Originally posted by Emperah
Today is Emancipation Day
enslaved afrikkans add fe carry paypah to prove dem add permission fe leave dem oyinbo enslavers property. da onlee day dem neva need fe walk widd dem paypah wass pon sundae cah jancrow nuh wukk pon sundaeOriginally posted by Tropicana View PostSpeaking of Emancipation Day.....no one has ever been able to explain the origin of the expression "Free Papah Bun."
Is it referring to "manumission documentation". Was there an actual document that free Blacks carried during slavery? Did people try to destroy the papers and claim that the individuals were slaves.
Okay that's what I figured. What about de bun pawt?Originally posted by blugiant View Postenslaved afrikkans add fe carry paypah to prove dem add permission fe leave dem oyinbo enslavers property. da onlee day dem neva need fe walk widd dem paypah wass pon sundae cah jancrow nuh wukk pon sundae
tell dem affii tart fe do wan fiyah pon emanceepaysham day treddOriginally posted by Emperah View Postwhat is there to celebrate and what are we emancipated from?
pure fawt, when wi is more enslaved now den b4.
mental slaveree cah oyinbo add no moral basis fe enslaved da afrikkans so dem ave no legal rite fe chatt nunsense bout dem free dem slaves
oyinbo supremacee ting fii gitt blakk fe cantinue fe bow
I couldn't agree more, the ancestors would are very upset and know all this is foolishness.Originally posted by Blackstar* View PostMaybe if we celebrated the day and used the time to reflect on its true meaning, we wouldn't fritter away what our ancestors fought so hard for.
Kinda like jamaicas slogun "out of many one" when nuttin nuh guh so.
[QUOTE=WitchyOoman;715126]That's ^ pure ignorance you're displaying.
There are plenty of 'outsider' historical accounts of the man who walked the Earth and was crucified as "King of the Jews".
One may certainly question OR deny His divinity ... but not his physical existence!QUOTE]
You are talking nonsense,Find me one historical account of Jesus's physical existence on Earth,just one
[QUOTE=j-can;715206]yuh kno who ya chat tuh, mek it ress ar shi goin cyaar bring come one big rawce book fi yuhOriginally posted by WitchyOoman View PostThat's ^ pure ignorance you're displaying.
There are plenty of 'outsider' historical accounts of the man who walked the Earth and was crucified as "King of the Jews".
One may certainly question OR deny His divinity ... but not his physical existence!QUOTE]
You are talking nonsense,Find me one historical account of Jesus's physical existence on Earth,just one
VOLUMES have been posted about this in the Faith and Reason section with NUMEROUS sources and references MANY times but some people would prefer to ignore the truth.Originally posted by j-can View PostFind me one historical account of Jesus's physical existence on Earth,just one
I know the real reason why many Jamaican men leave the church but that discussion would derail this thread