I had to pick something up from the ex last night and mi was so shocked dat im did ave one book bout Kwanzaa pon de table.

He never was much into holidays e.g. Christmas, Valentine's Day, Mother's Day and felt they were a Babylonian plot fe sell flowahs and greeting cards.
So I asked him if he was so much against holidays what was up with Kwanzaa. He said it was cultural not religious. 
As far as I know, it is a made up African American holiday created in 1966 or something. So why celebrate a fake holiday and not a real one that has been around for centuries. What is the point of Kwanzaa anyway and why would any Jamaican want to celebrate it.

He never was much into holidays e.g. Christmas, Valentine's Day, Mother's Day and felt they were a Babylonian plot fe sell flowahs and greeting cards.
So I asked him if he was so much against holidays what was up with Kwanzaa. He said it was cultural not religious. 
As far as I know, it is a made up African American holiday created in 1966 or something. So why celebrate a fake holiday and not a real one that has been around for centuries. What is the point of Kwanzaa anyway and why would any Jamaican want to celebrate it.

First, Kwanzaa was created to reaffirm and restore our rootedness in African culture. It is, therefore, an expression of recovery and reconstruction of African culture which was being conducted in the general context of the Black Liberation Movement of the '60's and in the specific context of The Organization Us, the founding organization of Kwanzaa and the authoritative keeper of its tradition. Secondly, Kwanzaa was created to serve as a regular communal celebration to reaffirm and reinforce the bonds between us as a people. It was designed to be an ingathering to strengthen community and reaffirm common identity, purpose and direction as a people and a world community.