Be careful what you wish for. South Florida politics is full of corruption and scandal. A shoot from the hip mayor is tame compared to the ongoing mess in this area.
We have the usual politicians that accept bribes and political favors. A few per year.
We have politicians that are serving time for attempted murder.
We have politicians that have gone to obeah man and bring the obeah to city hall fi try and work magic on their opposition. (documented and admitted)
One politician contacted a hit man to have her husband eliminated, another one tried to run someone over with a car.
Those are the few that I can think of off the top of my head. Although it happens here so regularly that we don't get national and international attention. So unno have that going for you.
i meant another CANADIAN city. Not Montreal, though, fiddem politician not no hot neither....
The nine most outrageous things that Rob Ford has said in the past 24 hours
Stripped of almost all his mayoral responsibilities,Rob Ford appears to be easing into his new full-time position: self-aggrandizing spin machine. Since yesterday evening, Toronto’s sort-of mayor has appeared on CBC,CNN and NBC, as well as his new Sun News Network show, repeating a series of folksy talking points about not being perfect and siding with “poor people” instead of “rich people” like himself. But is Ford’s media blitz is really helping his case? With each interview, his explanations become more convoluted, his rants more unhinged and his denials less plausible. Below, we pull out the day’s most bizarre quotes. “I’ve changed the culture down here. You don’t hear about the scandals anymore…I mean, a money scandal.”
—to CBC’s Peter Mansbridge, in the mayor’s first sit-down interview after council stripped him of nearly all his powers “I’ve had a come-to-Jesus moment.”
—in the same CBC interview, following a vow that he would never drink again. “Say your son or daughter just got killed in a car accident and you’re plastered out of your mind at three in the morning. Are you going to be able to handle that?”
—in response to a question this morning from NBC’s Matt Lauer about whether Ford could have handled a city emergency when he was heavily intoxicated “My question is, I urinated in a parking lot. What does that have to do with anything?”
—on his new Sun News Network show, Ford Nation, which premiered last night “I am a role model.”
—just a few minutes earlier in the show “I don’t look at myself as the mayor. I look at myself as just a normal, everyday person.”
—to CNN producer Bill Weir in a two-part interview that continued last night “I’m not going to run around and be phoney and lie.”
—also to Weir, conveniently forgetting that he spent months claiming he didn’t smoke crack “NDP! NDP! NDP! NDP! NDP!”
—heckling the unfriendly public gallery during the council meeting. Doug also painted the crowd as “special interests,” and said they weren’t “real taxpayers” “If you think American-style politics is nasty, you guys have just attacked Kuwait! This is going to be outright war in the next election.”
—during a furious harangue at the end of yesterday’s council meeting
Sun News kills Ford Nation TV show after one episode
Ford Nation is dead - on Sun News, at least.
Less than 24 hours after its debut on Monday night, the conservative cable news channel axed Ford Nation, its highly touted TV talk show starring Rob and Doug Ford, despite record ratings for the network.
Sun News had announced the show only last Thursday, saying it would provide a regular outlet for the Fords to speak directly to both supporters and detractors.
Earlier this month, the brothers had parted ways with Toronto’s Newstalk 1010, their home for a regular two-hour Sunday afternoon radio program since February, 2012. While Ford Nation pulled about 155,000 viewers, according to overnight ratings, it is a victim of the brutal economics of cable TV and the Fords’ relative inexperience with the medium: Monday’s episode took five hours to record, and another eight hours to edit, making it an unusually expensive endeavour for a niche network that is in only about 40 per cent of Canadian households.
Be careful what you wish for. South Florida politics is full of corruption and scandal. A shoot from the hip mayor is tame compared to the ongoing mess in this area.
We have the usual politicians that accept bribes and political favors. A few per year.
We have politicians that are serving time for attempted murder.
We have politicians that have gone to obeah man and bring the obeah to city hall fi try and work magic on their opposition. (documented and admitted)
One politician contacted a hit man to have her husband eliminated, another one tried to run someone over with a car.
Those are the few that I can think of off the top of my head. Although it happens here so regularly that we don't get national and international attention. So unno have that going for you.
Rob Ford Needs to Stop Using Black People as a Prop
[...]
In wasn't the interview itself -- or Ford's cursing with kids in the vicinity -- but it was his go-to political backdrop of his unwavering Ford Nation "working class" taxpayer support: Black people.
That was the crack that broke my back.
When the whole Gawker/Toronto Star story broke last May, it was a picture of Ford with a group of young black men that became the face of the whole crack scandal.
With that story it came out that he was somehow involved with black Somali-Canadian drug dealers.
Then when the pressure got hot, his new designated driver became the most recognizable and strangely ambiguous black face in Canada, Jerry Agyemang. (Sorry to this formerBlack lead on the Ford security circus bus, who used to be the most famous black guy in Toronto not named Drake.)
This was all after back in 2008 when Ford, as coach of Don Bosco's high school football team and self-proclaimed Black Saviour, commented that his Black athletes would either be "dead or in jail" if it wasn't for him and his football program.
[...]
Way back in May, I had commented about my unease with Ford's relationship with young black males. I said that his proximity to these kids as a football coach smelled of the Penn State scandal. Was Ford a teacher? No. Was Ford in anyway involved in the education system? No. Was Ford a crack user? Yes. Was Ford an alcoholic? A pathological liar? Yes and yes. I'm sorry, but there is no way I would have wanted my child, who as Ford said would either be "dead or in jail," groomed and mentored on how to become a man by a drunk crack addict who could pretty well end up dead or in jail when this fiasco comes to an end.
While Ford Nation pulled about 155,000 viewers, according to overnight ratings, it is a victim of the brutal economics of cable TV and the Fords’ relative inexperience with the medium: Monday’s episode took five hours to record, and another eight hours to edit, making it an unusually expensive endeavour for a niche network that is in only about 40 per cent of Canadian households.
lawd, dahjah. u memba di big argument me used to have with one particular boardite (cyaan memba him name) about Ford? That he was a liar, a buffoon? but that neva matter to nuff people because Ford was not gay, and as such he got their vote. i don't care what anybody says, nuff jamaicans voted for him because he was not smitherman. although i don't know if the jamaicans will vote for ford now that he's a confessed cunning linguist.
I think that was X. He was quite convinced that Ford was the best thing to happen to Toronto. Would love to know if Ford still has his support...
WASHINGTON—Despite Toronto mayor Rob Ford’s recent controversial admission to having smoked crack cocaine, Americans across the country confirmed Wednesday that, Rob Ford or no Rob Ford, there’s just no way they’re about to start giving a **** about Canadian politics—no way in hell. “Yeah, sorry, not happening,” said 37-year-old Harrisburg, PA resident Daniel Cooke, echoing the thoughts of millions of Americans who told reporters they will continue happily ignoring any and all stories about the Canadian government, the politics of Canada, or scandals involving Canadian politicians. “Frankly, that guy could have been having sex with an underage boy in the middle of a parliament meeting or whatever the hell they have over there and I still wouldn’t give a ****. I don’t know or care to know who he is, where he’s from, or what he did. What I do know is that if you think I’m going to start paying attention to what’s going on with politics in Toronto or Nova Scotia or Ontario City or wherever the **** then you’re going to be very disappointed.” The U.S. populace went on to confirm that, unless Martin Short were to somehow be elected prime minister, their interest level in Canadian politics would remain at this level indefinitely.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.