Thu 6:16 PM, Dec 13, 2012"If you've ever driven up to a police officer and turned down your music, it was probably a good decision.But the Florida Supreme Court ruled today that it's perfectly legal to blast loud music while driving.If you want to turn up the music, it's okay to do so without being pulled over.That's right, the Florida Supreme Court has deemed a law against playing loud music as unconstitutional.This story all began with a Florida lawyer back in 2007. He was listening to, yes you guessed it, Justin Timberlake one morning when he was pulled over. The officer gave him a 73 dollar ticket.Upset, he challenged the law and five years later was told you can listen to whoever however loud you want.The rule was drivers could not blar their radios at a volume that was "plainly audible" to someone 25 feet awayThe Supreme Court unanimously ruled today that the law infringed on Floridians freedom of expression.A spokeswoman for Attorney General Pam Bondi said her office was reviewing the decision."http://www.theledger.com/article/20121213/politics/121219683
Florida Supreme Court rules loud music Law Unconstitutional.
Interesting...so dat mean all dem convertibles with music a blast pon South Beach going get a free ride.Originally posted by ja-kid View PostThu 6:16 PM, Dec 13, 2012"If you've ever driven up to a police officer and turned down your music, it was probably a good decision.But the Florida Supreme Court ruled today that it's perfectly legal to blast loud music while driving.If you want to turn up the music, it's okay to do so without being pulled over.That's right, the Florida Supreme Court has deemed a law against playing loud music as unconstitutional.This story all began with a Florida lawyer back in 2007. He was listening to, yes you guessed it, Justin Timberlake one morning when he was pulled over. The officer gave him a 73 dollar ticket.Upset, he challenged the law and five years later was told you can listen to whoever however loud you want.The rule was drivers could not blar their radios at a volume that was "plainly audible" to someone 25 feet awayThe Supreme Court unanimously ruled today that the law infringed on Floridians freedom of expression.A spokeswoman for Attorney General Pam Bondi said her office was reviewing the decision."http://www.theledger.com/article/20121213/politics/121219683
Edit: Here is the link to the Supreme Court Decision.Last edited by LinSkinny; 12-13-2012, 10:12 PM.