I am following the news about the alleged suspects in the Boston bombing and that they are from Russia's North Caucasus area. It reminded me of a conversation I had with a Germany friend over 10 years ago her in the US. She said she had difficulty picking a race in the USA. She joked that it felt strange for them to check off Caucasian on a form or say it to anyone because she was not. She said Caucasian are from Caucasus in Russia. It is a nationality not a race was her point.
Who are the real Caucasians ?
Tags: None
mi friend soon come in yah come bruk dung the caucasus argument for you.
in the meantime if my fellow "white" americans want to claim themselves as caucasus people, they can go right ahead
I haven't seen caucasion on many forms over the past3-5 years though. one job application i ran into yesterday was probably the most detailed race classification I had seen. I think it had every possible permutation and combination. dwl.
Xavier, take note of the first name (Dzhokhar) of the 19 yr old terrorist on the run...andOriginally posted by Xavier View PostI am following the news about the alleged suspects in the Boston bombing and that they are from Russia's North Caucasus area. It reminded me of a conversation I had with a Germany friend over 10 years ago her in the US. She said she had difficulty picking a race in the USA. She joked that it felt strange for them to check off Caucasian on a form or say it to anyone because she was not. She said Caucasian are from Caucasus in Russia. It is a nationality not a race was her point.
The main Chechen rebel leader during the first war, Dzhokhar Dudayev...interesting coincidence?
[SUMMER 2005 • VOLUME XII: NUMBER 3
Related Articles
How Chechnya Became a Breeding Ground for Terror
by Lorenzo Vidino
Middle East Quarterly
Summer 2005, pp. 57-66
On September 1, 2004, a group of Chechen terrorists took hostage and two days later murdered at least 335 schoolchildren and parents in Beslan, a town in the Russian republic of North Ossetia. The atrocity focused world attention on Chechnya. The Russian government used the event to reiterate its arguments that Chechen terrorists and foreign jihadists supporting them have ideological, financial, and operational ties with Islamist terrorist organizations such as Al-Qaeda.[1] Although President Vladimir Putin and top Russian security officials provided evidence of links between Chechen fighters and Al-Qaeda, European politicians and mainstream Western journalists focused instead upon the Russian army's brutality and dismissed Putin's claims as an attempt to gain sympathy in the West and deflect criticism of Russia's handling of a nationalist insurgency.
Putin may have been opportunistic, but he was also correct. A close examination of the evolution of the Chechen movement indicates that Islamists and followers of Al-Qaeda have increasingly sought to co-opt the Chechen movement as their own.
Al-Qaeda Adopts the Chechen Cause
Foreign fighters did not have a significant presence in the first Chechen war, which started soon after the 1991 collapse of the Soviet Union and ended with the November 1996 Russian retreat and the creation of an autonomous Chechen government led by the late Aslan Maskhadov.[2] The main Chechen rebel leader during the first war, Dzhokhar Dudayev, had a generally secular nationalist outlook. According to Alexander Iskanderyan, director of the Center for Caucasian Studies in Moscow, "the Chechen independence movement had no Islamic dimension at all."[3] But when the conflict began to attract media coverage, Islamic jihadis migrated to Chechnya.
Over the last decade, Islamist terrorists have co-opted the Chechen cause as part of a global jihad. Umar Ibn al-Khattab, a Saudi native who became the leader of the foreign mujahideen in Chechnya, said, "This case is not just a Chechen matter but an Islamic matter, like Afghanistan."[4]
Al-Qaeda's involvement in Chechnya has grown steadily. Drawn by media reports of the Chechen conflict, Ibn al-Khattab and a few aides joined the jihad in the Caucasus in 1995. The same year saw the death of Muhammad Zaki, an American who traveled to Chechnya for the same reason.[5] With expertise developed in Afghanistan during the 1980s and honed in Tajikistan early the following decade, Ibn al-Khattab made a qualitative contribution to the fight against the Russians. By the summer of 1996, Ibn al-Khattab and his band were involved in the fighting that culminated in the capture of the Chechen capital of Grozny.[6]
Chechen commanders perceived the foreign jihadists in different ways. Maskhadov, for example, hailed the contribution of "mujahideen from many Islamic states [who] fought by our side. They took up arms and defended our people … These mujahideen were a great help and support to us."[7] Other Chechen leaders felt that the presence of the Afghan Arabs would become a problem: "We do not need them, they will give us a lot of trouble—but we won't be able to stop them," one said.[8]
Russian checkpoints, brutal winters, and the inability of most of the mujahideen to speak even basic Russian diverted many jihadists away from the Caucasus. In 1997, Khalid Sheikh Muhammad, mastermind of the 9-11 attacks on New York and Washington, attempted to join Ibn al-Khattab in Chechnya but was unable to traverse Azerbaijan.[9] Other 9-11 hijackers had also considered making Chechnya their destination. According to planner Ramzi Binalshibh, only a "chance meeting" on a train in Germany with a high-ranking Al-Qaeda operative caused 9-11 hijackers Muhammad Atta, Marwan al-Shehhi, Ziad Jarrah, and Binalshibh to travel to Afghanistan for training instead.[10]
maybe Dzhokhar is like John in Chechenya.Originally posted by lonewolf View PostXavier, take note of the first name (Dzhokhar) of the 19 yr old terrorist on the run...and
The main Chechen rebel leader during the first war, Dzhokhar Dudayev...interesting coincidence?
Yep, could be a very common name. I thought it to be interesting just the same...and we don't know of what their grievance was or why they would commit such atrocities. I would be surprised if there is not a link directly or indirectly to a Chechenya or Moslum cause.Originally posted by RichD View Postmaybe Dzhokhar is like John in Chechenya.
i suspect they will try to make that link but in my view these guys sound like wannabe's like guys trying to make their bones to get into the gang.Originally posted by lonewolf View PostYep, could be a very common name. I thought it to be interesting just the same...and we don't know of what their grievance was or why they would commit such atrocities. I would be surprised if there is not a link directly or indirectly to a Chechenya or Moslum cause.
The phrase of the day is "Self Radicalization"When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
the older brother have some kinda islamic prophecy sinting post up pan him utube channel
yuh know. the usual ramblings in the name of "religion"
a cross between the rapture and heaven's gate it sounds like
the human mind is truly fascinating. I say that based on them seemingly "normal" life, and how it all went downhill.
from 1 in med school and the other wanting to be on the US olympic team to some nutjob philosophical fawt to (allegedly) suicide vests
\0/ wth
Originally posted by Xavier View PostI am following the news about the alleged suspects in the Boston bombing and that they are from Russia's North Caucasus area. It reminded me of a conversation I had with a Germany friend over 10 years ago her in the US. She said she had difficulty picking a race in the USA. She joked that it felt strange for them to check off Caucasian on a form or say it to anyone because she was not. She said Caucasian are from Caucasus in Russia. It is a nationality not a race was her point.
i have been saying for years in this forum and out of it--- that the word CAUCASIAN is the biggest trick ever foisted on the minds of humanity...
it is a device by white supremacist world religion to confuse the minds of humanity and to multiply the global "white" population by around a billion or more people by classifying them into the "caucasian" fold...pure tricks--
the word, although the most popular term for so-called whites today, is completely meaningless;
the "white race" did not originate in the caucasus region...nor any of the other people that american tricknologists have labeled "caucasian"-- like arabs, ethiopians, somalis, indians, pakistanis, some latinos;
mind-games
Hmm...me thinks you are reading too much into this. Please, tell me where all the conspiracy theories on race and religion originated? Why is it that all the white people I know don't know of this evil plot to multiply the white race by billions and...what are we supposed to do after mulitplying?Originally posted by jah_yout View Posti have been saying for years in this forum and out of it--- that the word CAUCASIAN is the biggest trick ever foisted on the minds of humanity...
it is a device by white supremacist world religion to confuse the minds of humanity and to multiply the global "white" population by around a billion or more people by classifying them into the "caucasian" fold...pure tricks--
the word, although the most popular term for so-called whites today, is completely meaningless;
the "white race" did not originate in the caucasus region...nor any of the other people that american tricknologists have labeled "caucasian"-- like arabs, ethiopians, somalis, indians, pakistanis, some latinos;
mind-games
Jah, I think the trick has been played on you. There are people out there trying to divide the races by color and religion or any means possible to spread hate, discontent and chaos.
I classify people in two ways. There are the rich ruling elite that rule the world, and than there is everyone else.
And either way the terrorists, Al Qaeda or some other group these two were influenced by, wins.Originally posted by RichD View Posti suspect they will try to make that link but in my view these guys sound like wannabe's like guys trying to make their bones to get into the gang.
The phrase of the day is "Self Radicalization"
Why is it that bomb building manuals by US enemies are allowed to be published in the US under freedom of speech, but the right to own firearms by law abiding citizens is under attack?
We in the US are our own worst enemies. WE welcome foreigners into this country, educate them, give them the perks that US citizens have access to... Only to have them attack and murder us...
Al Qaeda magazine on pressure cookers: 'Make a bomb in the kitchen of your mom' Washington Times - 3 days ago - 62815 related articles »
Homemade bombs built from pressure cookers, a version of which was used in the Boston Marathon bombings, have been a frequent weapon of militants in Afghanistan, ... Al-Qaida's branch in Yemen once published an online manual on ... released on Islamic militant web sites in March, according to SITE
Lornewof:
Seriously, I do not understand where your hatred for immigrants comes from.
Yes, there are a FEW cases of immigrants behaving badly and bringing baggage to their newly adopted country that they should have left in the land they came from. However, the VAST MAJORITY of the immigrants that come to the USA are law abiding folks who pay taxes to help build schools, hospitals and also pay for your very own social security when you are eligible to start collecting it. MOST of these immigrants just want to live a peaceful life, raise a family and try and provide a better life for their kids. Chances are, when you are an old man and you end up in a nursing home it will be an immigrant who will be wiping your rear end because those jobs are considered too nasty for so called "Americans".
Unless you are a Native American, you are in some way an immigrant, or perhaps a byproduct of immigration, so why should everyone not have the same opportunity as yourself?
[QUOTE=My Looh;697929]Lornewof:
Seriously, I do not understand where your hatred for immigrants comes from.
Yes, there are a FEW cases of immigrants behaving badly and bringing baggage to their newly adopted country that they should have left in the land they came from. However, the VAST MAJORITY of the immigrants that come to the USA are law abiding folks who pay taxes to help build schools, hospitals and also pay for your very own social security when you are eligible to start collecting it. MOST of these immigrants just want to live a peaceful life, raise a family and try and provide a better life for their kids. Chances are, when you are an old man and you end up in a nursing home it will be an immigrant who will be wiping your rear end because those jobs are considered too nasty for so called "Americans".
First, I don't hate immigrants. How dare you make such an accusation. I welcome all immigrants that LEGALLY come iinto this country and ACTUALLY WANT TO BE AMERCANS. I don't want and I don't like those that arrive here to use this country for their own selfish reasons and not assimilate. IMMIGRATION SHOULD BE STOPPED AND THE SYSTEM REVAMPED. I'm not saying to stop immigration permanently, it's broken and it needs to be fixed.
...and for your information I'm not eligible for Social Security. And most nursing homes should be closed down because they are nothing but warehouses for the elderly. They are sheetholes...unless you have the abilty to pay $65,000 US dollars a year, your going to live and be treated like crap when you are old. Nursing homes are a pet peeve of mine so don't get me started.
Native is a relative term. What person is actually native to anywhere? How do you know that Indians did not arrive in America by some other meens? Did not all human life originate in Africa?Unless you are a Native American, you are in some way an immigrant, or perhaps a byproduct of immigration, so why should everyone not have the same opportunity as yourself?
So, that said, you point is worthless.
Countries make borders and people make countries.