Originally posted by jah_yout
Death of Robert Hill
that incident was caught on video..have you been following the disposition of that case?Originally posted by Wahalla View PostLast year there was that police man who shot the victim, lying on the ground in St Mary,
i think he walkedWhen its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Originally posted by RichD View Postthat incident was caught on video..have you been following the disposition of that case?
i think he walkedJustice Served' - Buckfield Residents Happy Cop Freed Of MurderOriginally posted by Wahalla View PostI missed that ...
Published: Friday | March 8, 201344 Comments
Carl Gilchrist, Gleaner Writer
Buckfield, St Ann:
In much the same way they stood with Sergeant Lloyd Kelly almost three years ago, residents of Buckfield in Ocho Rios, St Ann, have thrown their support behind the decision by the court to free the policeman who was charged with murdering Ian Lloyd in the community in July 2010.
"I think justice has been served," a community member, Donald, told journalists yesterday.
"Kelly is a good cop and the guy that died wasn't an angel. He was guilty of a lot of things; he had the whole community terrorised."
Kelly was freed yesterday after Justice Marva McDonald Bishop upheld a no-case submission by his attorneys.
FOOTAGE CAPTURED
Kelly was charged for the July 29, 2010, murder of Lloyd after a video recorded by a cell phone was aired on television in which it was alleged that Kelly shot Lloyd.
Lloyd had been accused of killing a woman shortly before that, prompting residents to call the police.
McDonald Bishop told the jury that the Crown failed to make out a case that Kelly murdered Lloyd.
McDonald Bishop pointed out that the person who did the video recording was not called as a witness, a medical report was not tendered in evidence, and the doctor who did the post-mortem could not be located. As a result, it could not be proven what had happened, the judge said.
Yesterday, several residents declined to speak to the media but openly voiced their support for Kelly.
But according to Donald, the community was generally satisfied with the outcome.
"When I called a friend of mine and tell him Kelly get off, him seh, 'Thank God'. He is a very good cop; he solved a lot of crime," Donald said.
'JUSTICE HANDED OUT'
Another community member, Michelle, also expressed support for the controversial police officer.
"The person who (died) had just killed somebody, and within a short space of time, he was killed. A lot of people who are sticking to the straight-and-narrow rules and regulations would say he should go to prison, but I say justice was handed out to him," Michelle said.
She was asked if she was glad Kelly was free.
"Yes, yes!" she replied. "I know of the individual who was killed and he was a menace to society; the mother must feel it down to her womb, but he was a menace."
Meanwhile, Donald voiced support for Kelly returning to Ocho Rios.
"I want them bring him back to the community. I am sure the whole community would like to see him back in Ocho Rios."
[email protected]
there is a lot less evidence in the Robert Hill case..so more than likely.Originally posted by Wahalla View PostRoberts
police killers will walk too...
It is sickening and is now part of our culture this attitude of community standards....When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
this is one of the drivers for the extrajudicial action.MORE THAN 69 per cent of the cases dealt with by the Corporate Area Gun Court between April 1, 2010 and March 31, 2011 ended either in acquittal, dismissal for want of prosecution or lack of evidence, the latest annual report of the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) has revealed.
true, even though stevie wonder can see what happened here...even the time they went to his home & brutalized him & his wife should have been enough for an investigation into official harassment...clearly Portia is useless and the Jamaican state has absolutely no regard for human rightsOriginally posted by RichD View Postthere is a lot less evidence in the Robert Hill case..so more than likely.
What can Portia do? pass sentence?Originally posted by jah_yout View Posttrue, even though stevie wonder can see what happened here...even the time they went to his home & brutalized him & his wife should have been enough for an investigation into official harassment...clearly Portia is useless and the Jamaican state has absolutely no regard for human rights
the sad truth about this case is that ..sure they might be able to prosecute the officers for the harassment..but what will they get? a short suspension?
As you can see from the buckfield story even video evidence is not that fool proofWhen its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
let me rephrase..what could a leader do (legally) ? what mechanism could she use to prosecute this case?Originally posted by jah_yout View Postnothing...only leaders lead, and that she is not
you want to hear more talk like she did when she first won the leadership ..talk bout respect for all people?Last edited by RichD; 07-05-2013, 04:09 PM.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
talk is cheap...true leaders are people of action...suh mi haffi bun out Portia straightOriginally posted by RichD View Postlet me rephrase..what could a leader do (legally) ? what mechanism could she use to prosecute this case?
you want to hear more talk like she did when she first won the leadership ..talk bout respect for all people?