some songs are still banned today
Still searching fi dis reggae song
I'm sure with the language in plenty music today there are more songs that are banned from airplay.
It would be interesting to hear if any political / social commentary type songs are banned from airplay.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Usually banned would just mean banned From being played on the radio.Originally posted by Tropicana View PostIn the 1970s?
I wonder how my cousin got a hold of the music?
I guess that's another phone call. Got to ask my Mom to dig up my old 45s that he brought me from storage and read all the titles. I hope that was among them and not just on an old cassette.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
that is wah mi did a talk bout, mi nah talk language, many songs have been banned on radio in jamaica cause dem bunn fiyah pan certain ppl in governmentOriginally posted by RichD View PostI'm sure with the language in plenty music today there are more songs that are banned from airplay.
It would be interesting to hear if any political / social commentary type songs are banned from airplay.
sometimes lyrics were deemed to be "Subversive" as in the case of ernie smiths "Power and the glory"Originally posted by Tropicana View PostSpecific music was banned I have heard that but not sure on what basis. I always thought it was just for slack lyrics...those should STILL be banned.
Really. I didn't know that anything along those lines had been banned since Power & the Glory - Jah Kingdom Goes to Waste. The first time I heard it was when RichD posted it.Originally posted by Emperah View Postthat is wah mi did a talk bout, mi nah talk language, many songs have been banned on radio in jamaica cause dem bunn fiyah pan certain ppl in government
What are some examples of songs that are banned today for reasons other than slack lyrics?
yes in the past ...but i wondering if that is currently the caseOriginally posted by Emperah View Postthat is wah mi did a talk bout, mi nah talk language, many songs have been banned on radio in jamaica cause dem bunn fiyah pan certain ppl in governmentWhen its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
I guess they didn't want to encourage that.