Should Nurses be paid more than Doctors?
Originally posted by j-kid View PostNope! Yuh will put more patients lives at risk!
I just finished my three day EMT recertification, and the writing is on the wall. Many things have changed since the last three years of recertification. Of course, I'm speaking for those of us that live in the US.
Originally posted by lonewolf View PostObama care will do just that. More and more responsibilty is being put not only on the nurses, but on the first responders. (Paramedics, EMT's etc) Those of us in the field are now administering medications and doing procedures in the back of Medic units that was once left to Doctors in the emergency room. It's all about cost saving for the insurance companies.
I just finished my three day EMT recertification, and the writing is on the wall. Many things have changed since the last three years of recertification. Of course, I'm speaking for those of us that live in the US.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Originally posted by lonewolf View PostYa know Rich, it is what it is...just hope ALL of them (Dems and Repugs) in Washington, don't reduce the country to ashes before people wake the hell up and get rid of them.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Originally posted by RichD View Postis there an alternative? system has run out of time ut there is no willingness to actually change it
Things can change if people are willing to bite the bullet...In the mean time we are all just sliding down the old rusty razor blade of life.
Originally posted by j-kid View PostNope! Yuh will put more patients lives at risk!
Originally posted by lonewolf View PostObama care will do just that. More and more responsibilty is being put not only on the nurses, but on the first responders. (Paramedics, EMT's etc) Those of us in the field are now administering medications and doing procedures in the back of Medic units that was once left to Doctors in the emergency room. It's all about cost saving for the insurance companies.
I just finished my three day EMT recertification, and the writing is on the wall. Many things have changed since the last three years of recertification. Of course, I'm speaking for those of us that live in the US.
Once nurses and other allied health professionals do, in fact, have just as much education - and equivalent advanced degrees - as doctors, will they then earn as much money as doctors? Should they?
I know nurses now who earn more than some doctors - and should because they are worth more than, say, a resident. One of my neighbors is an R.N. who's been a nurse for some 30 years, and she has always added additional training as it has become available to her so she could make herself a better/more valuable nurse. She holds two Doctoral degrees. She is currently the Director of Nursing at a large teaching hospital (here, in the Newark NJ area). She earns more than some of the younger doctors on staff at that hospital - as she should, because she is worth more to the hospital than some of its doctors are.
I suspect that the article hotlinked above was referring to regular hospital nurses, and they generally should be paid less than regular doctors who are past their residency, who have much more education and overall responsibility regarding patient welfare than do the regular nurses.
Originally posted by lonewolf View PostThose of us in the field are now administering medications and doing procedures in the back of Medic units that was once left to Doctors in the emergency room. It's all about cost saving for the insurance companies..
but carry on.