Me thinks you fret to much. This is nothing more than tribal instinct. Those that look like one another, or are like minded ,have a tendancy to seek each other out. It is what we do, and it's normal behavior, regardless of what the supposed experts are trying to brainwash us into believing. We are nothing more than an advanced animal species. We maybe a little smarter, and walk on two legs, but that's about the only difference. Some folks want to make it more complicated than it really is...
mii sumwat agree widd yuh. mii more believe inn segregate but equal philossopee. too badd more oyinbo ave issue widd equalitee ann wat itt entail
There is no way that Rexdale is predominantly Black. I used to live in Etobicoke so I know. There are some housing complexes with a lot of Black families in that area. Markham has a lot of Chinese families but White folks are still in the majority. My son went to school in Markham and my church is still in Markham. When I refer to Toronto I mean GTA - 416 & 905 area codes.
If you use the term "toronto " to include the surrounding subbrrbs one coudl make the argument that East side of Brampton is predominantly South Asian and north Markham/Unionville is predominantly "Chinese". The area of Rexdale from dixon/islington - martingrove and north all the way to steels is predominantly black. the block from just west of isonlington over to kipling and north to the 401 is home to about 15,000 Somalis (that's where K'naan grew up)
Predominantly means:
1. Having greatest ascendancy, importance, influence, authority, or force. 2. Most common or conspicuous; main or prevalent:
It means the overwhelming majority of the people in a particular area are of a particular racial or ethnic group. While there are large concentrations of the various groups you are mentioning in various parts of the GTA, these groups are definitely not in the majority. I have posted demographic census data to prove this in the past and will not waste my time doing it again. The situation in the USA is vastly different from what we have in Canada.
The thread stated is about segregation and we are discussing varying points of segregation; cultural difference are a reason people would choose to live with those of similar culture, food, religions, etc and access to such.
Once again this point had not been raised and makes no sense as a basis of segregation. I can understand language differences.
No time to waste. I am not American...leave that to the Americans. Long Island is composed of many communities. Some are predominantly White and others are predominantly Black. Data would have to be broken down by community. (e.g. Elmont vs Garden City...etc.)
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.