cops in Little Rock kill a blk man, seh him tief di car but di lady seh she lend him
Wow. Thank you for sharing this Evanovitch. I wish it were not so. Man it is heartbreaking that these incidents have been going on for years and show no sign of stopping.
This isn't going to stop...yet I get mocked and labeled a banshee for posting similar stories. I am not wishing this on anybody but I guess until something happens in some of the people on here personally or to someone in their families, they will not care or take it seriously,
According to a news release from the Little Rock Police Department Monday:On July 15, 2013, at approximately 11:40 a.m. officers of the Little Rock Police Department were on patrol in the area of 12th and Jonesboro Street, when they observed a black Chevy Suburban that they thought matched the description of one they had seen on the LRPD stolen vehicle alert sheet.Twenty-six-year-old Williams (pictured) later died of his wounds, with Officer Terry McDaniel later identified as responsible for the shots that killed Williams, according to an updated report. After the shooting, officers say they found drugs and a firearm on Williams.
According to officers, the marked police vehicle passed the Suburban and the officers observed that it had what they thought was an expired license plate. The officers pulled over to let the vehicle pass them, however the vehicle had pulled over and stopped on the side of the street.
After waiting for a short period of time, the officers decided to turn around and make contact with the driver since the vehicle was not moving. As the officers were turning their vehicle around, they observed the driver exit the driver’s side of the Suburban.
The subject began walking away and one of the officers observed a bulge in his waistband and he thought the subject was trying to conceal something. Officers asked the subject to walk over to their vehicle and at that point the subject began to flee.
One officer began a foot pursuit and the other officer got in the patrol vehicle and attempted to cut the subject off. The officer on foot pursued the subject to the back yard of a house in the 1100 block of Adams Street. As the officer came around the corner of this yard he saw a handgun fall out of the subject’s waistband.
The officer had his Taser out at the time and dropped it when he saw the handgun. He drew his service weapon and saw the subject pick up the handgun, look towards him, and start to get to his feet. At that point, the officer feared for his life and fired his service weapon approximately three times. The subject fell to the ground and was taken into custody.
Still, police admitted Tuesday that the vehicle was not stolen and Williams did not fire at the officers.
The vehicle actually belonged to Shemedia Shelton, Williams’ friend, who reiterated, “It [the car] was not stolen.”
Both officers involved in the shooting have been placed on administrative leave during the department’s investigation.As police investigated the crime scene later that day, protesters chanted and threw bottles and cans on the street. One person carried a sign saying, “Stop Killing Our Kids!” Police arrested another protester who reportedly yelled, “I’m just trying to voice my opinion and this man wants to lock me up!” as they lead him away in handcuffs.
Police Chief Thomas Stuart defended the people’s right to protest — but also officers’ rights to investigate the scene.
“People have a right to express their opinions and ideas and we’re going to protect that right,” he said. ”By the same token, we have an obligation to follow through with what we have to do at the scene.”
The protests preceded a candlelight vigil for Trayvon Martin that happened later that night.
Really. My sister also has lived in the deep south.....2 different states.
What were some of your observations?
What differences and similarities do you notice between Little Rock, Arkansas and Western Canada when it comes to race relations?Last edited by Tropicana; 07-17-2013, 10:16 PM.
It appears that when it's a Black person, particularly a man, they are told to shoot to kill and it has been that way for years.Originally posted by Blackstar* View PostAren't police trained to handle situations without resorting to shooting?
From what I understood, the victim was behaving oddly, but that doesn't warrant being shot.
Really? You don't think this person contributed to his own demise?Originally posted by Tropicana View PostIt appears that when it's a Black person, particularly a man, they are told to shoot to kill and it has been that way for years.
Why did he run?The subject began walking away and one of the officers observed a bulge in his waistband and he thought the subject was trying to conceal something. Officers asked the subject to walk over to their vehicle and at that point the subject began to flee.
As the officer came around the corner of this yard he saw a handgun fall out of the subject’s waistband.
The officer had his Taser out at the time and dropped it when he saw the handgun. He drew his service weapon and saw the subject pick up the handgun, look towards him, and start to get to his feet. At that point, the officer feared for his life and fired his service weapon approximately three times
Why did he have a gun? Why did he pick up gun after dropping it while being persued by police?
Sorry, I have to ask these questions that simply defy logic of what I would do if involved in this situation.
When all else fails and short of an intelligent answer to logical questions, scream racism.Originally posted by Tropicana View PostYou are a racist and as far as you are concerned ANY Black armed or unarmed person who is killed by ANY White person contributed to his own demise.

You are simply ignoring reality. I am not a fan of the police, but I know enough in this dangerous world not to make it anymore dangerous to myself when dealing with trigger happy police.
I for one does not need any schooling from a Farking Icehole like you....This is Jamaicans.com not the KKK.comOriginally posted by lonewolf View PostReally? You don't think this person contributed to his own demise?
Why did he run?
Why did he have a gun? Why did he pick up gun after dropping it while being persued by police?
Sorry, I have to ask these questions that simply defy logic of what I would do if involved in this situation.
I notice we cant vent on here without this nincompoop coming in to tell us how to think
Tropicana, the other Jcans I met there , I would hear dat dem seh mi tink mi special because I always lived in upscale naybahoods.....most were from Ja via England....as I explained to dem, I neva stomp cockroach in Ja in mi parents house n wasn't gwine to start doing so in America...plus y live in discomfort wen I can afford to live in comfort...I liked regular garbage pickup, infrequent outage of any service n quick response wen any went down...plus my residences were always well protected thus saving me from buying alarm system...I memba coming home n a likkle ole lady hot footing it to tell me dat I had visitors while out...seems some blacks had been seen driving about so dem had to be looking fi me...
driving home from my many reggae events I had put on , I drove with no fear as a police car would always drive behind me once I got to the neighbourhood...
since I did once tell a subordinate pon a job dat di decision to socialise was not rested on her but on me n she was not my contemporary in any way u done know seh mi neva ha no problem wid dem people...my nayba was di governor's son n me n who mi did like got on very well...said way here now...who mi like mi deal wid...di oddas mi ignore...no one is more a snob dan me mi dear...I was well trained at SAHS in dat...
I LOVE it!Originally posted by evanovitch View PostI neva stomp cockroach in Ja in mi parents house n wasn't gwine to start doing so in America...plus y live in discomfort wen I can afford to live in comfort...
since I did once tell a subordinate pon a job dat di decision to socialise was not rested on her but on me n she was not my contemporary in any way u done know seh mi neva ha no problem wid dem people...no one is more a snob dan me mi dear...I was well trained at SAHS in dat...

How are you finding Canada?
Canada naw phase mi atall atall....people approach me eida if dem tink mi a mi sister n dem a try get a free consult
or dem a comment pon mi hair....funny enuff I find the Africans very unfriendly....but like how I am a snob to stawt wid, no country no get me down....
.....I do find driving here frustrating as dem people no seem fi able to drive while off the farm..an oonoo pedestrians a raise mi blood pressure...mi complain to any policeman mi see....mi even complain to a police ooman seh mi a mind mi bizniz an dis blond ooman come ask mi if mi ha pills fi sell har...mi was driving off n see a di police n tell har dat I was too pissed to be approached, soley tru mi black, wid locs, so mi had to be a pusher....mi nearest nayba well frenly since late one night him had heart attak n him wife run come fi mi sista...