Originally posted by jah_yout
Question about Trayvon
If he is over a certain age and it's night, you should be. Trayvon's parents were clearly not afraid for him to go to the store at night. Clearly, they should have been. It is a wake up call for all Black parents and grandparents.Originally posted by remo View PostAnd yes I am not scared to send my son to the corner store .....
That testimony should not have been allowed in. What the flip did THAT have to do with anything?Originally posted by blugiant View Postdidd yuh watch de trial ann oyinbo ooman woo wass robbed seyinn dat shi wass robbed bye yung afrikkan merikkans males wild denyinn shi eva sed blakk male? mii luv oww oyinbo justify dem racism by denyinn racism ann avoidinn da wurd black
Is there any grounds on which this case could be re-tried or does double jeopardy kick in? We don't seem to have that in Canada. I have seen cases re-tried until they get the verdict they want.
I have never heard of a kid being shot in canada for walking on a side walk and I have lived here for 40 yearsOriginally posted by Tropicana View PostIf he is over a certain age and it's night, you should be. Trayvon's parents were clearly not afraid for him to go to the store at night. Clearly, they should have been. It is a wake up call for all Black parents and grandparents.
Again it is not perfect here but no way is is as bad as the United States
You're moving the yardstick. I spoke of shootings of unarmed youth by police....not young people walking down the street though I believe there have been some incidents like that won't be able to pull them up without time for digging.
Here are some instances in which police killed unarmed Black civilians and they were not sanctioned in any way:
When it is a white person they shoot to warn or stop. When it is a Black person they shoot to kill and they get away with it.
Tropi go back and read what I posted above....I think you are confused about the topic hereOriginally posted by Tropicana View PostYou're moving the yardstick. I spoke of shootings of unarmed youth by police....not young people walking down the street though I believe there have been some incidents like that won't be able to pull them up without time for digging.
Here are some instances in which police killed unarmed Black civilians and they were not sanctioned in any way:
When it is a white person they shoot to warn or stop. When it is a Black person they shoot to kill and they get away with it.
I was responding to your comment about it's different here (in Canada).
Agreed.Actually the question is more about the cops and United States than it is about Trayvon
Why did the cops find it necessary to send out a squad car to investigate a kid walking on a side walk doing by all accounts nothing illegal?
Yes they should have.Should'nt they have told GZ to go home and leave the kid alone?
No.Is that a dumb question?
"It's something bigger because Trayvon Martin is all of our sons. He's the son of all people who are African-American and of those who are conscious of what it means to be black in America," said Maurice Jackson, a Georgetown University associate professor of history and African-American studies.
After the verdict, his message was somber.
"I feel for his parents," Jackson said. "This is a sad day for democracy and for justice."
A much harsher statement came around the same time from another professor who studies race at Drexel University in Philadelphia.
"This verdict was prepared from day one," George Ciccariello-Maher said. "From the media campaign of demonizing Martin, to the selection of a nonblack jury, to the instruction not to refer to race ... his was the chronicle of an acquittal foretold."
That's the rub.... A young person minding his own business in a middle class gated community was gunned down and the justice system has failed to hold his murderer accountable. This could happen to ANY of our sons and there is not a dyamn tink we can do to protect them from it or to see that there is justice after the fact. It is a terrifying and horrifying nightmare to which many Black people who did tink dem and dem pickney was a'right are just awakening to the harsh reality of being Black in North America....Trayvon Martin is all of our sons. He's the son of all people who are African-American and of those who are conscious of what it means to be black in America...
Do you really believe a private citizen could hunt down an unarmed teenager shoot him dead and not go to jail in CanadaOriginally posted by Tropicana View PostThat's the rub.... A young person minding his own business in a middle class gated community was gunned down and the justice system has failed to hold his murderer accountable. This could happen to ANY of our sons and there is not a dyamn tink we can do to protect them from it or to see that there is justice after the fact. It is a terrifying and horrifying nightmare to which many Black people who did tink dem and dem pickney was a'right are just awakening to the harsh reality of being Black in North America.
?....A teen who's only crime was walking down the street.....
Yes....I do. Why do you think I am constantly telling my son to get in at a decent hour and not stay out late at night walking the streets? We have had our curfew battles over the years because of it too plus calls to his grandmother to complain about how unreasonable his mother is being. It's interesting that he never pulled stunts like that when his grandfather was still alive.Originally posted by remo View PostDo you really believe a private citizen could hunt down an unarmed teenager shoot him dead and not go to jail in Canada
?....A teen who's only crime was walking down the street.....
Well he is too old for curfews or to be grounded for violating them but I still give reminders.
Thank you for posting that. Agree 110% but some people are so busy being blind, they fail to see what the case was tried for, they resort to personal attacks or come up with theories not presented into evidence.Originally posted by Xavier View PostIn my opinion I don't think this case was only about race as there are so many other layers. We can also talk about profiling and stereotyping. I read one black columnist who said his black wife was following him in their neighborhood because he was wearing a hoodie while jogging and she did not recognize him. She was suspicious till she was close enough to see it was him. Race is a factor but there are so many layers to peel away about this case.
Sure the guy might be guilty, but to have a lynch mob out for him does nothing to calm the exact stereotype people are tying to avoid.
Originally posted by accompong[SIZE=2]Perhaps something good can come out of this tragedy like common sense gun laws and getting rid of a "stand your ground" defense[/SIZE]
Just pointing out there, this has nothing to do with stand your ground, although the media keeps harping on it. The case was tried for Second Degree Murder. And Manslaughter added in at the minute. Based on the evidence presented in court, I doubt they could have gotten manslaughter too due to the self defense laws in place. This is what this case was about. Self Defense. We do not know who was defending themself as we only have one side of the story, but there is also nothing to refute his version of self defense. Not to mention conflicting testimony. That's why he was acquitted.Last edited by LinSkinny; 07-15-2013, 04:48 PM.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostYes....I do. Why do you think I am constantly telling my son to get in at a decent hour and not stay out late at night walking the streets? We have had our curfew battles over the years because of it too plus calls to his grandmother to complain about how unreasonable his mother is being. It's interesting that he never pulled stunts like that when his grandfather was still alive.Well he is too old for curfews or to be grounded for violating them but I still give reminders.Originally posted by remo View Post
You got to be Kidding?
This is what happens to Canadians who take the law into their own handsOriginally posted by Tropicana View PostThen how come none of the cops who have killed unarmed Black men in Canada have ever been convicted...not even one?Originally posted by Tropicana View Post