A joint operation aimed at reducing incidents of harassment against tourists and restoring public order in the tourist resort town of Ocho Rios, has led to the arrest of approximately 20 persons.
At least three women accused of offering hair-braiding services to several visitors, were also nabbed in the mid-morning operation carried out on Wednesday.
Captain Everton Phillips, Manager of the Tourism Courtesy Corps, says the main objective was to reduce the unwanted social harassment of visitors.
“The harassment stems from drivers, contract carriers and operators , to hair braiders offering services all operating without licence as well as persons offering beads and craft items with license.”
He said other breaches were detected by the joint team consisting of the St. Ann Police, Transport Authority, Police Traffic Division and Tourism Courtesy Corps.
Those arrested are scheduled to appear in Court at a later date.
At least three women accused of offering hair-braiding services to several visitors, were also nabbed in the mid-morning operation carried out on Wednesday.
Captain Everton Phillips, Manager of the Tourism Courtesy Corps, says the main objective was to reduce the unwanted social harassment of visitors.
“The harassment stems from drivers, contract carriers and operators , to hair braiders offering services all operating without licence as well as persons offering beads and craft items with license.”
He said other breaches were detected by the joint team consisting of the St. Ann Police, Transport Authority, Police Traffic Division and Tourism Courtesy Corps.
Those arrested are scheduled to appear in Court at a later date.
and reggae boyz jerseys for my son, gratah cake, chocolate, you name it. A guy even convinced me fe buy a roots drink.
He was a good salesman and knew EXACTLY what to say to convince me.
Another guy had approached me and I turned him down. He came along and said "Mi tot you did seh you noh deal wid roots drinks." My Mom was with me that time and she laughed and said "Your friend knew exactly what to say to convince her." I bought from both of them as mi nevah wanted to cause no conflict.