A Florida woman accidentally shot her friend in the leg while waiting in line at a Starbucks on Saturday.Police say Pamela Beck and Amie Peterson were getting coffee at the Tyrone Square Mall in St. Petersburg when Beck moved to set her bags down in order to pay for her drink.Her purse "hit the ground hard," St. Petersburg Police spokesman Mike Puetz told The Huffington Post, and a fully loaded .25 caliber semi-automatic handgun that was in the bottom of the handbag fired, striking Peterson above the knee.Beck told investigators that her father had given her the gun about a year ago, and she hadn't intended to bring it out in public. "She had forgotten about it," Puetz said.Beck does not have a concealed carry weapons permit, according to police, and the case has been referred to prosecutors.Peterson was treated and released at a nearby trauma center. Other victims of recent accidental shootings have not been so fortunate: this month a three-year-old boy in Tampa fatally shot himself after finding his uncle's gun in a bedroom, a 2-year-old Kentucky girl died after being accidentally shot by her brother, and a six-year-old girl was critically wounded outside Fort Lauderdale after her brother found a handgun.Strangely, the incident isn't the first time a gun has fired from inside a woman's purse at Starbucks. The Associated Press reported a 2011 incident in which an underaged girl, encouraged to carry a gun by her father, was cited after it fired inside her purse and narrowly missed customers.Recent figures from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention show almost seven people are wounded by gunfire every 60 minutes in the U.S.
Florida- The Gunshine State
An 11-year-old Florida boy has died after being shot by a four-year-old relative on Mother's Day at a Lake City apartment complex, according to a Department of Children and Families spokesperson.Jarvan Jackson died Tuesday at Shands Hospital in Gainesville.According to neighbors interviewed by Action News, there were six children and at least one adult in the apartment at the time of the shooting on Sunday.The victim's grandmother told First Coast News that the four-year-old and a two-year-old were playing with the gun and Jackson was trying to get it away from them when he was accidentally shot in the neck."The children were covered in blood," the 911 caller told Action News. "I went inside the house because I heard all the kids screaming and the little boy was laying on his back, covered up."DCF's John Harrell told HuffPost Miami that the four-year-old sustained an injury during the shooting but it was not life threatening.Lake City Police have ruled the shooting an accident and are investigating how the four-year-old got access to gun, reports the Gainesville Sun.
Florida has had a string of violent accidental shootings involving children in the last few weeks.A three-year-old Tampa boy fatally shot himself after finding his uncle's gun in a backpack last week.The week before, a six-year-old girl was shot in her chest, right above her heart, by her 13-year-old brother. She is expected to recover.In Florida, nicknamed the Gunshine State, the legislature passed just one of 12 gun control bills filed this year, restricting the sale of firearms to buyers who have had voluntary committed themselves for mental illness treatment.Passionate gun enthusiasts have since flooded Governor Rick Scott's inbox with pleas to veto the bill.If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Originally posted by blugiant View Postrealitee iss dat ole peeps feel safer wen dem arm.
so kia y yuh neva poas artikkle wey ole peeps shoot peeps woo wass ar wass tryinn fe rob dem.If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Originally posted by blugiant View Postrealitee iss dat ole peeps feel safer wen dem arm.
.PORT ST. LUCIE, Fla. -- A teenager is recovering after police say he shot himself in the penis and testicle while cleaning a gun he just bought.
It happened Thursday morning at a home on the 200 block of Verada Street in Port St. Lucie.
Police say 18-year-old Michael Smeriglio first lied to police saying someone shot him while he was walking down the street. After being questioned by police he admitted to accidentally doing it himself.
Doctors say the bullet went through his penis, his left testicle and then lodged itself in his thigh.
Smeriglio told police he bought the gun last month at a party.
While police were investigating at the home where it happened, they discovered marijuana in the house. That led to the arrest of the homeowner Joseph Lamar James, 22, on drug charges.
http://www.11alive.com/News/Odd/2563...artsharetop%22If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
so kia y yuh neva poas artikkle wey ole peeps shoot peeps woo wass ar wass tryinn fe rob dem.
Posting only one part of the story is as good as posting a lie.
Originally posted by lonewolf View PostBlu, of course you are correct. But why should Kia post a balanced report of gun ownership, when her objective and agenda is simply to force a one sided anti gun opinion down people's throats.
Posting only one part of the story is as good as posting a lie.If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Originally posted by kia027 View PostFlorida has had a string of violent accidental shootings involving children in the last few weeks
An accident is an accident and violence is not an accident, so which one is it?
And let's put things into perspective, since this topic seems to have the usual play on the readers sympathy with 'children' being the main focus and victim of firearms.
Statistics: 50% More children drown than die from firearms. (stats always get in the way of a good story)
So, why don't we outlaw swimming pools and bath tubs? The end result is still a dead child whether a child dies from an accidental shooting or an accidental drowning.
There are plenty of pools in Florida, I know because I just returned from the beautiful state of Florida.
Outlawing stupidity and the inability to parent one's children will save children's lives.
Not feel good liberal nonsense laws that step on the rights of law abiding citizens and ADULTS THAT ARE ABLE TO PARENT THEIR CHILDREN CORRECTLY.
Originally posted by kia027 View PostActually my point was to show how some floridians are with guns. I guess with you the mark was missed