Originally posted by Rollin_Calf View PostNo.Out of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.com
I got a feel the media is taking her Swiss citizenship out of context. Switzerland allows dual-citizenship and the USA allows dual citizenship. Switzerland granting her citizenship does not mean "renouncing her USA citizenship"... Only if she has gone to the USA embassy or consular office and voluntarily sign an oath of renunciation and that has not been said to date by the press or Turner.
Originally posted by Wahalla View Post
agreed. I don't see where she actually made any announcement. I believe it was published in a local paper to make it official and media picked up on it there.
Originally posted by SandiF View PostI got a feel the media is taking her Swiss citizenship out of context. Switzerland allows dual-citizenship and the USA allows dual citizenship. Switzerland granting her citizenship does not mean "renouncing her USA citizenship"... Only if she has gone to the USA embassy or consular office and voluntarily sign an oath of renunciation and that has not been said to date by the press or Turner.
I know some Americans who dont live in America who are planning on giving up their citizenship because of some tax thing because them dont feel them should pay tax in merica since them dont live there. So maybe is the same thing shi decide too. And no mi no really hang around when them start discussing the details since it dont concern me.
YES.
These tips can help you find what you are looking for: Check the URL (web address) for proper spelling and completeness; Use our
The principles embodied in the Oath are codified in Section 337(a) in the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA), which provides that all applicants shall take an Oath that incorporates the substance of the following:
Support the Constitution;
Renounce and abjure absolutely and entirely all allegiance and fidelity to any foreign prince, potentate, state, or sovereignty of whom or which the applicant was before a subject or citizen;
Support and defend the Constitution and laws of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic;
Bear true faith and allegiance to the same; and
A. Bear arms on behalf of the United States when required by the law; or
B. Perform noncombatant service in the Armed Forces of the United States when required by the law; or
C. Perform work of national importance under civilian direction when required by the law.
Originally posted by Rollin_Calf View PostNo.
Originally posted by j-kid View PostYES.
These tips can help you find what you are looking for: Check the URL (web address) for proper spelling and completeness; Use our
The principles embodied in the Oath are codified in Section 337(a) in the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA), which provides that all applicants shall take an Oath that incorporates the substance of the following:
Support the Constitution;
Renounce and abjure absolutely and entirely all allegiance and fidelity to any foreign prince, potentate, state, or sovereignty of whom or which the applicant was before a subject or citizen;
Support and defend the Constitution and laws of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic;
Bear true faith and allegiance to the same; and
A. Bear arms on behalf of the United States when required by the law; or
B. Perform noncombatant service in the Armed Forces of the United States when required by the law; or
C. Perform work of national importance under civilian direction when required by the law.
Dual Citizenship: The U.S. government allows dual citizenship. United States law recognizes U.S. Dual Citizenship, but the U.S. government does not encourage it is as a matter of policy due to the problems that may arise from it. It is important to understand that a foreign citizen does NOT lose his or her citizenship when becoming a U.S. citizen. An individual that becomes a U.S. citizen through naturalization may keep his or her original citizenship. However, as some countries do not recognize dual citizenship, it is important to consider it carefully before applying for U.S. citizenship.
Dual citizenship is a complex issue and it is important to understand that there are not only benefits but also obligations that comes with being a dual citizen. Being a citizen of two countries means that you need to obey the laws of both countries, which may include paying taxes and serving in the military. The "United States Dual Citizenship Guide"explains these issues in detail
I always thought the US did not allow dual-citizenship even though other nation recognized it. I guess they do but don't encourage it.Out of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.com
Originally posted by Xavier View PostI always thought the US did not allow dual-citizenship even though other nation recognized it. I guess they do but don't encourage it.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Xavier is correct.
Dem two oddas is confused, an ah talk bout apples an oranges. Except for ah handful ah countries (Israel, etc) whe di USA gives special dispensation tuh, when yuh become ah U.S. citizen, USA does not oficially recognize dual citizenship. With some Other countries like Jamaica, when yuh become a citizen of another country, yuh will alway bi ah citizen as far as dem is concerned. However, dat is not di same ting as di USA giving yuh dual citizenship. Yuh may bi ah dual-citizen tuh yuh mother country, but not tuh di USA, as far as dem is concern, unless yuh belong tuh dat small selected pool of countries dat dem recognize. Unlike di country 90 miles dung di road from Jamaica, Cuba, whe when yuh become ah U.S. citizen yuh forfit yuh Cuban citizenship, mi will always bi ah Jamaican citizen, but dat is not di same ting as di USA recognizing mi as ah dual citizen. Yes, Rich, mi is ah U.S. citizen, an had di denounce statement in mi citizenship oath wen mi took it. If dem call an israli tuh fight fi dem country, dem legally can goh duh it, not so wid Jamaica.
Originally posted by RichD View Postso Xavier yuh never go fi yuh Citizenship? J-kid?Last edited by j-kid; 01-28-2013, 12:48 PM.
Originally posted by j-kid View PostXavier is correct.
Dem two oddas is confused, an ah talk bout apples an oranges. Except for ah handful ah countries (Israel, etc) whe di USA gives special dispensation tuh, when yuh become ah U.S. citizen, USA does not oficially recognize dual citizenship. With some Other countries like Jamaica, when yuh become a citizen of another country, yuh will alway bi ah citizen as far as dem is concerned. However, dat is not di same ting as di USA giving yuh dual citizenship. Yuh may bi ah dual-citizen tuh yuh mother country, but not tuh di USA, as far as dem is concern, unless yuh belong tuh dat small selected pool of countries dat dem recognize. Unlike di country 90 miles dung di road from Jamaica, Cuba, whe when yuh become ah U.S. citizen yuh forfit yuh Cuban citizenship, mi will always bi ah Jamaican citizen, but dat is not di same ting as di USA recognizing mi as ah dual citizen. Yes, Rich, mi is ah U.S. citizen, an had di denounce statement in mi citizenship oath wen mi took it. If dem call an israli tuh fight fi dem country, dem legally can goh duh it, not so wid Jamaica.
I hereby declare, on oath,- that I absolutely and entirely renounce and abjure all allegiance and fidelity to any foreign prince, potentate, state, or sovereignty of whom or which I have heretofore been a subject or citizen;
- that I will support and defend the Constitution and laws of the United States of America against all enemies, foreign and domestic;
- that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same;
- that I will bear arms on behalf of the United States when required by law;
- that I will perform noncombatant service in the Armed Forces of the United States when required by the law;
- that I will perform work of national importance under civilian direction when required by the law;
- and that I take this obligation freely without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion; so help me God.
In acknowledgement whereof I have hereunto affixed my signature.
and Jamaican citizenship can be renounced for a small fee