Anyway, getting back to Carrot....I discovered a lot today that I did not know before. I always thought he was an uptown JC boy.
Third World
i think i read a paragraph from one of the pieces and when mi see seh is a chick that mostly live here contribute it, mi just close the page. I dunno where she get her sources from. she just cobble something together and them print it.
Originally posted by RichD View Postthe pieces were contributed...i would think that they are generally accurate but i would not be confident that they were complete and totally fact checked.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostWahalla does have a flair with words...got to hand it to him there.
Well all I am going to say is it is commonly known that Lisa Hannah is of Lebanese heritage and no one has ever referred to Carrot as coolie...but then RichD, we can always count on you for a revisionist approach to history.
No that is not commonly accepted... I assumed that she was of East Indian extraction..and have heard her refered to as" Dat pretty coolie gal weh married Pantan".. I also assumed that of Jarret was of similar extraction...
Now David Coore... there is a memory somewhere that he has a connection to Panama or Cuba. Born or parents had been there one parent . And spoke Spanish.... I know he married a lady from Dom Rep and died there
Originally posted by Wahalla View PostNo that is not commonly accepted... I assumed that she was of East Indian extraction..and have heard her refered to as" Dat pretty coolie gal weh married Pantan".. I also assumed that of Jarret was of similar extraction...
Now David Coore... there is a memory somewhere that he has a connection to Panama or Cuba. Born or parents had been there one parent . And spoke Spanish.... I know he married a lady from Dom Rep and died there
locality in Jamaica is very important.
If you hear Williams from sav they are very likely Indian..while williams from bull bay was chinese.
Mr foote who live near me was a brown man but the foote's at munro from sav were indian.
levy from mandeville was a black man but levy from kingston was near white.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
I wonder if it is the same lady who was the subject of the juicy gossip.Originally posted by Wahalla View PostNo that is not commonly accepted... I assumed that she was of East Indian extraction..and have heard her refered to as" Dat pretty coolie gal weh married Pantan".. I also assumed that of Jarret was of similar extraction...
Again I don't make those confusing distinctions that homegrown yardies seem to make. Once they are mixed with Black, they are Black as far as I am concerned.Originally posted by RichD View Postlocality in Jamaica is very important.
If you hear Williams from sav they are very likely Indian..while williams from bull bay was chinese.
Mr foote who live near me was a brown man but the foote's at munro from sav were indian.
levy from mandeville was a black man but levy from kingston was near white.
i left out a lot more as to why i didn't consider it up to par, but if yuh want to interpet it that way knock yuh self out
mi certainly never come in yah fi count cow
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostWhat an assumption. So you are saying that a Jamaican who lives overseas can't write accurate information? That is kind of insulting don't you think?
Williams from South ST E may be red... And another family Williams from ST E black..Originally posted by RichD View Postlocality in Jamaica is very important.
levy from mandeville was a black man but levy from kingston was near white.
To describe Hanna... I would have said deh coolie ooman...Not Lebanese....
To describe in order to identify the individuals in Third World to to another Jamaican for the first time.. (if there was such a person)
Bunny Ruggs deh black man
Cat Coore deh red skin or lite skin man
Jarret deh coolie man....
In Kanada u might just paint dem wid a single monochromatic brush , but that does not cover the Jamaica milieu. We have a more nuanced approach to human description. The world divided monochromatically is rather boring....
I beleive that this was a minor point that Franz Fannon raised in "Black Skin White heart"....
How foreign minded of youOriginally posted by Tropicana View PostAgain I don't make those confusing distinctions that homegrown yardies seem to make. Once they are mixed with Black, they are Black as far as I am concerned.
The default in Jamaica is black. When someone says someone is coolie it is the features that are being referred to. No one is taking away the black from them.
Dat being said, Carrot a coolie because he prominent east indian features. By the way there are indians who lock their hair (Tuff Gong has provided a picture over the years) and it look like carrot own back in the dayIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
i have a indian bredin from school who is a big locks man(well him is not jus a locks man him is rasta) ..him come from westOriginally posted by kia027 View PostBy the way there are indians who lock their hair (Tuff Gong has provided a picture over the years) and it look like carrot own back in the day
Last edited by RichD; 03-13-2013, 08:43 AM.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
I would concur with this it is a physical descriptor, not an ethnic identifior... the original Jamaican locksmen were Indian...Originally posted by kia027 View Post
The default in Jamaica is black. When someone says someone is coolie it is the features that are being referred to. No one is taking away the black from them.
Dat being said, Carrot a coolie because he prominent east indian features. By the way there are indians who lock their hair (Tuff Gong has provided a picture over the years) and it look like carrot own back in the day
Dat bredin wey RichD showed was one ah deh youth dem who was considered exceptional among the extraordinary... (bit like Rich D)Last edited by Wahalla; 03-13-2013, 09:16 AM.
No wonder Cat was so confused.