Africa Liberation Day - It's a worldwide ting May 25 2K13
971394_10152802264895371_1703764052_n.jpg
Post any events in your area.
We will have a celebration this Saturday on the Journey www.chrwradio.ca & www.chrwradio.com/listen & http://tunein.com/radio/CHRW-949-s24757/
94.9FM 8-10PMLast edited by Emperah; 05-23-2013, 08:43 AM.
African Liberation Day 2013
Toronto, Canada ALD Celebration
The A-APRP is pleased to announce that we will be commemorating the 53rd anniversary of African Liberation Day (ALD) on Saturday, May 21st from 2:00pm to 7:00pm at the following location:
Lawrence Heights Community Centre (Nearest Subway is Lawrence West)
5 Replin Road,
Toronto, ON
This ALD commemoration will feature our keynote speaker brotha Shabaka a long-time member of the A-APRP, activist and artist. ALD will also feature the following:
- Drum Call
- Libation
- African cultural stalls
- Dynamic cultural performances
- Solidarity messages
- Sweet mout' food
- Tributes to African warriors
- Outreach/calls to join an African organization
- and Nuff, Nuff postive vibz!!
For more information contact:
Sista Thandiwe Chimurenga
Organizer for the A-APRP
Event DetailsSaturday, 21 May 2011 - 2:00pm - 7:00pm
Lawrence Heights Community Centre5 Replin Road Closet subway is Lawrence West
Toronto, ONLast edited by Tropicana; 05-24-2013, 11:17 PM.
At least three events are planned for between tomorrow and Saturday in celebration of the 50th African Liberation Day. All three events feature stage shows and will see Jamaicans celebrating freedom through music.
African Liberation Day has its roots in 1958, when Ghanian leader Dr Kwame Nkrumah convened the First Conference of Independent States in the Ghanian capital, Accra. April 15 was named African Freedom Day, as the formal decolonisation process gained momentum across Africa. When the Organisation of African Unity was formed in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, on May 25, African Liberation Day was declared on that date.
Full stage shows rare
Compared to the regularity of former years full-scale stage shows are now a rarity in Jamaica, with Reggae Sumfest, Rebel Salute and Western Consciousness three of the few calendar events remaining. However, all the celebratory events incorporate the stage show format.
US-based reggae artiste Eljai is in high spirits for the African Liberation Day celebrations. He speaks highly of called Flavors Fest, to be held in Central Village, Spanish Town, St Catherine, tomorrow.
"Flavors Fest is a culturally rich event. When you talk about Africans you talk about a rich cultural heritage. So this event will, no doubt, bring about that element of our past to life. I have some strong songs with rich material to unveil to the people and trust me, who never enlightened are going to be," Eljai said.
Eljai is currently signed to Jah Mix Entertainment and is expected to debut his single For You at Flavors Fest. Other notable acts booked to perform include Tarrus Riley, Romain Virgo, Duane Stephenson and George Nooks.
On Saturday, May 25, a collaborative event between the University of Technology, Jamaica, (UTech) and the University of the West Indies (UWI), Mona, called the African Liberation Day Cultural Programme is mid-way three days of celebrations. It will be hosted in UTech's Sculpture Park from 10 a.m.-6 p.m.
The Saturday celebration will feature African drumming and Mutabaruka playing recorded music, with performances by Warrior King, Mikey General, The Informative History Man, Ras Takura, Scrathylus, Mau Mau Warriors, Kshema Francis, Nature, Keke I, Jah Bouks, LSX, Steppa, Simji, Exile Di Brave, Empress Italafiyah and Princess Love.
Not all music
But it will not be all music, as there will be two panel discussions on the day as well. 'Developing African-Centred Consciousness as a Means for Community Empowerment and Development in Jamaica' will feature Dr Kadamawe K'nife, Dr Clinton Hutton, Dr Jahlani Niaah and Dr Copeland Stupart.
The other panel session, 'Reflecting on the Pan-Africanist Movement of the Sixties to Chart a Path Forward in the 21st Century' will feature Willie Ricks and Dr Allister Hinds, among others.
Preceding that, on Friday, May 24, a symoposium entitled 'Pan-Africanism or Perish' will be held from 6 p.m. to 9 p.m. at the Neville Hall Lecture Theatre (N1), UWI. The slated speakers are Mutabaruka, Ras Miguel Lorne, Reverend Majorie Lewis, Minister Clive Muhammad, and Willie Ricks (Baba Mukasa).
The celebrations return to the Neville Hall Lecture Theatre on Sunday, May 26, for a film screening session from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. Documentaries on Dudley Thompson, Peter Abrahams and Fela Kuti, among others, will be shown.
"This is basically a three-day event and there is something in it for everybody. We have an open symposium on Friday and we will deliver some cultured music on Saturday at UTech. Then on Sunday we have a film festival at N1, UWI. It's basically a three-day festival," Dr Michael Barnett of UWI, who is organising the celebration, told The Gleaner. He will chair Friday's symposium.
In a prior release, Barnett noted the significance of the celebration. "Ever since the formation of the OAU in 1963, African Liberation Day has become a much celebrated date on the calendar for Pan-African organisations and Pan-Africanists on the continent and in the African Diaspora. So far as African Diaspora communities are concerned, it has long been celebrated in the United States and in Jamaica," Barnett said.
"Various community organisations have hosted African Liberation Day since the 1970s in Jamaica, and UWI has the distinction of hosting one such event in 2012. This year being the 50th anniversary of African Liberation Day offers a great opportunity, in my opinion, for UWI to provide both a special educational and cultural programme to commemorate the occasion," he said.
On Saturday, May 25, Minott Productions, spearheaded by Pashon Minott, will host the third staging of Sugar Minott Day celebration. Pashon said the night's theme is 'Black People Unite' and the event will feature a special authentic African drumming display by Nyabinghi drummers.
"The day commemorates African Liberation Day and I want to pay homage to that. We wanted the drummers for the celebration last year, but it didn't work out. But this year it's definitely on. We want all African descendants and everyone to come out and unite at Sugar Minott's Day celebration on African Liberation Day," she said.
It will be held at Youth Man Promotions HQ, 1 Robert Crescent, St Andrew, and features Sizzla Kalonji, The Mighty Diamonds, Ken Boothe, Queen Ifrica, Iba Mahr and Eddie Fitzroy, among others. The event runs from 3 p.m. to 2 a.m.
http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2.../ent/ent1.html
.mi know im as a milineum born again christian.. rather sumadi interested in fundamental development of Africa......
Isaiah 61:161The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me,
because the Lord has anointed me
to bring good news to the poor;
he has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
to proclaim liberty to the captives,
and the opening of the prison to those who are bound;Last edited by Tropicana; 05-25-2013, 02:58 PM.
This radio show is live every saturday from 8-10pm eastern time on 94.9FM and www.chrwradio.ca It can also be found on the tunein app It's The Positive Journey also heard every Tuesday from 8pm-midnite (est) on www.d-junction.com also on the tunein app This happened May 25th 2013 African Liberation Day