oonoo call mi bredda fi me, beg u tell him come yah quick
Yawn
No actually, the first time I heard it was when there was a challenge between me and a Jamaican yardie who had left at 4 for the UK and returned after college (as I had). She recited that poem I did "Mi glad fe see you Come Back Bwoy".
It was a hoot listening to her attempting to recite that with a cockney accent.
Everyone ROARED with laughter.
I was told that we were both pretty bad but, with my Canadian accent, my attempt was better than hers.
I grew up reciting her poems in school at functions..even had the 'traditional' outfit..wish I had kept it wid mi as it was the original plaid dat u cannot get anymore..sigh...left it at home wen I emigrated n don't know wat became of it ...sighOriginally posted by Tropicana View PostNo actually, the first time I heard it was when there was a challenge between me and a Jamaican yardie who had left at 4 for the UK and returned after college (as I had). She recited that poem I did "Mi glad fe see you Come Back Bwoy".
It was a hoot listening to her attempting to recite that with a cockney accent.
Everyone ROARED with laughter.
I was told that we were both pretty bad but, with my Canadian accent, my attempt was better than hers.
I will holler fi Emperah. I wondah if im heal up enough feOriginally posted by evanovitch View Postif u click on the picture of Vybz it wi tek u to the magazine cover....the articles deal with our participation in the WWs as volunteers supporting the 'Mother Country'....run go call Dahjah mek him see dat mi reffah to Britain as di MC...
pon you.
Last edited by Tropicana; 07-31-2013, 08:43 PM.
Now that must have been fun. Never had a chance to do that but my mom did cook patties for us and we often brought banana fritters to school functions. I don't know if I remember how to make them. I need a refresher. We also had Jamaica skirts to wear to events where people wore their traditional dress until we outgrew them....you know the skirts with the ladies with baskets on their heads.Originally posted by evanovitch View PostI grew up reciting her poems in school at functions..even had the 'traditional' outfit..wish I had kept it wid mi as it was the original plaid dat u cannot get anymore..sigh...left it at home wen I emigrated n don't know wat became of it ...sigh
My mom had one of these but shorter.
Last edited by Tropicana; 07-31-2013, 08:43 PM.
traditional dress..dat mek mi laff...fi real...wen mi come a farrin to university, di rich white people church would invite di farrin students to service once a year...dem would ask dat we wear we traditional outfit...as if di brown n black face dem wouldn't already stand out in di church...cause of course di church was all white..i got tyad of telling dem n di dean fi international students dat I don't have a traditional outfit or fabric or anysuch...my trip from Africa was soooooooooooooooooooooooo long ago mi neva know wich tribe much less wich cloth fi claim...but since dem persisted, I wore blue jeans an said I was of the era wen jeans were worn everywhere...guess if it was now, mi could wear a Bob Marley tshirt since him is the recognized symbol of Jamaica