Articulate men
I am both articulate and verbose.
Never said I did not expect Lemon to be articulate. Don't lay hangups from south of the border on me. I was not raised in the USA, I don't see the world from the same prism as someone raised in the USA and I certainly don't have the hang-ups that are prevalent south of the border. So don't even try to lay that trip on me.Originally posted by evanovitch View Postnow Tropi, having posted di above, wat I am trying to seh, u should never add di word articulate behind any reference to a black person, n most especially if di smaddy JOB IS AS A NEWS REPORTER....it is a given dat dem ,reporter,should be able to form sentences....having said dat, it also also carries forward the thinking dat di smaddy mekking di statement has latent prejudices re blacks n said blacks ability to form cohesive thoughts and speak said thoughts out loud .....u can further see dat it is not called for since it is usually used when di black smaddy have edumication ....it really speaks to the sayers conditioning to NOT expect any black to have edumication...hope u overstand mi explanation.....
Also, while most news reporters are articulate, there have been some duds and they come in all colours. Remember Sandie Rinaldo's horrible interview with Bob Marley? She came across like a blithering idiot and it got worse and worse the longer the interview went on. Bob laughed at her.
She has improved with the years but there was no way to go but up. Wish I could find her interview with Bill Gates. She has done well. I rest my case.Last edited by Tropicana; 07-30-2013, 06:42 PM.
if u neva not expek him to be articulate, then y add it to ur statement...as I explained, it infers a mindset ....as to Roscoe, many hearing him , would ascribe his tone as being their reason for thinking him articulate...said way, many tink if dem a one use nuff big word den tings a gwane fi dem in di intelligence arena...wich is y, wen blacks r being spoken to by dem said blacks, di one speaking wi trow een some big words fi get loud clap wich shows fi dem own mindset bout dem elevated state n dem mindset re dose dem a chat to...is a vicious world out deh wen it come to di mentality of people...wich is y , many a time wat dem seh no really mean wat dem tink dem was saying cause nuff don't understand dat word carry connotations...fi example di misuse of fame ,infamy n notoriety...all mean famous but diffrant sort of fame....positive vs negative...had to critique a newspaper editorial in today's paper wich failed to realise dat stating dat Michael Manley enjoyed international notoriety was not the positive they meant...den again I also said the writer could be playing wid words to confound true intent but di body of the article never support the pun use...
Originally posted by evanovitch View Postmany tink if dem a one use nuff big word den tings a gwane fi dem in di intelligence arena...wich is y, wen blacks r being spoken to by dem said blacks, di one speaking wi trow een some big words fi get loud clap wich shows fi dem own mindset bout dem elevated state n dem mindset re dose dem a chat to...
Wish I could find more clips with Christopher Plummer on Star Trek. Compare Shatner and Plummer. They were both raised in Montreal during the same era and did early productions in the same school auditorium. Not knocking Wililam Shatner yet Plummer is far more articulate.
Not sure where Christopher Plummers pulls that accent from as his family has been in Canada for generations and he was raised in downtown Montreal but it serves him well:
the flip side of that verbal quirk being that anything that hints at the pronunciation of "ile" must be wrong, therefore "voilent" is seen to be proper instead of "violent".Originally posted by evanovitch View Postto further bolster my statement dat many confuse tone wid intelligence, u eva notice how yaad reporters feel seh a farrin accent mek dem more convincing at dem job...
until dem mek slip n mispronounce, like saying ILE instead of OIL
I have seen that in Jamaica and also in India. I sat in with a sales team for half a day and the sales reps. put on foreign accents, used foreign names and pretended they were calling from Singapore. The only guy who used his real name is half German (his father is German). On the day when they met clients face to face and were just "in the background helping out", they used their Indian names and accents and the sales rep. with the German name used a fake Indian name.Originally posted by evanovitch View Postto further bolster my statement dat many confuse tone wid intelligence, u eva notice how yaad reporters feel seh a farrin accent mek dem more convincing at dem job...
until dem mek slip n mispronounce, like saying ILE instead of OIL
I have seen something similar in Singapore and Malaysia where Chinese people take on European names if they are working in certain positions. I wasn't aware of this until after a particular incident.
I remember I had to meet someone for a flight once. She was late. When I checked with the passenger agent, they had no record of any passenger with that name. She eventually turned up and was registered in her Chinese name.Last edited by Tropicana; 07-30-2013, 07:04 PM.
Tropi a meeee dis...Evanovich or howeva mi did spell di moniker wen mi fuss jine....how u mean mi a mek assumption widdout foundation....u a drink likka or smoke weed n it a affek u memory...chile please...mi a read ur post dem fi how long now..n mi a palab wid u bout dem fi how long now...u figet di go rung wid mi n u bout James Brown being black n greasy....chile no mek mi haffi go find smaddy weh still a kip up di spreadsheet of past posts...Originally posted by Tropicana View PostYou are making assumptions without foundation. I am not going to debate this point with you further.
Tropi, mi an u discuss how u gwanie gwanie..well mi seh u gwanie gwanie n u try prove seh is no dat...but no bodda try tiptoe pass mi cause mi neva yet sleep pon dis site wid boat yeye shut...n mi cawl u pon u comments wen mi tink dem was outta orda...so try u bess so come again...
oonoo see Tropi dying trial yah...n we naw debate..u a seh one ting n me a seh u wrong n I is unanimous wid dat