Another man who was also caught trespassing on the compound of the University of the West Indies was also sentenced to 30 days in prison after he was reportedly caught begging on the campus.
The man, Garfield Francis, was also sentenced to three month in prison for giving a false name to the police when he was arrested.
However, Francis denied that he was begging and insisted that he was just "passing through" the campus.
According to him, he had just finished working in Mona and decided to walk through the campus to get to where he was going quicker.
As it relates to the false declaration, he told the court that he gave the police his correct name, but they made a mistake when they were writing down his name and wrote Garfield Harris.
"Your Honour, I didn't give the police any wrong name, is the officer mek a mistake and write di wrong ting. Ma'am, I am begging a likkle bail because fi di time dat me inna lock-up, di man dem beat me and stand up inna mi chest," Francis pleaded.
"No sah look how far Harris deh from Francis," Pusey said.
The magistrate then lamented that the students on the compound have been constantly terrorised by criminals who attack them for their laptop computers and cellphones.
"Oonu terrorise the young people and put fear in their ears. You have to go back down a de chest place weh dem a beat you," Pusey told Francis.
"I won't walk back through there," he said quickly.
But Pusey was not moved and sentenced him nonetheless.
Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2YSP6c0FN
The man, Garfield Francis, was also sentenced to three month in prison for giving a false name to the police when he was arrested.
However, Francis denied that he was begging and insisted that he was just "passing through" the campus.
According to him, he had just finished working in Mona and decided to walk through the campus to get to where he was going quicker.
As it relates to the false declaration, he told the court that he gave the police his correct name, but they made a mistake when they were writing down his name and wrote Garfield Harris.
"Your Honour, I didn't give the police any wrong name, is the officer mek a mistake and write di wrong ting. Ma'am, I am begging a likkle bail because fi di time dat me inna lock-up, di man dem beat me and stand up inna mi chest," Francis pleaded.
"No sah look how far Harris deh from Francis," Pusey said.
The magistrate then lamented that the students on the compound have been constantly terrorised by criminals who attack them for their laptop computers and cellphones.
"Oonu terrorise the young people and put fear in their ears. You have to go back down a de chest place weh dem a beat you," Pusey told Francis.
"I won't walk back through there," he said quickly.
But Pusey was not moved and sentenced him nonetheless.
Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2YSP6c0FN