Oh!
Job opening
You don't know what the expression sweet and innocent means?
For one thing they don't look like rough and cruff ghetto youth. They look very cleancut and wholesome. Quite baby faced too...especially Bob and Peter. Compare it to this just a few years later. Even before dem locks up and beard up dem look so rough:
Last edited by Tropicana; 03-11-2013, 12:21 PM.
Dat is kina ah very broad brush yuh using, isn't it? Mi knew many youths (boys and girls) inna di ghetto whe noh look "rough and cruff". Matter of fact, som ah dem was heartbreakers, an very good looking.
they don't look like rough and cruff ghetto youth
Originally posted by j-kid View PostDat is kina ah very broad brush yuh using, isn't it? Mi knew many youths (boys and girls) inna di ghetto whe noh look "rough and cruff". Matter of fact, som ah dem was heartbreakers, an very good looking.
In one picture they look really innocent, in the other they look really rough and hard. That's all I'm saying.
Originally posted by j-kid View PostDat is kina ah very broad brush yuh using, isn't it? Mi knew many youths (boys and girls) inna di ghetto whe noh look "rough and cruff". Matter of fact, som ah dem was heartbreakers, an very good looking.
But as the poet put it...im was a Jamaican
"Dont judge ah man
by im patchy clothes...."
and
im look pan mi ole clothes
brown wid stain
soaked rit thru wid deh portlan rain
im cas im yeye
im tun up im nose
im sey
u r a beggar man I suppose....
It struck me that the disdain Bob had back in the 70#s now they all praise im.. it is identical to the sterotype of the young males in the urban sink communities just got...
As mi mada tell mi neva judge sumadi by dem clothes.....
This has nothing to do with disdain. Look...I am not a faker. I tell it as I see it. Sorry if I am not spouting the politically correct line.
As part of my work, I have been to a few of those communities like Jones Town, Hunt's Bay, Cassava Piece Bay, Majesty Pen, Decante Centre and that horrible place off Mountainview called Back a Bush. I felt very sorry for the children having to live like that. I am not judging anybody or putting anyone down... but, to me, the men looked VERY rough around the edges and I am not just talking about their clothes. Just how they carried themselves ....very rough indeed.
In the first picture of the Wailers, they didn't come across that way. They even look approachable here:
and they look friendly here:
but in the secondand in this one:
Probably is just the screwface demeanour.
I still like their music and I have liked it every since I first heard it.Last edited by Tropicana; 03-11-2013, 06:20 PM.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostListen, I really don't have your depth of experience wid dem ting deh. Just talking about images...that's all...not putting anybody down.
In one picture they look really innocent, in the other they look really rough and hard. That's all I'm saying.
Yu Si why mi haffi did draw up the divorce papers tho...
Love judge book by cover and gi di cover bad name...a render Yu garments and not Yu heart..smh
Originally posted by jah_yout View PostYu Si why mi haffi did draw up the divorce papers tho...
Love judge book by cover and gi di cover bad name...a render Yu garments and not Yu heart..smh
You're going to tell me Bob doesn't look rough and tough here.
Compared to:
Man is he every happy here with Cindi though...man they really loved each other:
Last edited by Tropicana; 03-11-2013, 07:03 PM.