moved awn up..dem a fight
Re: George Jefferson hasn't moved awn up..dem a fi
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: blakkgiant</div><div class="ubbcode-body">wander iff a imm man friend a fite imm familee. doan ask doan tell </div></div>
It seems like no matter who is fighting that somebody should have loved him enough to put him in the dirt even if they had to come out of pocket.
Re: George Jefferson hasn't moved awn up..dem a fight
His manager and a friend ...
<span style="font-style: italic">A funeral home director in West Texas says they will continue to refrigerate the embalmed body of actor Sherman Hemsley, who became famous for his role as television's George Jefferson, until a local court rules on the validity of his will.
Hemsley signed the will six weeks before dying of lung cancer July 24. He names Flora Enchinton, whom he called "beloved partner," as sole beneficiary of his estate estimated in court documents to be more than $50,000.
The will is contested by Richard Thornton, of Philadelphia, who claims to be Hemsley's brother and says the will might not have been made by the actor.
The Philadelphia-born Hemsley played Jefferson in the CBS sitcom "All in the Family," then starred in the spinoff "The Jeffersons" from 1975 to 1985.
Read more: http://www.nydailynews.com/entertainment...9#ixzz252ngHrV8
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tulip</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Didn't he pass last month? They are dragging it like James Brown.
I assume he left everything to his partner if he had one. So who is contesting it? </div></div>
so a long lost brother is contesting the will while his manager who was named executrix is not allowed to bury him smhIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
<span style="font-style: italic">Nasty, teg reg, btich peeple dem dat man.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">and a contest 50,000 ? Did I read right ? after them done pay fi funeral nuh just 73.00 leff ?
\0/ </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Yuri_</div><div class="ubbcode-body">His manager and a friend ...
<span style="font-style: italic">A funeral home director in West Texas says they will continue to refrigerate the embalmed body of actor Sherman Hemsley, who became famous for his role as television's George Jefferson, until a local court rules on the validity of his will.
Hemsley signed the will six weeks before dying of lung cancer July 24. He names Flora Enchinton, whom he called "beloved partner," as sole beneficiary of his estate estimated in court documents to be more than $50,000.
The will is contested by Richard Thornton, of Philadelphia, who claims to be Hemsley's brother and says the will might not have been made by the actor.
The Philadelphia-born Hemsley played Jefferson in the CBS sitcom "All in the Family," then starred in the spinoff "The Jeffersons" from 1975 to 1985.
Read more: http://www.nydailynews.com/entertainment...9#ixzz252ngHrV8
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tulip</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Didn't he pass last month? They are dragging it like James Brown.
I assume he left everything to his partner if he had one. So who is contesting it? </div></div> </div></div>
$50,000?!? Poor Sherman.
So this long lost brother is claiming the will is a fake. Even if it is, I bet he still can't produce one with his name on it. I know times are hard but my goodness! Can DNA tests prove conclusively that they share a parent?
And how did Sherman have no insurance? Not even a burial policy.
MsExced, I agree with you. I think his friend in the will should have handled that long time ago, contest or no contest. It's too late to have an elaborate home going celebration so there is no excuse for further delay. They are racking up more of a bill in cold storage than they would to just go head and bury him.
I was saying that if he is not his real brother, then they are just wasting more time because he would not be "next of kin" and have no basis to contest.