snowstorm
Like Kia - who's not far from me - we got about 9 or 9-1/2 inches. (like Martina Navratilova, I find it so hard to judge distance when men have always told me that three inches is really six...)
But Witchy don't play anymore. Mr Witchy's bad heart has kept Witchy extremely careful about his health. So she went and did it RIGHT this time. No small plows that are still too wide for our extremely narrow driveway that is just barely wide enough for my Oldsmobile Cutlass Brougham beast to pass down. Nope. The operators always scrape the siding of the house OR tear up the Belgian block edging between my driveway and my next-door neighbor's - which is co-owned, sitting right on the property line. This time I got my best friend's business partner to come and clear out my driveway for me. She and he own an excavating & construction company. So he fired up his freakin' backhoe and brought it over here, and he used that to clear out my driggin' driveway... all 95 feet of it!Right on out into the street, and down the street to the snow pile that the city snow plows are making. He just loaded it up on top of that pile neatly. lol Hey - he didn't make a road hazard, like 9 out of 10 of the small-time snowplowers hearbouts do, by just dumping it all into the streets, after the city plows have already come by and cleared the street! Man, unnu had to see the looks on everyone's faces when my friend showed up in his backhoe and went to work clearing out my driveway!
(Even my mayor, who lives for houses up the road just came outside, looked down the street at me, and shook his head - then he hit my cell phone and asked me where the hell I got a backhoe. waaaiiiii I told him that he shoulda signed the contract that my friend offered the city months ago for just such circumstances, since our city hasn't got enough such heavy equipment; it just doesn't own it - can't afford it.) Public Works peeps shook their heads and tooted their horns as they passed by in the big city trucks, plowing and salting, stopping to ask me how the hell I got my friend to fire up the backhoe just for me. I told them with a sweet smile that "you just gotta be me, that's all".
My driveway was cleaned out in about 6 minutes. Maybe only 5. Then my friend stopped for a minute to chat with me. He had to take his backhoe over to the next city (West Orange) to his mother's house to clear her driveway out next. The fire commander passed by, stopped, did a double-take, and - knowing the both of us - exclaimed that the fire dept could've used my friend's backhoe's assistance earlier, clearing away from Orange's firehouse. lol Too late. besides, the city didn't wanna pay. tough luck. Do unnu know how much it costs to fire up and run that thing (the backhoe)?????
So, off he drove, in the backhoe, to do his mother's house. He had already cleared out his construction office yard first. Then my house. His mother's was last. After that, he was taking it back to his yard, and going home.
There's nothing like good friends!
Originally posted by WitchyOoman View PostLike Kia - who's not far from me - we got about 9 or 9-1/2 inches. (like Martina Navratilova, I find it so hard to judge distance when men have always told me that three inches is really six...)
Originally posted by WitchyOoman View PostBut Witchy don't play anymore. Mr Witchy's bad heart has kept Witchy extremely careful about his health. So she went and did it RIGHT this time. No small plows that are still too wide for our extremely narrow driveway that is just barely wide enough for my Oldsmobile Cutlass Brougham beast to pass down. Nope. The operators always scrape the siding of the house OR tear up the Belgian block edging between my driveway and my next-door neighbor's - which is co-owned, sitting right on the property line. This time I got my best friend's business partner to come and clear out my driveway for me. She and he own an excavating & construction company. So he fired up his freakin' backhoe and brought it over here, and he used that to clear out my driggin' driveway... all 95 feet of it!Right on out into the street, and down the street to the snow pile that the city snow plows are making. He just loaded it up on top of that pile neatly. lol Hey - he didn't make a road hazard, like 9 out of 10 of the small-time snowplowers hearbouts do, by just dumping it all into the streets, after the city plows have already come by and cleared the street! Man, unnu had to see the looks on everyone's faces when my friend showed up in his backhoe and went to work clearing out my driveway!
(Even my mayor, who lives for houses up the road just came outside, looked down the street at me, and shook his head - then he hit my cell phone and asked me where the hell I got a backhoe. waaaiiiii I told him that he shoulda signed the contract that my friend offered the city months ago for just such circumstances, since our city hasn't got enough such heavy equipment; it just doesn't own it - can't afford it.) Public Works peeps shook their heads and tooted their horns as they passed by in the big city trucks, plowing and salting, stopping to ask me how the hell I got my friend to fire up the backhoe just for me. I told them with a sweet smile that "you just gotta be me, that's all".
My driveway was cleaned out in about 6 minutes. Maybe only 5. Then my friend stopped for a minute to chat with me. He had to take his backhoe over to the next city (West Orange) to his mother's house to clear her driveway out next. The fire commander passed by, stopped, did a double-take, and - knowing the both of us - exclaimed that the fire dept could've used my friend's backhoe's assistance earlier, clearing away from Orange's firehouse. lol Too late. besides, the city didn't wanna pay. tough luck. Do unnu know how much it costs to fire up and run that thing (the backhoe)?????
So, off he drove, in the backhoe, to do his mother's house. He had already cleared out his construction office yard first. Then my house. His mother's was last. After that, he was taking it back to his yard, and going home.
There's nothing like good friends!
Originally posted by WitchyOoman View PostHow about you, dahJah?
I see that Nunya read my post thru it's entirety.
Originally posted by Emperah View PostYuh really a ahx dis question, how lang yuh live ya now, and when eva yuh si snow melt in two days when de temp still below 0?
You're being mean to me again.You are mean to me 90% of the time of late. You are always barking at me.
I just can't take it.
I am never mean to you.
Also, you nevah ansah me las' night. You said I was somewhere and you would get in trouble because you revealed it....where was I?Last edited by Tropicana; 02-10-2013, 02:24 PM.