Redwood principle
Franklin JOH
The only good motive to migrate is to fulfil ones potential. All others -- money, fear, etc, are unworthy. Rev Redwood created unnecessary furore; he was unknown until he was blessed with "papers" to Canada. He is now a celebrity. Did you hear of him before?
Papine is a microcosm of Jamaica, and if you want to know what Jamaicans think about someone or to test a product just poll it on a Saturday. No one in the park, market, gas station, route taxi stand, Bigga's, barbershop or supermarket had heard of him; "Him is a MP?" Or finally "de big man who get de visa?"
If Canadian Border Control approves him he is OK to us. The Rev should have come clean to Sista P, but we forgive him. How many of you told your boss you applied for papers? See! The pecking order in life is self, friends, family, God, and country last.
In our post-modern era, nationalism is passe. We like to be with those with whom we are comfortable, and if Rev Redwood is not comfortable with us, then go with God, Sir! Anyone who is not up to the struggle should go too.
Michael Manley said this in his own inimitable "five flights" style and some mischievously misunderstood him. We have no time to convince wankers; we have a nation to build, so leave, walk away, go! Don't "feel no way" as we all came here on a craft and so, whenever we feel the itch we exercise our inalienable right to take a plane.
Take this from us and you take our oxygen. Yes, we ***** about Ja, but we are comfortable in no other place; this is where we fit, we are misfits elsewhere. Given the evil, selfish groups and the lethargy around us I hate me for loving Jamaica. It does not deserve us, but who you love you love. Of course, most of us have "papers" or can get them, thanks to our diaspora.
The marvel is not that many leave but that so many are still here in this 50.5 years of purgatory. Every year thousands get papers and employers lose master workers. The Rev is not unusual; the righteous, hypocritical public indignation is just form.
I mean no disrespect, but his departure is no loss. He was offered a job he did not apply for and left it for a better offer. Many who migrate are 10 times more crucial to growth, but who cared? Who knew? The Rev may not be a patriot, but he will soon be one.
Do you know our best patriots are abroad? There is nothing like "papers", a house and car in Toronto, London, or New York to bring out the patriot in us. The diaspora eats more salt fish, yam and banana and plays more old ska than all of us.
Patriotism blooms when we are afar. No one is as passionate as a diaspora denizen. The further from Jamaica the more patriotic; they will die for us in the Bronx. I talk about poverty here and they say I am a "liad" as "orange deh fe stone dawg" in Manchester.
They see Jamaica through visa-coloured lenses. They will die for Jamaica, but not in Jamaica. Say anything about Andrew or Portia in the wrong group and you are roadkill. If you think we are tribal, check Brooklyn.
I did not vote President Redwood to any office, so his departure casts no slur on my judgment. He was not mission critical. They say we got 16 months service -- cool. I want senators to be elected by parish. Based on population, St Andrew and St Catherine would have the most -- they have the brains anyway.
The Electoral Office can fashion a senatorial race. To preserve gravitas and independence, we would need protocols; no colours and the résumé, personal character and service to the parish or nation is his or her manifesto. Each would make his/her pitch in a 20-minute TV broadcast.
No candidate would be diminished by not being elected as all meet the criteria. I would allow the diaspora to vote, since most love their parish, send money to relatives, build mansions, and may return, live and die there.
Rev Redwood is in good company. He joins the over 60 per cent of graduates who migrate, and many who beg, borrow or steal to get a farm work ticket or scam to go abroad. We go to the USA, but Caricom don't want us. They know us and don't like our bad habits; we have been deprived so long that after a month we would outnumber Bajans in Bridgetown.
Free Caricom travel won't happen as Jamaicans are too hungry and feral. Our serial cabinets have systematically and cruelly impoverished our proud nation. So why do we work hard abroad but not here? Some say we are appreciated abroad; but I say we will do nothing to cause the white man to send us home, so we work twice as hard to stay away from home.
Every year people get papers, take off and leave their employers in a lurch. Many are producers. Portia can replace Rev Redwood easily, but who can replace Joel Brown, ace production worker who left last year?
Despite the "Middle Passage" we love travel and the blackest man wants to go to America or Europe; not to fatherland Africa. He will not work for the black "bredren" who sold his granddaddy; he wants to work for the white man who bought his granddaddy. Most of us want to go. Do you?
The only person who did not want to migrate was big foot George in my district. He is illiterate; all he wanted was a taxi, but he went to buy the licence and got carried down. His father came twice to get him to go to England and he hid in the woods, ate old yam and re-emerged after Dad was gone. He was no patriot, just fool-fool, "Henglan cowl yaa Doc". Big foot George did not want to leave Jamaica.
Here is a conundrum. The Rev may be the last to go easily. It's now harder to leave as most of us can't speak, read or write English. This may be a blessing as we will have to learn English to migrate. Get your tax compliance certificate and be alert.
The Chinese have completed the Toll Road (you didn't know?) so prepare to fork out US$10 a head to get to NMIA. You thought the wide verges were for joggers? When the far left lane gets its barrier on the right you go straight to Port Royal; the right lane is to departures.
The Chinese city of Liang-ch'eng chen was built over 5,000 years ago, so these guys are prescient planners; we are babes to them. But check me, I know a logistics-minded man who can offer an airport-bound canoe from Rae Town pier for US$1.50. His supply chain partner will collect you with his handcart at Gunboat for the last lap; one bag only and no stiletto heels, please. Hold your hat! Stay conscious, my friend!
Dr Joyce Robinson
Dr Rob was a tough manager, an icon. We were linked by JAMAL, JLS and HEART. After years we met up some weeks ago. A practical mind in a frail frame, she told me I was mashing corn and I should "watch my back". She knew Jamaican scuttlebutt well.
We lamented the ossification of literacy. As a youth I spent time in Cuba and was asked by Michael Manley to design a plan to eradicate illiteracy. It was approved by his inter-ministerial committee. I fought for a big budget and good pay for staff before a House committee, as executive chairman, to the chagrin of more ambitious and seasoned people.
Dr Robinson took over from me at HQ at South Camp Road (credit to the vision of Vice-Chair R Danny Williams), a network of parish offices and centres, hundreds of highly motivated staff -- young Audley Shaw a zone officer was an ace mobiliser -- 20,000 volunteer teachers and tens of thousands of students under instruction.
I am not sure whether library or literacy was Joyce's best love. She was dauntless. Please name a living thing in her memory; a reading or elocution "Gran Prix", something big as an English Olympiad might do. Concrete and steel do not become her.
RIP, Lady Joyce Robinson.
Dr Franklin Johnston is a strategist and project manager and advisor to the minister of education. [email protected]
Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...#ixzz2UEzhfXmd
Franklin JOH
The only good motive to migrate is to fulfil ones potential. All others -- money, fear, etc, are unworthy. Rev Redwood created unnecessary furore; he was unknown until he was blessed with "papers" to Canada. He is now a celebrity. Did you hear of him before?
Papine is a microcosm of Jamaica, and if you want to know what Jamaicans think about someone or to test a product just poll it on a Saturday. No one in the park, market, gas station, route taxi stand, Bigga's, barbershop or supermarket had heard of him; "Him is a MP?" Or finally "de big man who get de visa?"
If Canadian Border Control approves him he is OK to us. The Rev should have come clean to Sista P, but we forgive him. How many of you told your boss you applied for papers? See! The pecking order in life is self, friends, family, God, and country last.
In our post-modern era, nationalism is passe. We like to be with those with whom we are comfortable, and if Rev Redwood is not comfortable with us, then go with God, Sir! Anyone who is not up to the struggle should go too.
Michael Manley said this in his own inimitable "five flights" style and some mischievously misunderstood him. We have no time to convince wankers; we have a nation to build, so leave, walk away, go! Don't "feel no way" as we all came here on a craft and so, whenever we feel the itch we exercise our inalienable right to take a plane.
Take this from us and you take our oxygen. Yes, we ***** about Ja, but we are comfortable in no other place; this is where we fit, we are misfits elsewhere. Given the evil, selfish groups and the lethargy around us I hate me for loving Jamaica. It does not deserve us, but who you love you love. Of course, most of us have "papers" or can get them, thanks to our diaspora.
The marvel is not that many leave but that so many are still here in this 50.5 years of purgatory. Every year thousands get papers and employers lose master workers. The Rev is not unusual; the righteous, hypocritical public indignation is just form.
I mean no disrespect, but his departure is no loss. He was offered a job he did not apply for and left it for a better offer. Many who migrate are 10 times more crucial to growth, but who cared? Who knew? The Rev may not be a patriot, but he will soon be one.
Do you know our best patriots are abroad? There is nothing like "papers", a house and car in Toronto, London, or New York to bring out the patriot in us. The diaspora eats more salt fish, yam and banana and plays more old ska than all of us.
Patriotism blooms when we are afar. No one is as passionate as a diaspora denizen. The further from Jamaica the more patriotic; they will die for us in the Bronx. I talk about poverty here and they say I am a "liad" as "orange deh fe stone dawg" in Manchester.
They see Jamaica through visa-coloured lenses. They will die for Jamaica, but not in Jamaica. Say anything about Andrew or Portia in the wrong group and you are roadkill. If you think we are tribal, check Brooklyn.
I did not vote President Redwood to any office, so his departure casts no slur on my judgment. He was not mission critical. They say we got 16 months service -- cool. I want senators to be elected by parish. Based on population, St Andrew and St Catherine would have the most -- they have the brains anyway.
The Electoral Office can fashion a senatorial race. To preserve gravitas and independence, we would need protocols; no colours and the résumé, personal character and service to the parish or nation is his or her manifesto. Each would make his/her pitch in a 20-minute TV broadcast.
No candidate would be diminished by not being elected as all meet the criteria. I would allow the diaspora to vote, since most love their parish, send money to relatives, build mansions, and may return, live and die there.
Rev Redwood is in good company. He joins the over 60 per cent of graduates who migrate, and many who beg, borrow or steal to get a farm work ticket or scam to go abroad. We go to the USA, but Caricom don't want us. They know us and don't like our bad habits; we have been deprived so long that after a month we would outnumber Bajans in Bridgetown.
Free Caricom travel won't happen as Jamaicans are too hungry and feral. Our serial cabinets have systematically and cruelly impoverished our proud nation. So why do we work hard abroad but not here? Some say we are appreciated abroad; but I say we will do nothing to cause the white man to send us home, so we work twice as hard to stay away from home.
Every year people get papers, take off and leave their employers in a lurch. Many are producers. Portia can replace Rev Redwood easily, but who can replace Joel Brown, ace production worker who left last year?
Despite the "Middle Passage" we love travel and the blackest man wants to go to America or Europe; not to fatherland Africa. He will not work for the black "bredren" who sold his granddaddy; he wants to work for the white man who bought his granddaddy. Most of us want to go. Do you?
The only person who did not want to migrate was big foot George in my district. He is illiterate; all he wanted was a taxi, but he went to buy the licence and got carried down. His father came twice to get him to go to England and he hid in the woods, ate old yam and re-emerged after Dad was gone. He was no patriot, just fool-fool, "Henglan cowl yaa Doc". Big foot George did not want to leave Jamaica.
Here is a conundrum. The Rev may be the last to go easily. It's now harder to leave as most of us can't speak, read or write English. This may be a blessing as we will have to learn English to migrate. Get your tax compliance certificate and be alert.
The Chinese have completed the Toll Road (you didn't know?) so prepare to fork out US$10 a head to get to NMIA. You thought the wide verges were for joggers? When the far left lane gets its barrier on the right you go straight to Port Royal; the right lane is to departures.
The Chinese city of Liang-ch'eng chen was built over 5,000 years ago, so these guys are prescient planners; we are babes to them. But check me, I know a logistics-minded man who can offer an airport-bound canoe from Rae Town pier for US$1.50. His supply chain partner will collect you with his handcart at Gunboat for the last lap; one bag only and no stiletto heels, please. Hold your hat! Stay conscious, my friend!
Dr Joyce Robinson
Dr Rob was a tough manager, an icon. We were linked by JAMAL, JLS and HEART. After years we met up some weeks ago. A practical mind in a frail frame, she told me I was mashing corn and I should "watch my back". She knew Jamaican scuttlebutt well.
We lamented the ossification of literacy. As a youth I spent time in Cuba and was asked by Michael Manley to design a plan to eradicate illiteracy. It was approved by his inter-ministerial committee. I fought for a big budget and good pay for staff before a House committee, as executive chairman, to the chagrin of more ambitious and seasoned people.
Dr Robinson took over from me at HQ at South Camp Road (credit to the vision of Vice-Chair R Danny Williams), a network of parish offices and centres, hundreds of highly motivated staff -- young Audley Shaw a zone officer was an ace mobiliser -- 20,000 volunteer teachers and tens of thousands of students under instruction.
I am not sure whether library or literacy was Joyce's best love. She was dauntless. Please name a living thing in her memory; a reading or elocution "Gran Prix", something big as an English Olympiad might do. Concrete and steel do not become her.
RIP, Lady Joyce Robinson.
Dr Franklin Johnston is a strategist and project manager and advisor to the minister of education. [email protected]
Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...#ixzz2UEzhfXmd