Originally posted by Tropicana
Third World
This has nothing to do with a discussion not going my way. Read my lips. I was not raised in Jamaica. I did not drink the Koolaid. I do not buy into Jamaican definitions of race. I think they are seriously flawed. I am not the only one who feels this way. At university in the USA, I remember the constant differences between Jamaicans and African Americans on this point. My POV is closer to the African American. You are not going to convince me otherwise.
There is no point in further debating the issue and I said quite early in the discussion that I was not interested in debating this yet again. End of story. Period. Pointe finale.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostThis has nothing to do with a discussion not going my way. Read my lips. I was not raised in Jamaica. I did not drink the Koolaid. I do not buy into Jamaican definitions of race. I think they are seriously flawed. I am not the only one who feels this way. At university in the USA, I remember the constant differences between Jamaicans and African Americans on this point. My POV is closer to the African American. You are not going to convince me otherwise.
There is no point in further debating the issue and I said quite early in the discussion that I was not interested in debating this yet again. End of story. Period. Pointe finale.
Hence the foreign minded view of race as opposed to the jamaican view. We are not here to convince you but to explain and share the Jamaican point of viewIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Funny that isnt it that now I have heard when classifying ethnicity in the great North there are multiple options to define ones ethnicity in the last Census...Which is strikingly similar tothe Jamaican aproach...Originally posted by kia027 View PostHence the foreign minded view of race as opposed to the jamaican view. We are not here to convince you but to explain and share the Jamaican point of view
Jamaicans as I have often opined are far more sophisticated and forward looking than yankis, both Far North and Far south... Even MLK saw Jamaican aproach as ideal.. one of the few things I agreed with him on
Originally posted by Wahalla View PostFunny that isnt it that now I have heard when classifying ethnicity in the great North there are multiple options to define ones ethnicity in the last Census...Which is strikingly similar tothe Jamaican aproach...
Jamaicans as I have often opined are far more sophisticated and forward looking than yankis, both Far North and Far south... Even MLK saw Jamaican aproach as ideal.. one of the few things I agreed with him on
and the US census and other documents recognize people are multiracial, multiethnic as well. Jamaicans just call u by how u look and not by what ur genetic mix is.. eg St Bess 'red', browning, chiney royal, coolie royal, smooth black, etcIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
so if yuh truly reject it what yuh a draw document to show dat Ms Hanna is Lebanese rather than jus call her a black woman?Originally posted by Tropicana View PostI am thoroughly familiar with the Jamaican POV re: race and I reject it. No need to explain it.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
HELLO...are you wearing a blonde wig or something?
NO where did I say she was Lebanese...I was speaking of some of her ancestry. Everyone knows that Black people in the diaspora have ancestors from many parts of the world. Because some of her ancestors are Lebanese does not make her any less Black. What it with onoo why you are so ashamed to be Black?
In Jamaica How else would u diefentiate between Bunny Ruggs and Carrot.. ? does the description make them less Jamaican.. then throw inot the mix Cat Coore..Originally posted by kia027 View Postand the US census and other documents recognize people are multiracial, multiethnic as well. Jamaicans just call u by how u look and not by what ur genetic mix is.. eg St Bess 'red', browning, chiney royal, coolie royal, smooth black, etc
in north america simply two black man may work for a police force who cannto distinguished between people with Melanin (what is obvious differences to me, though i am Jamaican, and an unsophisticatred one at that ).. hence leads to mistaken identity, murder and fit up...
Let's seeOriginally posted by Wahalla View PostIn Jamaica How else would u diefentiate between Bunny Ruggs and Carrot.. ?
Height, weight, hot or not
, hairstyle (one wore locks - yesterday was the first time I say a photo of Carrot without locks , the other had an Afro at one point), the instrument they play drums vs African drums vs guitar, even their stage personalities were different....one was always serious and kinda stiff Carrot was always smiling, moving around, very animated .....shall I go on?

Describing people in that way shows a need to distance oneself from one's African ancestry and that is a problematic aspect of the Jamaican psyche.Originally posted by Wahalla View Postdoes the description make them less Jamaican..Last edited by Tropicana; 03-13-2013, 12:58 PM.
Originally posted by RichD View Postso why yuh debating again?
2. My POV on this is not going to change. I see it differently and I am not interested in debating it.
“The measure of intelligence is the ability to change.”
― Albert Einstein
“Despite my firm convictions, I have been always a man who tries to face facts, and to accept the reality of life as new experience and new knowledge unfolds it. I have always kept an open mind, which is necessary to the flexibility that must go hand in hand with every form of intelligent search for truth.”
― Malcolm X,
[