My son texted me about "crime scene" in front of Jamaican Embassy in DC. Looks like it was suspicious substance found in letter.
Jamaican Embassy Lock Down Today in Washington, DC
Originally posted by Peasie View PostMy son texted me about "crime scene" in front of Jamaican Embassy in DC. Looks like it was suspicious substance found in letter.
wen mii was yungar ole peeps use fe chatt bout be wary aff letters cah dem might powder yuh ann mii use fe tink dem wass crazy. now da mii iss ann adult mii wary aff openinn letters ann recognized da wisdom aff dem ole peeps
Originally posted by blugiant View Postwen mii was yungar ole peeps use fe chatt bout be wary aff letters cah dem might powder yuh ann mii use fe tink dem wass crazy. now da mii iss ann adult mii wary aff openinn letters ann recognized da wisdom aff dem ole peepsWhen its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
YUP my gaydar may be off but mi delaurence detectah is finely tuned.
I just did a search and it turned up lettah in conjunction wid deLaurence and French Love Powder, African Temple Powder. Nervous to click on most of the links for example:
This link:
L.W. de LAURENCE!!! READ WITHOUT FEAR!
shows this summary:
Many Jamaicans wrote to de Laurence whose catalog company was ...pounded it into powder and mixed it with other things
I clicked on this only to find the site is downand this shows:
ExpeditionJamaica.com
Darn! we've worn out our boots,
Please excuse us while we change them.
Follow us on Twitter & and we'll let you know when we're ready again.
I could only access this through the cache and it even have a pickcha a deLaurence:
Lauron William de Laurence is considered to be America's most influential occultist. Born in Cleveland, Ohio in 1868 to a French-Canadian father and Pennsylvania Dutch mother, he began his illustrious career as a hypnotist. Throughout his career, he authored and published several books on hypnotism and occultism, including the very successful TheSixth and Seventh Books of Moses.
De Laurence's publications influenced the development of several religious movements worldwide. However, Nigeria was where these publications had the most impact. Several popular religious sects, like the Mami Wata worship, were established there as a result of the influence of de Laurence's books. His books also had a great impact on some Caribbean territories; however, none more so than JamaicaDe Laurence influenced the development of a new branch of Obeah in Jamaica, referred to also as de Laurence, circa 1940s. W.F. Elkins proposes that the main difference between this new branch of Obeah and the traditional Obeah is the fact that de Laurence-influenced Obeah involves the use of crystal balls, fortune-telling cards and synthetic substances, whereas, in traditional Obeah, mainly indigenous natural materials are used.
Only men were trained in this science of the occult as it was believed that it was “too strong” for women. At the time, the popular belief seemed to have been that men acquired power from reading de Laurence's books, more specifically, TheSixth and Seventh Books of Moses, which wasconsidered to be the “bible” by de Laurence practitioners. This book allowed its readers to believe that they could take the powers of God unto themselves, which made them into very powerful men. They were then able to invoke spirits to do fend off evil spirits and heal diseases otherwise thought to be incurable. Consequently, a wide cross-section of Jamaican men would read de Laurence's books, though in secret.
YOu know what...mi bettah leave it alone and not try find out anything else about it.Mi head a stawt fe raise a'ready.
Last edited by Tropicana; 06-11-2013, 04:18 PM.