Curious dahjah. When someone is hurting and you insist on charging in with both guns blazing, other than making you get something off your chest, what does that really accomplish? Do you really think the person has the bandwidth to deal with your concerns at that point? What is the harm in waiting a few weeks or months until they are in a better position to hear you?
Sometimes striking while the iron is hot ... is the best deal - the initial hurt will wear off ... but each time they remember their hurt they will remember someone else is hurting too even though they didn't like they were forced to look at another person's reality.
Disclaimer this is a general opinion not geared to a specific situation.
Strike while the iron is hot is generally the most prudent course of action but not always.
Sensitivity Training Case Exercise for Discussion
Let's say you had been passed over for promotion and you believed it was because of race. The day after you are informed that you were passed over, you learn that your boss' children were just killed in a car accident.
Would you bun fiyah, confront her right away and file a complaint immediately even if your company had a longer deadline to take action? (e.g. 1 -2 months)?
What would be the harm in waiting a few weeks?
Strike while the iron is hot is generally the most prudent course of action but not always.
Sensitivity Training Case Exercise for Discussion
Let's say you had been passed over for promotion and you believed it was because of race. The day after you are informed that you were passed over, you learn that your boss' children were just killed in a car accident.
Would you bun fiyah, confront her right away and file a complaint immediately even if your company had a longer deadline to take action? (e.g. 1 -2 months)?
What would be the harm in waiting a few weeks?
yuh really nuh know mi if you ask this question ... mi probably wait till the ink dry on mi signature on the complaint form (or it safely delivered to the appropriate office) before mi express mi condolences if mi feel like it. IS THE WHOLE BEING NICE AND POLITICALLY CORRECT FOOLISHNESS MAKE PEOPLE CONTINUE TO TAKE ADVANTAGE...
....and does that approach work. Are you successful in consistently getting the results you want by using a confrontational approach?
The movie and the panel discussion deal with the depth of our pain and the impact on our health and interpersonal relationships.
This has nothing to do with being politically correct or kissing up to people. It's about human to human interaction. There is a time to bun fiyah and a time to recognize that others are dealing with their own pain and do need time and space to heal before we bombard them with our legitimate issues and grievances.
What makes it tough is that our own pain goes so deep and our own means unmet for so long that it is as if we are at the boiling point and can't put things on simmer or the back burner for a time that is more appropriate. Sometimes we get in our own way and our approach is not serving us. That's why it's important to pause reflect and remain open to the possibility that a more sensitive approach may serve us better. A reputation as a hot head is unlikely to produce the results we are seeking to achieve.
The following should be practiced daily. Twice a day if under server stress. I used to keep relaxing videos in my desk and when I was about to explode I would retreat to a conference room put on the video, relax, breath, pray and develop more clarity about the best approach to deal with situations. Journalling can also help you to get your feelings out, reflect and figure out the best course of action. a knee jerk reaction rarely gets the results we are seeking.
1 : a feigning to be what one is not or to believe what one does not; especially: the false assumption of an appearance of virtue or religion
Sensitivity does not mean misrepresenting what we feel or how we see things. It means be conscious and aware enough of the other persons situations and vulnerabilities to express those feelings at the appropriate time and place and through the appropriate communication channel and vehicle.
It's important to be aware of the role that perception plays in these situations. When a person is in a vulnerable state, this will affect how they perceive the information and feelings you present.
That's why we big up Jah Cure, buy R. Kelly concert tickets, bawl when Ray Lewis says he is going to retire and cheer when OJ get off. Why some black pastors even said that Desiree Washington "asked to be raped" when she went up to Mike Tyson's room.
Yes we are a forgiving people.
staapp eeth.
realitee iss dat sum peeps wey use fe roll widd jah cure neva vouch fe imm dat y even dough imm serve de thyme fe de crime mii still doan rate imm.
r.kelly bigg man wey luv young gurl woo willinn fe bow cah dem blinded bye celebritees. no proof dat imm guilty aff anee ting illegal
ray lewis no proof aff anneeting illegal
mii cheer wen dem found oj natt guiltee cah mii research de case ann de eveedence ann neva mekk de media tell mii oyinbo versian. awl peeps affii doo iss studee de thyme line inn oj case ann iff dem fair minded dem wood see oj was innacent. itt remind mii aff de central park bwoys wen mii ask iff de ground wey dat oyinbo ooman was rape oww cum nun aff dem bwoys add mudd pon dem clothes ann oww cum no dna aff dem bwoys was found. oyinbo media canvinced peeps woo cyaan tink fe demselves dat de central park bwoys were guilty widd no eveedence fe link dem to da rape. y dem doan release de affical repart aff tawanna yet even dough de affical report nuh release peeps wey let de media tell dem oww fe tink sure dat tawanna made upp wat appen to ar.
saw tyson fore ann aftah de rape allegatesham ann oomen juss a rush de imm. tyson wass tried inn a state widd lang histaree aff kkk ann peeps beeleeve imm got a fair trial. tyson got convicted based pon imm image more dan de eveedence. ooman goo upp to man hotel room raises qwestian
sum ar forgivinn ann sum doan bow ann seek justice
Sensitivity has nothing to do with about overlooking or tolerating abusive or inappropriate behaviour (e.g. Jah Cure, Mike Tyson). It is about recognizing and respecting the needs and feelings of others and interacting with them in a way that does not add to their pain even when we are hurting.
It may mean that we delay dealing with an issue for a better time or that we choose another vehicle for expressing our feelings or bunning fiyah when this is needed.
As stated, when people are in pain it does effect their perception and they may not be in the right state to respond appropriate to us.
Sensitivity has nothing to do with about overlooking or tolerating abusive or inappropriate behaviour (e.g. Jah Cure, Mike Tyson). It is about recognizing and respecting the needs and feelings of others and interacting with them in a way that does not add to their pain even when we are hurting.
It may mean that we delay dealing with an issue for a better time or that we choose another vehicle for expressing our feelings or bunning fiyah when this is needed.
As stated, when people are in pain it does effect their perception and they may not be in the right state to respond appropriate to us.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.