I would like your opinion on this. It has reached my ears that a great many Jamaicans are now disenchanted with Barack. When he won four years ago there was great jubiliation in the streets. I took some Obama T shirts wih me to give friends and you would have thought I had passed out gold bricks. So 1. Is this your opinion as well? and 2. Can you tell me , in your opinion, why this might be the case ?
About Barack Obama
I can't speak for others but for me, I'm not disillusioned with Obama at all.
No – Obama's not perfect but am glad Romney didn't win. I don't trust him – he's incredibly insincere, I feel like if I got into an elevator with him and his wife she'd pull her purse just a wee bit closer to her side and he'd push a floor he wasn't going to just to get off, he can't relate to the common man – doesn't understand having to struggle – I'm not an advocate of 'big government' but he seems to want to stop help the little man in any way possible and seemingly roots for the rich; he's already told us he doesn't care about he 47% of us and I thicken he's elitist.
There's a disrespect that he (and his party*) have dished to Obama that has never been given to any US President that I can recall. Romney acts like he was entitled to the presidency.
They wait until the country is in the bottom of the toilet before they give someone like Obama the chance to be president (2008) and they expect him to clean it up in 4 years – no one could.
(*the same party that literally, HELD a meeting to figure out how to make Obama a 1 term president – said this was their primary goal – sorry, that's not what I sent u to DC for)
Sounds like "Malarky" to me. Where I voted there were about 200 people in line. I would say every other person was Jamaican. All the Jamaican folks I know were engaged and voting big time for Obama. In Jamaican many of my friends on facebook were pushing for Obama. Again this sounds like strange...Out of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.com
ditto.
I know a few probably voted for romney, but they were probably mormans, like the guy in miami
Originally posted by Xavier View PostSounds like "Malarky" to me. Where I voted there were about 200 people in line. I would say every other person was Jamaican. All the Jamaican folks I know were engaged and voting big time for Obama. In Jamaican many of my friends on facebook were pushing for Obama. Again this sounds like strange...
not all jamaicans think the same way. a number of my jamaican relatives living in america voted for romney because they like the easy slogans (less government, no tax on the rich), while others voted for obama because they believe in what he stands for.
as a jamaican-canadian, i am very glad Obama won. He's an extraordinary American. Not a perfect man, but a leader of the first order. I read a very long essay about him today in a copy of the New Yorker issued just before the election. The New Yorker endorsed him, and the essay ended with this:
"The reelection of Barack Obama is a matter of great urgency. Not only are we in broad agreement with his policy directions; we also see in him what is absent in Mitt Romney - a first-rate political temperament and a deep sense of fairness and integrity. A two-term Obama Administration will leave an enduringly positive imprint on political life. It will bolster the ideal of good governance and a social vision that tempers individualism with a concern for community. Every Presidential election involves a contest over the idea of America. Obama's America - one that progresses, however falteringly, toward social justice, tolerance, and equailty - represents the future this country deserves."
I know a few that voted for Romney but I can count them on one hand....lolOut of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.com
here in ja some folks (the type dem like jesus dread panel membersOriginally posted by Xavier View PostSounds like "Malarky" to me. Where I voted there were about 200 people in line. I would say every other person was Jamaican. All the Jamaican folks I know were engaged and voting big time for Obama. In Jamaican many of my friends on facebook were pushing for Obama. Again this sounds like strange...
) are very caught up with the gay ting and cant see pass that. listening to them though it dont seem like the would vote for romney eidda so mi no really get wah dem a deal wid.
another thing IMO the "novelty" of Obama wore off. some how ppl got it in their heads he was gonna be the black jesus or something.
Not surprised at all.Originally posted by diabolical_Tanya View Postyes the whole gay thing aye sah
I saw one of my schoolmate post bout how him can't support Obama because him religious morals forbid it. but him same religious morals noh stop him from cheating on him wife7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.
Yes, of course some voted for Mittens. Not just Jamaicans, but many African Americans as well. But the results on Tuesday clearly show that while many of us do not agree with 100% of what he did/does, we still want him in the oval office.Originally posted by Xavier View PostI know a few that voted for Romney but I can count them on one hand....lol
The gay thing may have caused many to get vexed, but it looks like most people got over it...especially when they got a good look at Mittens.7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.