He is out of the World Championships.
Tyson Gay + 5 Jamaicans Test Positive for Banned Substance !
saw this online but me nuh know...don't see it being widely reported...
Five Jamaican athletes test positive for banned substances
July 14, 2013 · By Stabroek editor · 0 Comments 1 min agoNext Article »
Tweet
Print
(Jamaica Gleaner) Five Jamaicans have been tested positive for banned substances, with a month to go before the start of the World Championships.
The five – two field event athlete and three runners – returned the adverse findings following the tests conducted at the National Trials that were held from June 20-23 at the National Stadium.
Two of the runners are Olympic gold-medal-winning sprinters.
A representative of one of the sprinters declined to comment.
The other sprinter was down to compete in Europe on the weekend but did not face the starter.
Our sources say the sprinters might have ingested the banned substance from a new dietary supplement recently introduced to the training camp.
It is understood that one of the athletes had done extensive research on the supplement before taking it, and is now considering legal action.
Dr Herb Elliott, chairman of the Jamaica Anti-Doping Commission, said he has not yet received any information on any adverse finding.
This development follows news out of the United States today that American Tyson Gay failed a drug test at an out-of-competition event in May.
Only last month world track and field was rocked by news that Olympic gold medallist Veronica Campbell Brown had also tested positive for a banned masking agent.
Jamaican sprinters Asafa Powell & Sherone Simpson have tested positive for banned substance- more on
Former 100-meter world-record holder Asafa Powell is reportedly among five Jamaican track and field athletes who tested positive for banned substances.
Powell, Nesta Carter and Sherone Simpson are three of the five, according to the Telegraph.BREAKING: Asafa Powell one of the five Jamaican athletes who tested positive for banned substance; Nesta Carter, Sherone Simpson + two more—The Jamaica Gleaner reported earlier Sunday that five Jamaicans had tested positive and confirmed Powell and Simpson.
Telegraph Sport (@TelegraphSport) July 14, 2013
Powell, 30, held the world record in the 100 of 9.74 seconds until Usain Bolt took it prior to the Beijing Olympics.
Powell is the fourth fastest man of all time, behind Bolt, Tyson Gay (who admitted to a positive test earlier Sunday) and Yohan Blake.
He failed to make the Jamaican team for August’s world championships, finishing seventh in the 100 at trials after making three straight Olympic teams.
A two-time world bronze medalist in the 100, Powell is known as the the greatest sprinter never to win an individual Olympic medal.
Carter, 27, was part of Jamaica’s Olympic champion 4×100-meter relay teams in 2008 and 2012.
Simpson, 28, was the 2008 Olympic silver medalist in the women’s 100 meters.
Tyson Gay: I’m going to be honest with USADA
Italy police arrest Asafa's physical trainer over banned substance
2013-07-14 15:45:37
Leighton Levy, Gleaner Writer
Police in Italy have reportedly detained a physical trainer that had been living with Asafa Powell, and providing him with supplements, that may have contributed to his positive drug test for Methylsynephrine, The Gleaner understands.
The trainer whose name has not been released was detained and evidence removed from his residence.
He began working with the MVP camp in May.
Powell has also reportedly handed over supplements he had in his possession that were given to him by the trainer.
Some of those same tainted supplements may also have been supplied to Sherone Simpson, sources said.
Originally posted by Tuff Gong View PostSad day!
Given the recent history of athletics I would be surprised if any athlete would willingly take drugs given I believe they preserve samples to check in future as detection methods become more sophisticated.
Let me be blunt to preserve our status we should pull the team from the world cup and get an outside enquiery with the resources and independence of remit to investigate item leave nothing
I wonder at times if the biochemistry of the elite athlete body is fully understood. Is the relationship s between what the body produces and the detection of these banned substances given the sensitivity of the detection process.
I am seriously disappointed we won't see the Bolt Gay mash up in Moscow. Gay was gunning for it and I don't think Bolt was as motivated. Now we have the prospect of Gatlin.Last edited by Wahalla; 07-15-2013, 02:11 AM.
Originally posted by Wahalla View PostLet me be blunt to preserve our status we should pull the team from the world cup and get an outside enquiery with the resources and independence of remit to investigate item leave nothing...
I don't know about Tyson Gay, but look at Asafa's explanation? Given what we know about PED and Athletes and trainers it would seem to I elementary that you just have some new guy, living with you and feeding you junk.
I think this is a another convenient crutch. You are prone to injury you want to make the Team so bad you, you get an outside druggist who claims to have a new, undetectable portion and start using, then when the SHTF you can pass the blame off.
I think the real programme that needs to be investigated is MVP Track Club. I think they are successful but the Club seems to be of individuals, with little or no direction from the head Coach.
Pure stupidity - Dr Wright
Published: Monday | July 15, 2013 Comments 0
Dr Paul Wright ... WADA code says you have a responsibility for whatever is in your body. - file
Ryon Jones, Staff Reporter
Local anti-doping and sports medicine expert, Dr Paul Wright, has deemed it stupidity that another set of local athletes have returned adverse analytical findings, given that they have access to a state-of-the-art laboratory at the University of the West Indies (UWI).
The five athletes include veteran sprinters Asafa Powell and Sherone Simpson, who Wright believes should have known better.
"This is just a tragedy and when you understand that these are experienced athletes, they should know that you do not do these types of things," Wright said.
"The University of the West Indies has one of the most modern labs in the history of the Caribbean, and all they have to do is carry any substance up there and ask them to check it for them.
"So what they have to do is if they get a substance that everybody tells them is good, they carry it to UWI, give them a money, and ask them to check it. So it is pure stupidity how these people keep getting caught."
The drug that is reported to have turned up in Powell's and Simpson's 'A' sample is a stimulant called oxilofrine (methylsynephrine).
"It's mainly used by people with low blood pressure," Wright said. "It can be used to build up back their blood pressure or it can be used as a stimulant. It gets its popularity in sports, as to help people to run faster."
Wright further outlined that how the stimulant works is that it increases a person's heart rate, which facilitates more blood going to the extremities during running and therefore making them run better. Adding that if their technique is good, it will make them run faster.
"It (Oxilofrine) is very uncommon," Wright revealed. "What Oxilofrine is; it is a change in the molecular structure of ephedrine which is banned, but is also available in all cold and flu supplements.
"So what they do is change one of the molecules in the outer ring of ephedrine and produce this drug."