Volkswagen Superbowl Commercial - Racist?
I posted the commercial yesterday and now hearing them saying it is controversial. I saw the discussion on this on NBC Today and the marketing expert saying this was similar to a white person painting their face "black". Are they crazy? I totally disagree that it is racist.Out of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.com
I think it is funny....But then I have a Jamaican accent and still use the Jamaican pronouciation of various words.. And have had many female blonds is Scandinavia tell me it makes them wet.....Lots of Scandinavians went to Minnesota right ???
I am Jamaican and I am offended by it. Dem ah tek wi mek pappyshow. They make us look like we are lazy and always smiling. We Jamaican push up out chest too much when anything Jamaican is showing internationally whether good or bad. VW should have did research before they created this ad. I hope the networks reject it and this ad does not see the light of day on TV.Originally posted by Suesumba View Postthey were just discussing this on the radio station how stupid it is that people are thinking it racist that the "jamaican culture has been appropriated"
Donna -
They DID do research and testing. And they did it WITH Jamaicans.
Originally posted by Dondonna View PostI am Jamaican and I am offended by it. Dem ah tek wi mek pappyshow. They make us look like we are lazy and always smiling. We Jamaican push up out chest too much when anything Jamaican is showing internationally whether good or bad. VW should have did research before they created this ad. I hope the networks reject it and this ad does not see the light of day on TV.
"Monday, VW America marketing officer noted that "We actually talked to about 100 Jamaicans in the research, and we had a speech coach on site to make sure it was authentic as possible."