Long kissteeth! MI can si inhumanity clear as a bell.
It doan really matter is it was a nursing home! Di attendant was an nurse, and there such ah ting as treating ah person with basic human decency. Why have ah nurse on staff if they are not going to practice nursing? To top it off dem neva hav ah DNR? I sure hope dem yank har nursing credentials. Hopefully one of your love ones would never be treated in this awful way, den mi waa hear what you would hav fi sey.
the poor nurse was caught between a rock and a hard place...did you listen tot he 911 call?
he employers instruction is to call 911 and wait. she was in fear for her job
is more the 911 dispatcher and the public that traumatize from this.
mi nuh think the nurse gwine lose her job if that is policy, dem lawyer probably already guh over that policy wid fine tooth comb before it was in place.
Some 87-year-olds are frail and have brittle bones. Performing CPR on them can break their ribs and they would thereby endure a painful death. At the same time, this is a special facility for elderly care and I am sure that this is not the first time they have had to call the ambulance to administer care.
I understand that many elderly patients in such a facility do indeed have DNR orders. Perhaps the nurse could have communicated that to the 911 dispatcher?
The facility’s executive director, Jeffrey Toomer, sent a statement on behalf of Glenwood Gardens to KGET, the station reported.
“In the event of a health emergency at this independent living community our practice is to immediately call emergency medical personnel for assistance and to wait with the individual needing attention until such personnel arrives,” the statement said, according to KGET.
----
why is this a policy at the facility?
Because of liability issues.........if you perform CPR and crack the ribs or cause further harm you can be used.........not sure if this state has Good clause or something like that to prevent the individual from being sued.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.