Rap Brown: Fortune Teller
Originally posted by Blackstar* View Post
I believe he is still in jail, ADX Florence supermax prison in Florence, Colorado
The man once known as H. Rap Brown, whose antics in the 1960s earned him a reputation as the violent left's least-thoughtful firebrand, is now in the dock for murdering a policeman, with a trial scheduled to begin in January. It promises to be one the year's most spectacular court cases. The defendant is one of the leading figures of the American Muslim community, a group newly in the national spotlight. His trial and the events leading up to it offer some insights into that community.
The origins of the case go back to May 1999, when a 55-year-old African-American man named Jamil Abdullah Al-Amin was stopped on the outskirts of Atlanta, driving a stolen Ford Explorer. To avoid arrest, he flashed a police badge from White Hall, a small town in Alabama. The ruse worked, and he was let off-but not for long. An investigation found that Al-Amin was no officer; in September 1999 he was indicted, on charges of theft, impersonating an officer and driving without proof of insurance. He was assigned a court date in January 2000.
When Al-Amin failed to appear at the hearing, a warrant for his arrest was issued. At about 10 p.m. on March 16, 2000, two Fulton County sheriff's deputies, both African-American, rode over to Al-Amin's small grocery store in West End, one of Atlanta's poorer sections, to serve the warrant. The young officers were cautioned about the fugitive: "aggravated assault, possibly armed." But they had no idea they were pursuing a famous black nationalist and the self-styled namesake of "rap" music, whose violent history stretched back to before they were born.
Preaching a firebrand version of Islam, Al-Amin in the 1980s became a pillar of Atlanta's burgeoning Muslim community. He and the law stayed on separate paths until 1995, when he was arrested for shooting a drug dealer four times in the legs, and also charged with carrying a concealed and unlicensed .45 caliber handgun. A year later, he was investigated in connection with more than a dozen homicides, which a police report ascribed to revenge, business rivalries and eliminating people who "knew too much." By 1999 he was arrested on charges of driving a stolen car and carrying a concealed weapon.Even so, when the two sheriff's deputies, Aldranon English, 28, and Ricky Kinchen, 35, found Al-Amin standing in a black trench coat by a parked black Mercedes-Benz, they were not prepared for what came next. Finding Al-Amin's hands concealed, they followed standard procedure and ordered him to show his hands. "OK, here they are," he replied and allegedly pulled out two guns, firing first a .223 caliber assault rifle, then switching to a 9 mm revolver. English was shot in both legs, the left arm and right chest. Six bullets killed Kinchen. The next day English identified Al-Amin from a selection of mug shots.
Al-Amin, meanwhile, fled to White Hall, Alabama, and for the second time in his life made the FBI's most-wanted list. Four days later he was caught - this time by no less than one hundred well-armed police officers. Al-Amin was wearing body armor when apprehended. Police found in White Hall his black Mercedes - complete with a tell-tale bullet hole-two cartridge clips, a .223 caliber rifle and a 9 mm handgun. Ballistic tests showed the guns to be those used to shoot English and Kinchen.
In May 2000, the Fulton County district attorney announced that the state would seek the death penalty, for the murder of Kinchen and other charges. Al-Amin declared himself not guilty.
A celebrated former Black Panther on trial for killing a policeman guarantees a media circus. It will also prompt debate about gun violence; the National Rifle Association has blamed Kinchen's death on the casual way Al-Amin was released after his 1995 shooting arrest, arguing that a convicted violent felon carrying firearms "should have been in a Federal prison for up to ten years."
But the trial's real significance lies elsewhere - in Al-Amin's Islamic connections. His 1971 conversion came at the hands of Dar-ul-Islam, a Sunni organization of African-Americans. He went on pilgrimage to Mecca following his release in 1976, then settled in Atlanta, where he soon founded the Community Mosque. By 1980, Al-Amin had become spiritual leader-imam-of over thirty Islamic centers belonging to the Dar-ul-Islam "national community." Estimates of its total membership have run as high as 10,000.
The Islam that Al-Amin adopted is - no surprise - the radical variety. The transition was easy from the hate-America sentiments he had espoused as a black nationalist in the 1960s. "When we begin to look critically at the Constitution of the United States," he wrote in a 1994 book Revolution by the Book (The Rap is Live), "we see that in its main essence it is diametrically opposed to what Allah has commanded."
He chastises American blacks for being too integrated into their country's life: "The problem with African-Americans is that they are so American," he wrote. Men who belong to Al-Amin's Atlanta mosque wear either Islamic-style skullcaps and long robes or black-nationalist combat boots and fatigues. In 1995, two of its members were convicted of illegally shipping more than 900 firearms to groups in Detroit and Philadelphia, and to an Islamic gang linked to Sheik Omar Abdel Rahman, the blind sheikh of New York. One young convert at Al-Amin's mosque subsequently joined Islamic separatists in Kashmir, where he was killed attacking an Indian army post.
Al-Amin has never been shy about invoking Islam in his struggle against white "ameriKKKa." Indeed, he falls into the usual trap of the extremist, mirror-imaging - he assumes that the U.S. government reciprocates his own fear and hate. "Islam is under attack on a global scale by those who wish to control the world" he wrote after his 1995 arrest. "The charges leveled against me are in direct relationship to the success that Islam has experienced in our immediate area. My persecution by the U.S. government is nothing new."
Al-Amin went on to call the United States a country "where Islam is under attack." Similarly, his first words in an Alabama courtroom, explaining his arrest in 2000 were: "It's a government conspiracy." His habeas corpus petition elaborated on this claim, stating that law enforcement authorities and organized crime "want him dead," and had joined forces to frame him for Kinchen's murder. "This matter is not just about me." he wrote in a letter that was later published. "It is about Islam and the entire Muslim Ummah. There is a pre-meditated conspiracy to destroy Islamic leadership. When the truth is established, the disbelievers will start to do things."
One might think, given his record and his wild-eyed views, that Al-Amin would be shunned by America's Islamic establishment. Just the opposite. He has been celebrated by Council on American-Islamic Relations for - of all things - his "moral character." A coalition of Islamic organizations in 1995 called him one of the "leading figures" of American Islam.Last edited by Tropicana; 07-11-2013, 08:51 PM.
Originally posted by jah_yout View Postactually saw this video a couple weeks ago...this kind of level-headed analysis is extremely rare in today's world...is he still around? i wonder if he still thinks like this...a lot of the people who seemed radical in the 60's became starry-eyed school girls once obama hit the scene
may those who stary eyed stary eyed for different reasons dan you think. maybe they actually more practical that other who are disappointed maybe they understand what rap brown talkin about from long time and just happy that the devil in di big house look like dem.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Originally posted by RichD View Postso if yuh saw this analysis and understand wht him saying and agree wid it why is there an expectation that obama act any different than he is acting now?
may those who stary eyed stary eyed for different reasons dan you think. maybe they actually more practical that other who are disappointed maybe they understand what rap brown talkin about from long time and just happy that the devil in di big house look like dem.
yea maybe...maybe the knife in the back feels better when being applied by a half-white man instead of a full white man
Originally posted by jah_yout View Post
yea maybe...maybe the knife in the back feels better when being applied by a half-white man instead of a full white manWhen its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostOh some highly paid journalists...in this case, from a Middle Eastern publication.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostWhatever....my commitments and schedule do not allow me the time to look at anything that deeply unless it is something I am being compensated for....glad you have the time to delve into these matters.
as we used to sey geeeee !When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Originally posted by RichD View Postyou had time to goolge it copy and paste the parts you wanted to highlight but not to see what the source was? not to notice the name of the author? no time to read the by line?
as we used to sey geeeee !
It said Middle Eastern and I didn't look into it any further. It really doesn't matter anywya.
I really don't look at bylines, read the about section of the publication or the bios of the writers if I am posting on a discussion board....too much like work. I post for a break and then get back to work. If you have the time to do all of that for each and every story you post ....good for you, I don't. This is not a paid assignment or a PhD thesis.