Jah Yute set ya Black Histree munt ting...MUTA seh...
i don't know where muta's going with this one...i still think black history month is an american thing that should not be relevant in jamaica which is a majority african-descended nation;
the US is an african-descended minority nation...different circumstances...
i still also think christmas and valentines day& mother's day & halloween & all the other pagan holidays adopted from america are folly for jamaica to celebrate...
joke ting muta a deal wid when he suggests that we should celebrate that american holiday because we celebrate others too...
i don't celebrate ANY of them nor chant "out of many one people"...
he's still viewing himself through the prism of white supremacy when he makes that argument...
african history should be emphasized year-round in an african-peopled nation...
and his "chinese" history month analogy misses because a better analogy would be to call it "yellow history month"
Then why don't they call themselves Black?Originally posted by jah_yout View Posti don't know where muta's going with this one...i still think black history month is an american thing that should not be relevant in jamaica which is a majority african-descended nation;
Oh no not you too.Originally posted by jah_yout View Postthe US is an african-descended minority nation...different circumstances...
i still also think christmas and valentines day& mother's day & halloween & all the other pagan holidays adopted from america are folly for jamaica to celebrate...
Originally posted by jah_yout View Postjoke ting muta a deal wid when he suggests that we should celebrate that american holiday because we celebrate others too...
i don't celebrate ANY of them nor chant "out of many one people"...
he's still viewing himself through the prism of white supremacy when he makes that argument...
Agree.Originally posted by jah_yout View Post
african history should be emphasized year-round in an african-peopled nation...
Originally posted by jah_yout View Postand his "chinese" history month analogy misses because a better analogy would be to call it "yellow history month"
neva figgit mii read teacher inn ja made uss memorized mlk i ave a dream speech butt itt onlee wen mii came to merikkka mii learned bout da bounce check part aff da same speechOriginally posted by Emperah View Postbut Jah Yute nuh seh nuttin different from wah Muta seh inna de piece up deh suh
de school dem nah teach de yute dem any black history (african history) nuff a dem nuh even kno nuttin bout Marcus Garvey
yuh reallee tink dem cood teach garvey philosophy to jamaica yuths inn jamaica. mii wander iff dem wood teach de yuths y garvey died poor aftah ja guv gave imm papers ann ting to wan oyinbo
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostI realize that but my point is that Jamaica still has a lot of work to do in terms of Black consciousness and Black pride.
look pon jam.com mismangement team, pon da varandah dealt widd blakk ann jamaican kulcha. pon da spotlite use fe ave interestinn take pon certain jamaica. dat y jam.com mismanagement team decided fe merge itt widd coodeh fe do away widd da cultural ann historical section