Yes, I will give you a break, because it is apparent dat you hav had ah privileged life growing up, soh don't lecture me on how I should react!
Read my lips. My parents were from humble beginnings (one of my grandmother's didn't even have electricity until the 70s and I still remember visiting her when I was 5. There was an outhouse, chickens in the yard, oil lamps at night. I still remember the jugs and wash basins as there was no indoor plumbing. So don't make assumptions. )
My parents worked their tails off so that there kids could have a better life. It wasn't easy the first few years in this country. I remember when we all lived in one room. By the time I was in kindergarten, things had started to change and they got a lot better after that.
I am sorry you had to go through that. I realize that it wasn't easy but there is no need to jump down people's throat. It was the responsibility of your parents to provide better for you and for the society (Jamaican) to create an environment that would allow them to do that.
...and have experienced what you obviously can only theorize about, and know absolutely nothing about first hand.
I have never lived in the ghetto but I did work with families from a lot of the bad areas in Kingston. I have seen the conditions first hand and the impact on the children. Again don't make assumption.
Wid dat warped sense ah reasoning, yuh probably also think being called Neagga ooman, or man is ah reasonable thing befitting di condition that said people have to survive in?
When have I EVER used language like that to refer to ANYBODY....you are making some bold assumptions sir.
I am sorry that you had a hard time growing up...wish it had been better but don't take it out on me. I am not the one that created the horrible conditions to which you were subjected.
Not that is any of your flippin business, as you well know, I was raised in Canada, not Jamaica/ I spent the first couple of years in the country and no it was not a mansion. Cousins live there now and it isn't even nice now. The rest of my life was spent mostly in Canada. See my comment to j-kid re: how we lived the first few years in Canada. By the time I went to kindergarten, things had improved.
Leaders of Jamaica's security forces have said their men came under heavy fire from inside the slum, but residents dispute that and very few weapons were recovered.
...and this is where the rubber meets the road.
The police say the corpses of 73 civilians were recovered in West Kingston. But former Prime Minister Edward Seaga, who built the Tivoli Gardens complex in the 1960s and is still revered by residents of the politicized slum, has estimated that as many as 150 people were killed. Three members of security forces were killed during the unrest.
These numbers kind of speak for themselves. This is a huge disconnect.
[QUOTE=Tropicana;694435][QUOTE=blugiant;694412]so yuh doan tink dem usinn slum fe modifry dwellers.
J-kid objected to the word slum. He said nothing about the use of the noun slum as a modifier.
If you found the term offensive, you would not have started a discussion with that title.
No I missed that part of the article please point it out to me.
Tell me something I don't know.
Not that is any of your flippin business, as you well know, I was raised in Canada, not Jamaica/ I spent the first couple of years in the country and no it was not a mansion. Cousins live there now and it isn't even nice now. The rest of my life was spent mostly in Canada. See my comment to j-kid re: how we lived the first few years in Canada. By the time I went to kindergarten, things had improved.
tropi itt wass cah de headline was affensive dat y mii tarted diss tredd widd dat title although mii shood ave used quotations
imagine dat headline ann beneath itt wass blakk residents aff tivoli protestinn
so iff dem nuh spell itt out implicitlee yuh cyaan see da implication. da tivoli residents protest wass bout mobilizinn public support butt da term slum dwellers dat being used iss oww de media try fe diminished tivoli resident argument bye implieinn dat moas peeps doan support itt
juss wass askinn cah mii wass wandarinn iff yu a uptown ooman.
[/COLOR]
...and this is where the rubber meets the road.
These numbers kind of speak for themselves. This is a huge disconnect.
itt natt simplee bout da number ann da arguments tivoli residents raisinn. itt bout oww da media framinn da issue fe create da climate fe dissmiss itt.
tink pon diss inn merikka freedom aff press wass natt bout creatinn a fair ann objective press. itt wass designed fe protect da rite aff de press natt to be abjective ann fair. itt acknowledge media bias ann da qwestion mii raisinn iss oww oyinbo bias inn oyinbo media frame da message
oww de media framinn da tivoli issue usinn a classist ann racist argument fe denegrate dose protestinn tivoli residents as slum dweller limit dem abilitee fe garner support inn ja ann farreen
tropi itt wass cah de headline was affensive dat y mii tarted diss tredd widd dat title although mii shood ave used quotations
Nice try. You are a man who says what he means and means what he says. If you had concerns about the headline, you would have addressed it in your opening post. You made absolutely no mention of that even though you posted 3 times before J-kid's comment.
Now that you have been called out you a twist your mouth all kind a way fe claim seh YOU had concerns about the headline.
so iff dem nuh spell itt out implicitlee yuh cyaan see da implication. da tivoli residents protest wass bout mobilizinn public support butt da term slum dwellers dat being used iss oww de media try fe diminished tivoli resident argument bye implieinn dat moas peeps doan support itt
Man you good you know. You see conspiracies everywhere. The whole purpose of the article was to point out that there have been injustices and nothing is being done about it.
juss wass askinn cah mii wass wandarinn iff yu a uptown ooman.
Fi de las' time....mi great grandma was a higglah who lived way up in the hills a country weh even today dem noh ave no good roads. She used to carry ar goods pon her donkey to market in Kingston. Mi granny was a dressmakah. Mi granfaddah was bawn back a bush a Clarendon way up inna de hill weh dem no ave no good roads even today. A pure bedrock fe go weh im did bawn.
Any more questions about my pedigree?
De way you gwan I take it you were raised in the ghetto too?
nuttinn wrang widd dissagreeinn sintinn wrang widd being dissagreeable
Now just who is being disagreeable here? J-Kid hurled dirt my way because I told him he was being hyper-sensitive, Jah_yout followed by putting me down and telling me to stick to talking about blondes....I was doing deep topics LONG before he even set foot on this discussion board. I told him to shut up .... though a much stronger pair of words would have been appropriat. Walhalla insulted me, clearly paying no attention to who was the first person to fling mud. Shows how objective he is.
You are prying into my bizniz to determine if I am worthy of expressing an opinion on this topic. So if someone comes in here who was born and raised in Mona Heights or Billy Dunn are you going to give them the 3rd degree and tell them they have no right to express an opinion?
I notice that while you asked me a number of personal questions about MY background you did not answer mine about yours. Wh'appen, you shamed of where you and you people come from?
Nice try. You are a man who says what he means and means what he says. If you had concerns about the headline, you would have addressed it in your opening post. You made absolutely no mention of that even though you posted 3 times before J-kid's comment.
Now that you have been called out you a twist your mouth all kind a way fe claim seh YOU had concerns about the headline.
Okay....
Man you good you know. You see conspiracies everywhere. The whole purpose of the article was to point out that there have been injustices and nothing is being done about it.
Fi de las' time....mi great grandma was a higglah who lived way up in the hills a country weh even today dem noh ave no good roads. She used to carry ar goods pon her donkey to market in Kingston. Mi granny was a dressmakah. Mi granfaddah was bawn back a bush a Clarendon way up inna de hill weh dem no ave no good roads even today. A pure bedrock fe go weh im did bawn.
Any more questions about my pedigree?
De way you gwan I take it you were raised in the ghetto too?
sum aff mii peeps came fram clarendon. wandar iff dem were related
peeps wood sey mii wass raised inn da ghetto.
go bakk ann read sum aff de camment mii poas beefour jkid ann yuh will see mii tarted fe raise qwestian bout slum dwellers
tropi da purpose aff da artikkle ann da purpose aff da protestinn peeps iss diffarant. da protestinn tivoli residents were seekinn support fe an international inquiry inna da tivoli massacre ann da protestinn wass bout tryinn fe persude addar peeps fe push dem cases fe justice. da oyinbo media negative coverage wass bout dismiss da protest *** da ting aff slum dwellers woo lack pblic support. itt raises qwestian bout media bias ann oww de issue iss frame. do yuh tink itt will gitt traction iff oyinbo media negative ann cynikkkal interpretation aff turn peeps against itt
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.