Originally posted by blugiant
mixxed race man blakk irresponsible speech
yes I noticed very-- conspicuously-- the "talented tenth" reference....elitism philosophy weh w.e.b. dubois put out deh...I also noticed the names he mentioned as good role models--as well as the names he did not mention...he didn't mention marcus garvey nor Malcolm x nor any 'controversial' blacks...considering he is talking to college grads, the speech is really meant for the ears of his benefactors who he is careful not to offend by actually discussing real issues in any real way; but i'm not surprised as who can expect any president to criticize his own record or tell the truth while in office
realitee iss wen dem studee da issue blakk men spend da moas thyme widd dem yuthsOriginally posted by Tropicana View PostYup on that point I defend him.
We need more with the balls to say that instead of blaming every single problem we have on the White man.
woo eva blame evereee single problem pon oyinbo. still itt troo dem respansible fe moas aff dem
personal responseebillitee argument iss canservative argument fe lessen oyinbo guilt aff racism bye blaminn da victims aff racismOriginally posted by Blackstar* View PostAll this talk about "personal responsibility" is all well and good, but I wish Pres. Obama had added exhortations about fighting injustice too. The speech is too one-sided considering he's not talking to high school drop-outs or convicted felons.
da qwestian iss y wen imm speech infront aff moaslee blakk audience imm chatt bout personal responsibilitee ann imm tell blakk men fe be responsible parents. y imm doan chatt da same ting to oyinbo men ann peeps aff addar race
seeth dehOriginally posted by Emperah View Postsame foolishness him a seh tuh blk ppl all de while. Him only have mout fi we.
imagine imm seyinn dat to graduatinn blakk males wild sum blakk peeps a chatt bout oww imm administration ave too few blakk males.
imm affii tekk responsibilitee fe dat. da deeper qwestian dat blakk woo defendinn imm fraid fe ask iss iff imm a man aff imm wurds ar iss diss wan aff dem doo wat i say speech butt natt wat imm do
maybe cah imm iss da definition aff dat addar mixxed race man w.e.b. definition aff da talented tenth. mii neva figgit readinn w.e.b. writinn wear imm sed imm doan tink school integration will benefit da majaritee aff blakk school students butt imm still supported itt even dough imm knew itt wood lead to more blakk yuths being miseducated. da realitee iss dat moas aff da blakk talented tenth ar natt sociallee cancious blakk menOriginally posted by jah_yout View Postyes I noticed very-- conspicuously-- the "talented tenth" reference....elitism philosophy weh w.e.b. dubois put out deh...I also noticed the names he mentioned as good role models--as well as the names he did not mention...he didn't mention marcus garvey nor Malcolm x nor any 'controversial' blacks...considering he is talking to college grads, the speech is really meant for the ears of his benefactors who he is careful not to offend by actually discussing real issues in any real way; but i'm not surprised as who can expect any president to criticize his own record or tell the truth while in office
mii hear alice walker chattinn oww shi dissapointed cah shi neva kno imm wass so close to imm benefactors. realitee iss dat itt cah blakk peeps doan push imm enuff imm gitt away widd cantinuallee givinn dese typa speech. blakk peeps affii putt pressure pon imm fe do da right ting
And blugiant, by his definition, is a mixed race man himself so mi noh know wha im form.Originally posted by Suesumba View Postyou'll never be fair to him as long as you refer to him as the "mixx rrace mann"
As I have said a zillion times, Black is Black.
Anyway a lot of this criticism (not all but a lot) sounds like crabs in a barrel to me.
suesumba iff yuh studee garvey yuh wood better understand mii usage aff mixxed race man. yuh wood ovatand y garvey add sereeuss resrvations bout mixxed race peeps. garvey affended a latt aff mixxed race peeps. look fe mii inn da whirlwinddOriginally posted by Suesumba View Postyou'll never be fair to him as long as you refer to him as the "mixx rrace mann"
tropi yuh too need fe studee garvey fe ovatand mii. iff yuh kno garvey requirement fe membership inn da unia den yuh wood ovatand dat definition ann qualification aff woo iss blakk. den yuh wood ovatandOriginally posted by Tropicana View PostAnd blugiant, by his definition, is a mixed race man himself so mi noh know wha im form.
As I have said a zillion times, Black is Black.
Anyway a lot of this criticism (not all but a lot) sounds like crabs in a barrel to me.
tropi y didd garvey bunn fiyah pon mixxed race peeps? doo yuh tink itt an acceedent dat mixxed race peeps represent a iigha percentage aff da middle class dan blakks. now imagine da mixxed race man sey imm jab iss fe served da middle class woo ar da primary benefishcarees? doan yuh tink imm speech pon blakk irresponsible wass class based directed att poor blakks
I HAVE studied Garvey.
That is a whole thread in and of itself. The bottom line is that Garvey was looking at America through a Jamaican prism. Jamaicans had and still had these foolish notions about shade. In America, Black is Black. So im did bun fiyah gainst WEB Dubois and dismiss him as a confused mulatto. IMHO, Garvey, while I respect him highly, was misguided on that point.
He also did bun fiyah gainst WEB Dubois because he felt the notion of talented tenth was elitist but that is a whole other LONG discussion.
I just think you make yourself look ridiculous every time you refer to President Obama as a mixed race man because you yourself are mixed.
Also, I am surprised given the fact that you are in the USA you don't understand that it would be political suicide for President Obama to make major changes w.r.t. racial issues until his last 2 years. Onno ave another election coming up in which have of your representatives will change. Obama can't run for a 3rd term...so what I would do, is play it cool and then make some dramatic changes in my last 2 years. For now, he has to kind of tread lightly or the Republicans will continue to have the strength that they do until the end of his term in office.Last edited by Tropicana; 05-28-2013, 05:29 PM.
Yep thank youOriginally posted by Blackstar* View PostI wish Pres. Obama would talk to Rahm Emmanuel (his ex-chief of staff) about closing all those schools in Chicago's predominately black neighborhoods. Ray, ray, ray, "personal responsibility", ray, ray, ray even as society further reduces your opportunities.