a beg u pardon...mi no attak nutten...mi gi mi opionion pon tings...is U the reader INTERPRET as attack wen u want....so try u bess an do like di priest to the Samaritan ....
Photo: Congrats to Gina Hargitay the 2013 Miss Jamaica World #missjamaica
First off, I am the official boardlane horse hair fiya bunnahOriginally posted by jah_yout View Posthow come you're not attacking miss south sudan's horse hair also?
not Vannie.
Don't tell me THAT offends you too.
Whappen, your lady wear hair hat too.
Anyway, her hair is up so I can't see if is horse hair. Have you seen it down? I haven't.
Originally posted by Tropicana View Post
tapp yu naize..anyone with half a brain can see she is not the picture of indigenous natural african hairstyles
The top could be natural but pulled tight and the back could have been a hair piece. Anyway I posted the video.Originally posted by jah_yout View Posttapp yu naize..anyone with half a brain can see she is not the picture of indigenous natural african hairstyles
Like it or not, it is highly unlikely that a Black woman with natural hair would win Miss World or Miss Universe. Jamaica stopped officially sponsoring contestants to international pageants because of these dynamics around 1975. Even the contestant we sent had natural hair when she won Miss Jamaica and she was pressured into straightening it for Miss World. She was most vocal about it too.
Former Miss Universe winners of African descent include:

From Trinidad

From Angola

Trinidad & Tobago
Black Miss World Winners

This site also shows Black women who have won Miss America or Miss USA:
Last edited by Tropicana; 10-01-2013, 12:21 AM.
Yendi is mixed so I don't know what her natural hair looks like. This is the closest I can find.
In 2010, Jamaica had its highest-ever placing at the Miss Universe pageant. That year local beauty Yendi Phillipps took the first runner-up spot at the pageant in Las Vegas. The title eventually went to Miss Mexico Jimena Navarrette.
Yendi Phillipps
Do you honestly think Yendi would have done as well if she had competed with natural hair that is typical of the majority of Black women? Not a chance.
So African women and women of African descent have 3 choices:
- don't enter - then the contest would be lily White as they once were
- compete with natural hair and accept the fact that they will likely not make the top 10 and certainly not win
- enter and straighten your hair
I don't like it either but those are the facts. It is highly unlikely that even a White woman with short hair would win. I would rather have a Black Miss Universe or Black Miss World with natural hair. Since that seems to be impossible in 2013, I would rather see a Black winner than not have a Black winner....and I mean a visibly Black woman and not a light skin Black woman.
Do I like it? No. I hope that things change but until they do, bun fiyah yes, but bun fiyah pon de organizers and the judges, not the contestants.
We have sent 2 contestants with low naturals:
"Andrea Lyons was the first Miss Jamaica to wear an afro to the Miss World pageant and she was also a semi-finalist (6th place) hat year. That similar hair style was later repeated by Joan McDonald in 1978."
We did send one contestant with locks Zahra Redwood to Miss Universe 2007. I am not sure how she placed but she did not make the top 15.:

See her at 9:14
Japan won that year. In fact I was in Japan when the contest took place and people were saying she wasn't Japanese enough. She lived in the USA for a long time or was it Canada.
Excuse the name dropping.
Last edited by Tropicana; 10-01-2013, 04:43 PM.