I don't think I could EVER knock anyone for trying to go home and make a run of it.
At the same time, no one should shake their heads at peeps who are wary of doing so.
That is my point and that has been my point for years. I know I am going home crime or no crime. I have robbed, tortured, shot at, seen folks killed, long before I ever turned 21, so I know the score. Years ago on this board it was horrible trying to discuss rising crime in Jamaica.
And to the point of the thread's (rhetorical or not) title; the entire approach or premise is wrong.
No one should be worried about peeps returning home to settle - they should instead, be overall concerned and doing something about ...
....I don't think so the Journalist always get blamed, even when he or she does not write the headlines.
First off you have to id the problem.
Then there has to be a willingness to discuss the problem.
I think A and B has changed significantly, since years ago folks would not even admit that there is a problem.
Even in the story one interviewee was unwilling to give specifics.
One or more persons gave some advice to stay safe.
As to fixing the problem, that is why we elect Governments. If Jamaica and Jamaicans were willing to fix the problem in a fundamental way the current folks in Office would not be there. Let's pretend they are there and we still have this problem why are they not bombarded with petitions daily?
The MON advice is to, wait till 2017 when only 300+ per year will be killed? Is that good enough?
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAfter I wrote above I realize you might be questioning the GOJ sincerity, rather than criticizing the Journalist take on matter.
But the point on my comment stands. If there is zero pressure on the GOIJ then the status quo will remain.
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAfter I wrote above I realize you might be questioning the GOJ sincerity, rather than criticizing the Journalist take on matter.
But the point on my comment stands. If there is zero pressure on the GOIJ then the status quo will remain.
You went in the wrong direct with regard to what I was saying.
Stephen Batchelor, an 89-year-old returnee to gang-steeped Spanish Town, said former neighbors in the British city of Birmingham told him they are afraid to come back. They believe they will be targeted by criminals in Jamaica, where nearly everyone lives behind iron burglar bars installed on windows and doors.*
seet deh ...
Jamaica's shame right there...
Mis-leaders have been the biggest contributor...NOT poverty
You know, when I was a young man, my father had a nice piece of property in Mandiville. He decided he didn't want it any longer and he just gave it away to some of my mother's relatives living near by the place. He gave up on the idea of returning home and retiring there many years ago. At the time I thought he was crazy and I remember thinking that I would have loved to have that piece of property for my retirement. He never even discussed anything with me regarding that prospect. But with everything that goes on in Jamaica, I can see now that my father was right.
I use to think that even if my plans to live in Jamaica again were over and done with, I would love to find a place to rent for three months each year, once I retire. But honestly, these days I am just not feeling it. Maybe a two week stay every February would be about as much as i could stomach.
As for me and my reality, Jamaica mash up an mi done wid har!
Indirectly, this thread makes me think of something I saw some time ago ...
About 3 years back I went home and was driving from Runaway Bay into Ochie.
Coming out of St Ann's Bay, before you tunn up to go Steer Town on the right, I was shocked - SHOCKED - to look up and see a sign for an IRISH restaurant.
I think the name is "Irish Rover" or something like that.
I asked someone about it and was told it was opened by a fellow who came back home after many years in Ireland and opened it.
I cant even fully detail the things that went thru my head when I heard this - not the least of which was that this was the craziest idea or theme for an eatery in JA that I've ever heard of.
Anyway - I dont think it lasted 2 years.
Is it just me? Is an Irish Themed Eatery the best concept business to open in JA?
Yes but Rich - to me, is like 2 different things all together : an English place and an Irish place.
When I looked at the original menu - is peer traditional Irish nyaamins dem did av. Dat nah werk! Nuhbaddie nuh wha nyaam nuh "coddle" ar "Irish Stew".
Seems them figga dat out, den dem mix it up with traditional Irish food an more heavy with Jamaican food.
By then, maybe it was too late.
Either way, an Irish Theme is way too novelty, imho.
Yes but Rich - to me, is like 2 different things all together : an English place and an Irish place.
When I looked at the original menu - is peer traditional Irish nyaamins dem did av. Dat nah werk! Nuhbaddie nuh wha nyaam nuh "coddle" ar "Irish Stew".
Seems them figga dat out, den dem mix it up with traditional Irish food an more heavy with Jamaican food.
By then, maybe it was too late.
Either way, an Irish Theme is way too novelty, imho.
seem to me a bigger problem him did have was location.
wonder what he thought his target crowd was.
how much passer by traffic could he have expected
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.