Battery swap is faster than filling a car at a gas station
To the people who believe battery swap -- as Elon has demonstrated it -- is a fools game...
Frederick W. Smith
"Father of Overnight Delivery Business"
http://www.achievement.org/autodoc/page/smi0bio-1
"...While attending Yale University, Fred Smith wrote a paper on the need for reliable overnight delivery in a computerized information age. His professor found the premise improbable, and to the best of Smith's recollection, he only received a grade of C for this effort, but the idea remained with him..."
People will pay for convenience.
I don't argue that many people will continue to use the Supercharger.
However, over time, most people will:
1) Charge from home, or
2) Batter swap at "Tesla Stations"
You thought people wouldn't pay for overnight convenience in shipping?
There's now a business model for SAME DAY SHIPPING.If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
I saw the battery being swapped.. Tesla plans to deploy it at the end of the year..Originally posted by j-kid View PostWould have been nice to see the actual battery being changed out?
Also what about the approximately $10K to $34K battery replacement cost?
Where are you getting these numbers from?
The battery is unconditionally guaranteed for 8 years and the cost to replace a 85Kwh is prepaid at $12,000 (less for a 60Kwh) not $34,000 .. As technology costs go down, so will the cost of the battery.
Can the same be said for the cost of gasoline to run an Internal Combustion Engine (ICE) vehicle?
Tesla too green?If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
if you have prepaid will u get a rebate if the cost is lower when u need to replace?Originally posted by kia027 View PostI saw the battery being swapped.. Tesla plans to deploy it at the end of the year..
The battery is unconditionally guaranteed for 8 years and the cost to replace a 85Kwh is prepaid at $12,000 (less for a 60Kwh )not $34,000 .. As technology costs go down, so will the cost of the battery.
Can the same be said for the cost of gasoline to run an Internal Combustion Engine (ICE) vehicle?When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Originally posted by RichD View Postif you have prepaid will u get a rebate if the cost is lower when u need to replace?
don't know.. but a good one when the bridge gets crossed.If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Originally posted by kia027 View PostI saw the battery being swapped.. Tesla plans to deploy it at the end of the year..
The battery is unconditionally guaranteed for 8 years and the cost to replace a 85Kwh is prepaid at $12,000 (less for a 60Kwh) not $34,000 .. As technology costs go down, so will the cost of the battery.
Can the same be said for the cost of gasoline to run an Internal Combustion Engine (ICE) vehicle?
Tesla too green?
if this is cost then there is no issue... if this is about enviromental then there is alot more complex...
if u live in yanki land then electricity is generatedfrom various sources in this sort of order
- Coal 37%
- Natural Gas 30%
- Nuclear 19%
- Hydropower 7%
- Other Renewable 5%
- Biomass 1.42%j
- Geothermal 0.41%
- Solar 0.11%
- Wind 3.46%
- Petroleum 1%
- Other Gases < 1%
Coal was at 49 % a decade ago and natural gas was at 18 %.... what has happened to cause the increase in the use of natural gas is the bete noir of enviromenalist... Gas from shale via fraqing... What is more interesting is that the % of nuclear has stayed relatively the same despite the fact that no nuclear stations have been opened in the us since the 1970's....
Few months back there was a debate in europe sparked by a comment on Top Gear as to the green credentials of electric vichles and there is a debate about the greeness given that at the heart of the technology are lithium and more exotic difficult to extract rare earth metals.. the rare earth metals come principally from china and the extraction process is much dirtier than what happens in the petroleum industry, with enormous energy expenditure... (also if u recall there was a Japanese company and the Jamaican goverment seeing the mud lakes in manchester as a possible source)..
I actually question wheter Tesla like other manufactures cost are not driven down by subsidies manufacture side s on thes ( i recall mention by obama on the stimulus package) ....in europe there are tax break breaks on the user side.. no tolls in norway..where u pay a toll on every single journey, free charge points, free parking, no congestion charge..
subsidies are good u say... well yes and no.. at some point the subsidies will end and then the technologies have to compete in the market...
While one welcomes the lowering of the proportion of electricity being generated by coal in the united states, one must be aware that given there is a down side in the use of natural gas... any escape has a more detremental effective than that of the co2 generated by coal... methane the simplest natural gase is reputed to be 20 times a green house gas as carbon dioxide....with higher hydrocarbon being worse.. what is never discussed in natural gas is the leakage in transport....
However if u look at the proportions of increase in natural gas......this bodes well for the economies of Tanzania and Mozambique ...But what happens to coal that is not used in the US ???? it will be exported......to countries that have lower controls than the US....who incidentally have been retrofritting scrubbers on coal stations i understand.....
this is not a zero sum game, there is a price to be paid... and the disinformation that the enviromentalist lobbies spread are not helping (yes they are worse than the big companies, big companies fear being caught on a lie, environmentalist are wraped in a cloak of morality )...like it or not renewable have complex down sides...ask the enviromentalost that came out againsts the five gorges dam project in China....
look I believe in climate change,beleive we are doomed ultimately as a specie, I hope life will continue post humanity on this planet as the raarity of life in this universe makes this planet beautiful... ... but i dont drink cool aid...given now the price of oil is 100 dollars... what happens in 4 years time when the price of oil is projected to be 75 dollars ?????? will a tesla and other electric vichels be able to compete then ???? subsidies wont be enough...
u all know me i aint to smart....so I must have missed something...Last edited by Wahalla; 06-21-2013, 08:33 PM.
Yah Soh: http://teslachannels.com/new-tesla-m...hmark-for-evs/ Labor cost not dropping, nor the cost of car batteries. If anything they have increased over time, I buy them all the time. lithium-ion car battery are the more expensive of them all. Technology cost may be going down, but most of it is passed on to the corporations as profit. Even pre-paying $12K 8-years upfront, who wants to plunk down an extra $12K before dem even drive out ah di showroom? If di cyar get wreck (or mi sell it), is dat warranty transferable?Originally posted by kia027 View PostWhere are you getting these numbers from?Last edited by j-kid; 06-22-2013, 08:24 PM.
In the EV world it has been determined that many tend to use alternative energry as a means to charge their cars. e.g. in one study 39.7% of California EV owners have solar panels. http://evobsession.com/39-of-califor...-solar-panels/Originally posted by Wahalla View PostCoal was at 49 % a decade ago and natural gas was at 18 %.... what has happened to cause the increase in the use of natural gas is the bete noir of enviromenalist... Gas from shale via fraqing... What is more interesting is that the % of nuclear has stayed relatively the same despite the fact that no nuclear stations have been opened in the us since the 1970's...
Personally we have been in the EV game since 2009 and have had solar panels since then. What we use on grid comes from wind energy. We are active in 350.org and in anti fracking initiatives.
Few months back there was a debate in europe sparked by a comment on Top Gear as to the green credentials of electric vichles and there is a debate about the greeness given that at the heart of the technology are lithium and more exotic difficult to extract rare earth metals.. the rare earth metals come principally from china and the extraction process is much dirtier than what happens in the petroleum industry, with enormous energy expenditure... (also if u recall there was a JapaneseThere are environmental factors in everything but I am reading that mining lithium is less environmentally damaging than coal. I do not claim to be an expert and nowhere as smart as you but do know there are articles to support itcompany and the Jamaican goverment seeing the mud lakes in manchester as a possible source)..
I actually question wheter Tesla like other manufactures cost are not driven down by subsidies manufacture side s on thes ( i recall mention by obama on the stimulus package) ....in europe there are tax break breaks on the user side.. no tolls in norway..where u pay a toll on every single journey, free charge points, free parking, no congestion charge. subsidieIn the US, oil & gas industries are very heavily subsidized; the green technology companies are receiving less in incentives than oil & gas industries. At some point the subsidies will stop. People will consider alternative fuels once their gas prices go up. US gas prices are under $5 a gallons are good u say... well yes and no.. at some point the subsidies will end and then the technologies have to compete in the market...
agreedWhile one welcomes the lowering of the proportion of electricity being generated by coal in the united states, one must be aware that given there is a down side in the use of natural gas... any escape has a more detremental effective than that of the co2 generated by coal... methane the simplest natural gase is reputed to be 20 times a green house gas as carbon dioxide....with higher hydrocarbon being worse.. what is never discussed in natural gas is the leakage in transport....
I agree we are doomed but we can reduce its effects by making changes now..look I believe in climate change,beleive we are doomed ultimately as a specie, I hope life will continue post humanity on this planet as the raarity of life in this universe makes this planet beautiful... ... but i dont drink cool aid...given now the price of oil is 100 dollars... what happens in 4 years time when the price of oil is projected to be 75 dollars ?????? will a tesla and other electric vichels be able to compete then ???? subsidies wont be enough...
u all know me i aint to smart....so I must have missed something...
We are over 400 ppm in CO2 emissions.
Climate change is happening
It is caused by humansIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Originally posted by j-kid View PostYah Soh: http://teslachannels.com/new-tesla-m...hmark-for-evs/ Labor cost not dropping, nor the cost of car batteries. If anything they have increased over time, I buy them all the time. lithium-ion car battery are the more expensive of them all. Technology cost may be going down, but most of it is passed on to the corporations as profit. Even pre-paying $12K 8-years upfront, who wants to plunk down an extra $12K before dem even drive out ah di showroom? If di cyar get wreck (or mi sell it), is dat warranty transferable?
Warranty is transferable
Battery Warranty is 8 years unlimited mileage with the following exceptions -
Battery Warranty
The battery pack in your car is obviously very important and expensive to replace. In developing the Model S, we took great care to ensure that the battery would protect itself, always retaining a few percent of energy. If something goes wrong, it is therefore our fault, not yours.
Except in the cases of a collision, opening of the battery pack by non-Tesla personnel or intentional abuse (lighting the pack on fire with a blowtorch is not covered!), all damage is covered by warranty, including improper maintenance or unintentionally leaving the pack at a low state of charge for years on end. The battery will be replaced at no cost by a factory reconditioned unit with an energy capacity equal to or better than the original pack before the failure occurred.
The intent is to provide complete peace of mind about owning your Model S even if you never read or followed the instructions in the manual.
ElonIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.