Originally posted by franksterr
Full Video: The Cost of Corruption... Jamaica's Barrier to Prosperity
Originally posted by RichD View Postyuh is a real joker. you nuh know by now that the media is not vested in accuracy? I prefer to trust my own research from primary sources
here is a link to the jamaica ministry of finance debt management unit summary page
http://dmu.mof.gov.jm/public/20111026hseries97-10.pdf
they have a line for how much is owed to IMF
let me know if you have any questions with the interpretation
Originally posted by franksterr View PostSo you say the are lying?
Same thing can not access.....the point is Jamaica Owes in excess of 18 billion dollars in debt and it all began with the IMF/world bank in the late sixtes early 70's....and western lending organization are the creditors.
Okay lets say the gleaner a lie and the so is the BBC - so its your argument that we only owe 500 million?
i have not disputed the 18 billion ..if you look back you will see where i also quoted that number.
you suggested that the reason for the problems was the conditions on loans made by lenders like the IMF ..i was simply pointing out that the vast majority of the money owed is not to the IMF and is based on loans( bonds floated in the European and US private capital markets as well as the domestic capital markets) where no conditions were attached. and that saying is because the IMF screw us up is too simplistic.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Originally posted by RichD View Postyuh working hard at being obtuse.
i have not disputed the 18 billion ..if you look back you will see where i also quoted that number.
you suggested that the reason for the problems was the conditions on loans made by lenders like the IMF ..i was simply pointing out that the vast majority of the money owed is not to the IMF and is based on loans( bonds floated in the European and US private capital markets as well as the domestic capital markets) where no conditions were attached. and that saying is because the IMF screw us up is too simplistic.
European or US private capital is all the same to me, as it is usually the same people running those organization with the same intent just a change of name.
Originally posted by franksterr View Postthe point is Jamaica Owes in excess of 18 billion dollars in debt and it all began with the IMF/world bank in the late sixtes early 70's....and western lending organization are the creditors.
just a bit over 50% of the $18 Billion is owed to Jamaicans and Jamaican institutions.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Originally posted by franksterr View PostEuropean or US private capital is all the same to me, as it is usually the same people running those organization with the same intent just a change of name.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Originally posted by RichD View Postso you don't think a good portion of it is to china too?
just a bit over 50% of the $18 Billion is owed to Jamaicans and Jamaican institutions.
Originally posted by franksterr View PostNo tell me
the 800M standby agreement provided by the IMF gave local financial institutions (who were the main holders of these bonds) a sense on security so that they would agree to this exchange. if you look at the IMF numbers you will see that they did not draw the entire 800M approved.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Originally posted by RichD View Postso when your financial advisor suggest you buy into the latest Jamaican bond issue is because he know you share the IMF intent?
These Western institution all act in concert and tandem.....If Moodies etc gives Jamaica low creditworthiness, believe me the vast majority of financial advisors will not recommend their clients to buy Jamaica's bonds
Originally posted by franksterr View PostThe last time a check china;s loan to jamaica has not excceded a Billion US
I have no reason to believe so....bring the facts?
i pointed you to the debt managment unit of the Jamaica ministry of finance...i'm sure you can navigate the pageWhen its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Originally posted by RichD View Postthe gov of Jamaica hd issues some domestic bonds paying 19 - 23.5 % which were maturing in 2012/2013 they decided that in order to reduct their interest obligations they woudl rather than default on the bonds replace them with something like 9.5% bonds which would not mature until later
the 800M standby agreement provided by the IMF gave local financial institutions (who were the main holders of these bonds) a sense on security so that they would agree to this exchange. if you look at the IMF numbers you will see that they did not draw the entire 800M approved.
Give me something that I can chew on in terms of the 50% local bonds purchases
Originally posted by RichD View Postwhere did you check the Jamaican debt to China?
[/quote]i pointed you to the debt managment unit of the Jamaica ministry of finance...i'm sure you can navigate the page[/QUOTE]
can not access the site, everytime I try my laptop freeze - not good
Originally posted by franksterr View Postgoing off memory, so was hoping you had more recent and hard data
can not access the site, everytime I try my laptop freeze - not good[/QUOTE]
it has a lot of good information
breaks down domestic and external debt by year ...other pages show the bond issues maturity an interest rates.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Originally posted by RichD View Posti pointed you to the debt managment unit of the Jamaica ministry of finance...i'm sure you can navigate the page
it has a lot of good information
breaks down domestic and external debt by year ...other pages show the bond issues maturity an interest rates.[/QUOTE]
Since you can access it tell me what it says, in regards to china/Jamaica loan size/amount?